We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pier House 60 Marina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pier House 60 is a very nice hotel with a good location across the street from Clearwater Beach. We were walked to this hotel after being moved from a overbooked hotel next door at 11:00 p.m. So with the late check-in and moving back to the other hotel the next day we did not get to really enjoy the Pier House 60. The rooms were very nice, and the staff did a great job of checking in our large unhappy group after being moved from the overbooked hotel. The next day our group would have gladly stayed at the Pier 60 for our entire trip if we did not have an additional 20 people joining us the next day. The lobby and check-in is a little funky as it is not on the lower level, you need to take the elevator up to the lobby.

Room Tip: Get a corner king room as the room are very nice, large, and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPPivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here during our recent trip to Clearwater, Fl. The location could not be more perfect to put you near beach, shops, and entertainment. Our utilization of this was limited as it was extremely cold and windy and we couldn't be outside much. Our room was a nice size. We had an accessible room, and the bathroom was huge and beautifully done for someone with a handicap. We had a microwave and frig as well. We stayed on the 10th floor right next to Jimmy's rooftop bar and have to say it was wonderfully insulated. We never heard the music at all. The view of the marina was awesome and it was nice to know that there was no one above us (although with the good soundproofing I don't believe we would have heard it anyway). The things that were frustrating were breakfast and the maid service the one day. Maid service was excellent but they start early and the one day they knocked at 8 and we were having breakfast in our room (get to that in a minute). We asked if she could come back a little later. We kept going out and coming back and it was near dinnertime til she came back and we had settled in again thinking she wasn't coming. She was very nice though and made cool towel animals for the kids. Breakfast was an absolute joke which largely shapes my value rating (besides the fact that it's just plain expensive to stay in Clearwater). The first morning the entire (albeit beautiful) lobby area was so packed there wasn't even a seat available. The setup of breakfast just stinks! On the left of a "U" shaped area is the coffee and oatmeal packets (supposedly to be combined with not-so-hot water, yuck). On the right side was EVERyTHINg ELSE! All the cereal, bread, egg and sausage circles for sandwiches, etc. and the ONE four slot toaster and then an island in the middle with all the paper products. You literally could not get to the food it was so crowded in the little space, let alone get to the toaster. All the choices were totally unhealthy (all white carbs) except for fruit which was gone every morning we were there, much to my 10-year old's dismay. We were so disappointed about this aspect of things. People were rude too, pushing in ahead with no respect. We actually just gave up the last morning and went to Dunkin Donuts. Overall a good place to stay just be aware that you may choose to be on your own for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Pier 60 is a nice hotel with excellent views of the bay and ocean. I would definitely stay here again. We were a little concerned about some of the reviews stating that there was a lot of street noise, but we were on the 8th floor with a bay view and it was very Quiet! No ambulance noises or other traffic noises. The sunrise view over the bay is awesome. I would much rather have a balcony and have the bay view than stay on the ocean view side with no balcony. The service was good and the sunsets on the top floor- Jimmy's Crow nest bar was fantastic.
Location was central to everything. I went for a run in the mornings and its about a mile going left out of the building towards the bridge...my son went long boarding as well along the street/ boardwalk and the area seems very safe for him to venture off on his own. We didn't see crazy drunk springbreakers here, and it was very family friendly!

Coffee went to Dunkin Donuts every morning.
Movie theaters are about 20-30 minutes away depending on traffic and the Jet Screamer boat tour (dolphin tour) was good. We saw quite a few dolphins. Going with a two year old was no problem either... We were worried at first.
Wish there was a Starbucks on the Main Street of of Coronado!!! Had to resort to Dunkin Donuts but it doesn't compare to the dark roar blend that Starbucks has. There is one around but you'd have to drive several miles outside of the area.

A few downfalls- the rooms were comfortable, but the bathrooms didn't have any counter space at all!! It was just a sink that had barely enough room to put your contact case on the side. It was a slight inconvenience since i had to put all of our toiletries on the ither end if the room. Also, bc it was cold outside we were inside a couple nights watching TV and several times te cable would cut off. I called downstairs to ask if they were having problems and they said noone else had called about that.

As a reference point we are a family with an older high school student and a toddler and we all found the entertainment off of Pier 60 enjoyable- especially the variety of "Americas got Talent" type acts along the pier. There is also a nice playground for kids right there - which is all literally across the street.

We had a great time and will come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hokie4beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice, Clean hotel with updated Flat screen TVs and contemporary look. The view of the marina is beautiful- sunrise view in this side if hotel. The best part is the balcony and No Noise especially since we were on the 8th floor. I read other reviews stating they didn't enjoy the noise of the traffic, ambulances, etc but they must be with the Oceanside view...since that side is right near Coronado Dr. We have a 2 year old and were worried if we we had a room that you could hear all the noise at night. We ended up having nothing to worry about though.
The rooftop view of the hotel does have great views of the sunset.
Same info as others regarding breakfast- it's decent. It would be better if there was a waffle maker!!

The only downfall for the hotel are two things: (very minor detail) 1) the bathroom doesn't have a vanity or counter top area, so you'd have to use the desk on the other side if the room to keep your toiletries. 2) there was no big trash can in the halls of the floor- in case we wanted to throw away leftover takeout food or whatever we had to go down to the Parking Garage and dump it there... Maybe there was one in the Lobby but we knew there was one where we parked so we just kept going there.

Location does remind me if VB- family friendly- didn't see many wild springbreakers just families which was good. There is a nice playground also right near the Pier- fun for our two year old.
Nice place for a run also- ran to the left of building all the way across the bridge and back... To the bridge is about a mile.

Have fun for those considering staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hokie4beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Ill start with the good. Great location. That's it. The pool is extremely small and in the shade ALL after noon. We had a double queen room and there were only 2 very small drawers for clothes. The maid service didn't restock the bathroom supplies unless we asked! Then they'd give us one little bottle of shampoo for the 4 of us! Oh and dont forget to hang your "do not disturb"sign or they will literally come in your room at 7A.M. to clean your room! The wifi was terrible and the cable would go out constantly on the tv. There's no pay per view movie service either. Probably wouldn't have been a big deal but the weather was very cold and we had nothing to do with the kids at night so tv would have been helpful! Oh and it's $15 a day plus tax to park your car!! They don't mention that on the website. Holiday Inn blows this place away!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hasmig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at Pier House 60 in early March with my husband and college age daughter. Loved the location, great for beach time, walking to restaurants and stores. We went for spring training baseball, and this was not the best location for traveling to Bradenton for Pittsburgh Pirates games, so much traffic, lots of construction, but great for heading to Dunedin for the Blue Jays or Clearwater for Phillies.
Our room was fine, new, and very clean. We had a marina view room, loved the view of the bridge and boats from our balcony. We were on the 10th floor, the same as the rooftop bar, Jimmy Crow’s, GREAT place for sunset watching. We were worried about being on the same floor as the bar, but it was fine, no noise, no problem.
Breakfast was your typical buffet breakfast. Not the best, not bad, most days had coffee and a bagel, although they did have yogurt, cereal, fruit, eggs and sausage. The service though was wonderful… the staff works very hard to keep everything stocked.
The front desk staff was great, very friendly and helpful… the ‘lobby’ is on the 5th floor, above the parking deck. The pool was nice, but as other TA reviews have stated, it is in the shade most of the day. We spent a day on the beach, rented a cabana for $25, which blocked the wind, much needed on a cool breezy early March day.
Recommended restaurants within walking distance…. Crabby Bills – fish tacos to go for lunch on the beach… Frenchy’s Rockaway - great band in the bar… the night we went they transitioned from Purple Haze to the theme song from Beverly Hills Cop to We’ve Got the Funk to Thank You for Letting Me Be Myself Again… who were those guys?... The Lobster Pot… ate at the bar, great wedge salad and crab cakes …. And Clear Sky… late night pizza!
Enjoyed Pier House 60, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BullCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My adult daughter and I spent 3 nights here on a Spring Training jaunt. I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and a good AAA price.

The location of the hotel is great, though I can see how it would be noisy for some people. It's right at the end of the causeway, and no more than a 10 minute walk to 95% of local stores and restaurants, and maybe 15 minutes to the supermarket.

The lobby is on the 5th floor, and there is no common area- just a bunch of tables for breakfast, small workout and business centers, and a kiosk with snacks and sundries. I'm not sure I've ever bought a sundry, but I did buy a snack.

We had rooms 817-19, which connect and have a nice view of the gulf, with no balcony. The rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. The decor has absolutely no character. It's not attractive and it's not ugly. It's a room. Same with the bathroom.
The beds are sort of high, but comfortable enough, and everything seemed clean.

The free breakfast was, you guessed it, completely non-descript. Cereal choices were plain Cheerios, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, and Cap'n Crunch. There was also a selection of non-whole grain breads, muffins, Danish (who eats Danish at this point?) and bagels, with butter, jam, cream cheese and peanut butter. The coffee was recognizably coffee. There were juices too, and round cooked eggs and sausage to go on English Muffins. They did not care how much you carried out with you.

Completely unmemorable, but I'd stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.7 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House 60 Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House 60 Marina Hotel

Address: 101 Coronado Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $148 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier House 60 Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect central location on Clearwater Beach! Positioned directly across the street from the soft, white sand beaches, Pier House 60 is also within a short walking distance to popular area restaurants, shops, and attractions. Clearwater Beach boasts some of the most scenic sunsets in the world, and the place to witness them happen is at the hotel bar, Jimmy’s Crow’s Nest. The bar is located outdoors on the 10th floor, providing panoramic views of the gulf, beach, island and marina. With delicious food and an endless assortment of cold, tropical beverages, it's easy to spend long nights here soaking up the views and enjoying sports or music videos on our TV projection system that spans the entire wall. Guest rooms at Pier House 60 are spacious and functional, each with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and beach, or the marina and Intracoastal Waterway. Additional amenities featured at the hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, a hot complimentary breakfast, fitness room, business center, and free high-speed internet access. The hotel lobby and check in area is located on the 5th floor, above our secure four story parking structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier House 60 Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing