We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place, about what you'd expect”

Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe
Ranked #19 of 693 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ok place, about what you'd expect”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was too crowded to sit outside so we had an interior table.
Seats were wooden stools with no back. Very uncomfortable after an hour.
Food was good and our server was very attentive. About what you'd expect for a beach restaurant/bar. I wouldn't go our of my way to go back but it was decent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    372
    146
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Grouper Sandwich!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Always include lunch or dinner at Frenchy's for the fantastic grouper sandwiches, chips and great atmosphere - a MUST when in Clearwater!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grouper!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Had the original grouper sandwich. It was a large piece of fish. Could have been just a little crispier. Diffenet 9 out of 10. Best in town. The onion straws were a nice treat. Gotta try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevcon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

With so many great reviews, we had to try Frenchy's on our vacation. It did not even come close to living up to the hype.
We were greeted promptly, and the service was friendly. Our waitress was a bit slow, but they were busy and she seemed to be running around and trying hard to keep up, so I won't hold that against them. The atmosphere was good (except for the smoking right near the door that made our non-smoking seat rather smoky).
The problem was the food. My husband had the original grouper sandwich, my son had the grouper nuggets (appetizer) for his meal, and I had the grouper platter - cajun seaasoned. None of it was good. It wasn't horrible either, but certainly not a place to write home about. Honestly, the best thing on the table were the 'Frenchy Fries' (appetizer, not the ones you can get as a side), and they were just barely a step above the curly fried from Arby's. For a $30 meal I wouldn't have gone back. But for a $50 meal I found it incredibly disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank missmarybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Menu had many choices and not all seafood. I ordered the grilled sea scallops, and they were cooked to perfection! Great service, option of eating indoors or out, no waiting. Definitely will dine there again next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing