We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprise in town get away”
Review of Kingfish Grill and Tap House - CLOSED

Kingfish Grill and Tap House
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Interstate 275
Description: Kingfish Grill and Tap House is a new restaurant located next to Ramada Clearwater Airport. Kingfish Grill offers fin dining in a casual setting, all of the food is made to order and everything is fresh. Kingfish Grill and Tap House is known for being the 2012 winner of the Taste of Clearwater. We offer daily happy hour from 3pm to 7pm and serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Seminole, Florida
1 review
“surprise in town get away”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I recently had date night at The Kingfish Grill. The food, service and drinks were exceptional. The restaurant shares a parking lot with a Ramada Hotel, which came in handy after we had a few of their cocktails. They were not shy with the pour I will tell you that. We had a great time. The next morning we discovered they also serve brunch. It was just as good as the dinner. Everything we needed to have a quick in town get away was right there. We will definitely plan another night like this in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walt2673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda n, Manager at Kingfish Grill and Tap House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Walt thank you for taking advantage of both of our facilities. A quick getaway is reasonable and affordable at Ramada Clearwater Airport and Kingfish Grill and Tap House. We are now doing dinner special and have changed our happy hour to a daily happy hour from 3pm to 7pm. We hope to see you and your wife back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing filet”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I ate at the bar as I was traveling on business and hate to take a table in the dining room. The bartender Mike was attentive and super even in a busy bar. I had the Mussels vin bianco, Filet mignon with lump crabmeat. Amazing! Great beers and wines. And the groupon is a steal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda n, Manager at Kingfish Grill and Tap House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for dining at Kingfish Grill and Tap House. Mike is our top bartender and a key employee as well. It is our delight to bring you exceptional service and great quality food. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We bought the Groupon lunch deal. We started with two wedge salads. Hardly any dressing at all so we had to ask for more which is very unusual for me. My husband ordered a medium rare burger and I ordered the tuna burger. His burger was way overcooked and fries were lukewarm. My tuna was good, nothing special, fries lukewarm. Had to ask for more tea twice. They charged two dollars extra for a slice of see through cheese (and it was the wrong kind). Nearly fifty dollars later for the experience. This place adds a 18% gratuity. If you are going to add the gratuity you need a top notch servers. We always tip above 20%, but you should tell people in advance that that is your policy. The decor was very nice and clean. Finally, Groupon is for restaurants to bring new people into their establishment at a reduced price. In this case, it was a fail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda n, Manager at Kingfish Grill and Tap House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We apologize for your experience. As you can see from our other reviews, we really do not operate like this. Our food is normally fresh, cooked to order, and best quality. I will speak to the chef and let him know about your experience. Groupon along with other vouchers have a policy to add an 18% gratuity. If you would like to give us another chance please contact the manager, Carroll Jackson, so that we can better accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great lunch experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've had the pleasure of dining at Kingfish on several occasions. The service is always prompt and attentive. The menu is inviting to all palates and the weekly specials have a great variety.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disneyfan1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda n, Manager at Kingfish Grill and Tap House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat customer and a valued one at that. We appreciate you as a customer and are thankful for your repeat service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had been traveling for 3 hours when we noticed an accident up ahead and lots of traffic. We decided to get off the road immediately - that's when we saw this restaurant. We were hungry and tired and just wanted to get away from all the traffic. There was only one other occupied table when we arrived somewhere around 5:30PM - so we wondered how good this restaurant really was. We ordered one bowl of clam chowder to share as a starter and then some seafood for our main course. We actually don't remember what we had for our main courses because the soup stole the show. We were so excited about the clam chowder - - the best we ever ate. It was very mild - not overpowered with spices or herbs. It was loaded with nice, juicy clams (not chewy or rubbery) and small diced potatoes. It was a perfect clam chowder! By the way; when we left the restaurant, every table was filled.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda n, Manager at Kingfish Grill and Tap House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our clam chowder, it is made daily by our Chef Michael Pitrola and Sous Chef Ricky Castillo. Here at Kingfish we strive on bringing great quality food and we are thrilled you accidentally found us. Guess traffic isn't the worst thing ever right? We hope to see you again on your next travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish Grill and Tap House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing