We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A WONDERFUL GEM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ponte

Cafe Ponte
Ranked #1 of 686 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 58th St.
Clearwater,FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Food, ambience, service is absolutely impeccable. A wonderful spot for special occasions. Menu is varied, and everything that I have tried was top notch

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shmoozer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    57
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“World class food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

An unusual style of food and portions for this part of the world. We are in Florida on vacation and it seems most people want alot of food for their money and it does not really matter how it looks or tastes. In this quiet and stylish restaurant we were served a six course taster menu for 85 bucks. The food was delicious and looked elegant on the plate and we or no one else did not need those silly boxes to take home their scrapes. Mushroom soup, bibb sallad,butternut squash agnolotti,sea bass,artisanal cheese and dessert tasting were the six dishes on the menu this evening.Would recommend this wonderful place to any well travelled person who enjoys top notch food. Service outstanding every dish that arrived came with a detailed description of all the ingredients on the plate. Will be back thanks for a fantastic evening.

Helpful?
Thank ChelseaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have gone there five times now and it just keeps getting better. I brought a lady friend of mine and she put it this way " it's like christmas in your mouth" no it's not cheap but it is the best place ive ever eaten. That includes Emerrills at the Bilagio. I'm in love with the rib eye and the flourless chocolate cake. But everything from the mushroom soup, sea bass, ox tail with scallops, Oban, calamari. I recommend the hess cabernet if you like red . Yes its $45. With a bottle of wine a appetizers, my $39 rib eye I think thats the most expensive thing on the menu and desserts for two people with tip of 20% ( thats a reminder for canadians lol ) I spend about $120 per person. I go atleast once or twice a month. Go to cafeponte.com and check out the menu. ( : > )

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful, charming and excellent food quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

First and foremost, if you've read a bad review of this restaurant, the individual writing it was not trained in culinary arts. I met a work colleague this afternoon for lunch and we were both duly impressed with the food as well as the ambience.

From my phenomenal Black Trumpet Bisque to the Kobe Meatloaf (very interesting) to my friend's Tuscan Chicken soup and Black Bean Burger, all was delicious. We felt that the restaurant was right in rank with Mis En Place, Edison Food + Drink Lab and The Pearl. You don't stumble across this type of exquisite dining in Pinellas County every day and I am so happy that we did!

I am certainly going to come back to have dinner and investigate the cocktail menu after business hours in the very near future.

If you are a "foodie", this restaurant will delight your palette in every way!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InternationalBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
443 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Pricey, Small portions, Striking plating. Good service though.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a decent, though not memorable dinner here. The service was very good, though amazingly they were out of Malbec when I ordered a glass.

The appetizers were interesting, beautifully plated, but tiny. Skip the shrimp and crab cake (tiny).

The duck breast was good, as we're the short ribs. The accompaniments with the short rib were so tiny as to defy description. Beautifully plated again, but tiny and overpriced.

Lunch may be a better deal. Dinner wasn't.

And don't order a latte. They have no clue what one is, which is a pity as the Lavazza was good espresso.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zzzzdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ponte also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing