We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shopping mall treasure”
Review of Cafe Ponte

Cafe Ponte
Ranked #1 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 58th St.
Waverly, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“shopping mall treasure”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stopped in for lunch while on business in St. Pete area and luckily found this spot. It was packed at lunch time - good sign! There were unique specials and soups. The atmosphere was energized. We ate inside but there was a cute little outdoor space, also. There were plenty of options - something for everyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    60
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Birthday dinner”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I celebrated my birthday dinner here. We live in the area and usually eat fairly early, so we took advantage of the Prix Fixe menu and up charged a few things and added appetizers and drinks, wine, etc. The service was wonderful, including an amouse bouch (sp) that was spectacular. I definitely recommend this restaurant if you live in the area or you are visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ21_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standing O for the chef and food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Looked at many other top notch restaurants before deciding on this superb establishment, besides the menu piqued our interest with the unusual combinations. From the first course of oysters on the half shell topped with a tasty citrus herb flavor to the flat bread topped with fig & port balsamic glaze, Gorgonzola cheese, caramelized onions, mascarpone cheese, prosciutto this meal was off to a fabulous start. Lovely Alexander Valley Sin Zin wine with dinner ~ a tremendous aged Rib-eye (perfectly cooked at rare +) and an Asian themed Chilean Sea bass that was better than butter. Dessert was a flourless chocolate cake with Moscata wine compliments from the manager. This meal, service and atmosphere was everything a girl could possibly want for a special birthday dinner. Bravo Cafe Ponte and Chef's Christopher Ponte and Tony Bonanno
.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnH181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Lucky Find.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a flight from nearby St.Pete airport but needed to grab lunch. Randomly rolled into a shopping center and saw there was a cafe. Seemed like a good enough spot...didn't consult tripadvisor or other review outlets, which is unlike me when picking restaurants.

As soon as I walked through the front door, I had a feeling I stumbled on something special. Great vibe all-around. Sat at the bar and ordered the wild mushroom bisque and the pizza special of the day. Absolutely top notch. I got there around 11:30 and the whole place quickly filled to capacity. I understand why. When in the area, I will definitely make a point to come back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schtoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49th State
Level Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice...”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A friend recommended we eat here when in Florida. The 1st time was excellent - both service, food, preparation, wine - perfect.... The 2nd time we went I was so excited as they had Alaskan halibut on the menu. i was disappointed as the halibut was over cooked and tasted tough. Being from Alaska, it is hard to overcook fresh halibut... Everything else was fine - service, wines, etc....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPS3AMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ponte also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing