We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food at Reasonable Prices & a Wonderful Atmosphere is Cafe Ponte” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ponte

Cafe Ponte
Ranked #1 of 686 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 58th St.
USA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Food at Reasonable Prices & a Wonderful Atmosphere is Cafe Ponte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I met Chris Ponte at a fund raising event a little more than a year ago and loved the work he does both professionally as well as for others. His restaurant just off of Ulmerton Road is technically in Clearwater but very close to St Pete as it is South of Tampa Bay. Go there for lunch or dinner and you will not be disappointed! The food items for lunch are very steady and reliable and the mushroom bisque should never be missed. Simple comfort food items like sandwiches are all wonderful and I could just go right down the menu and eat everything on it. I suggest you try it as well. Definitely a 10 for both my wife and for me!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dlsmissionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    57
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Although a bit difficult to find, this upscale resturant is well worth a visit. The variety and quality of food is beyond compare. In a party of 6, everyone's food arrived, from appetizer to dessert, all together and hot. The wait staff served "ladies first" then proceeded to serve the men, not something that is generally observed. The wine glasses never seemed to go empty as the staff would very delicately keep the glass filled for easy consumption. Every course was pleasing to the eye and equally as tasty. A great place to take that someone special for a special celebration.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty As A Picture...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

...bring a camera! The dishes are presented beautifully. Culinary art is not a joke here. Cafe Ponte (pronounced without the e) is a nice french restaurant. The food is as delectable as it is lovely. The ambiance is relaxing though the decor isn't particularly memorable.

Did I mention the food is fabulous???

Note, however, that you will automatically be charged a 20% gratuity during holidays. Normally, this would not be an issue for us. But, this is an expensive, upscale restaurant...and it was our waiter's first night. So, he wasn't quite up to par, unfortunately (though he was very pleasant and was trying). I'm not sure it was fair to him, or us since we were paying the gratuity, to have him begin his first night on a holiday. You should rightfully expect flawless service when the gratuity alone is $50! This was the reason I could not give them five stars.

Otherwise, I'd say it was a great experience in every way.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UniqueCritique2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Fl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Originally went with a Groupon deal. Had heard of Cafe Ponte and the chef owner for several years but hadn't visited. Have been back 5 times in the several months since our first visit. The food is incredible, the service is great.

It's located in a plaza setting so while the outside doesn't seem to promise anything near what it is it's a Tardis-like experience when you walk in - so much more on the inside than on the outside!

Everything is fantastic: appetizers, main courses, desserts, drinks. And unlike so many restaurants now with loud, overly boisterous kitchens this one is open but controlled, quiet and expertly professional - as is the service.

Go. You'll love it. Everyone we've told and sent there has.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffSignorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique offerings in an upscale setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Recently dined with two co-workers while visiting Clearwater. Interesting, unique meals, creative salads, overall a meal enjoyed by all. Wine by the glass prices are somewhat high, however.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeMeAwayFromItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ponte also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing