We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value chain hotel with good views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great value chain hotel with good views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently as all the small cute places were full.

We had a large room with a lovely comfy bed, nice and clean, great view and the price was right!

The staff were friendly, breakfast was adequate, coffee was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyc2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    60
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
83
67
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

. . . because if word gets out it may always be booked. I consider this an excellent stay and value for the area.

It's hard to find a fair priced suite for a family of 6 in this area. Having a yearly trek to the Clearwater/St Pete area, my expectations are a little lower than say, Orlando (because of the age of properties and land value). However, this met and exceeded those.

The location: It is within a residential area, so quiet sleep is abound. Note that there are no touristy shops within walking distance, so you have to drive south down to Clearwater to get to those. There is a walking trail across the street, along the inlet, that you could possible walk north to downtown Dunedin, which has some less-touristy shopping. The walking trail is frequently used by locals/visitors, it's a great asset for a hotel. For me, I can't pay astronomical prices for a beach hotel, so this location is just outside the bustle and tourist prices but an easy drive to everything.

The property: It is small, only 50 rooms or so. I had a window room of the gulf inlet (!), it was clean, newer furnishings, but I was most surprised by the better condition compared to any hotel I've previously stayed in the $90-$200 range, whether inland or nearer the beaches. The pool is kept very warm (which is much appreciated) with the inlet view, and the breakfast is typical Comfort fare. My only caveat - the breakfast area can hold 40 people, but they only have seating for like 10 or so inside (I understand the financial need to keep people turning over and eating little, but this is inadequate. If they can realize people aren't as concerned with chowing down as they are getting to the beach and their day, another 16 seats would make it less stressful for the guests and I would've rated it a 5). Also, as a pet hotel, I had an initial concern about noise or smell of those little purse dogs, but had no issues.

The service: Excellent. If you have read other reviews about Anna, believe the hype. She's a spokesperson for friendliness and helpfulness. The breakfast attendant was super friendly. I didn't interact with Angela, but I will believe other reviews that she's great as well. These employees, I think, are constant and long-termers, and as such it felt as if we were staying in their home. How refreshing for a hotel!

I will be staying here again and again, so readers, don't take my room when I'm in town.

Room Tip: I you don't have a pet, ask for a non-pet room (3rd floor). There are 4 end rooms (2nd/3rd) wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric_x6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

my husband and I recently stayed at this property for five nights. we had a very good experience. the front desk personnel were always friendly and helpful, the room large and clean and the location perfect for us. I would recommend this property!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanH466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a very affordable and comfortable place to come and see Spring Training (Blue Jays and Phillies). We had connecting suites that would have slept at least 10 people but were great for the four of us. The breakfasts were great and the pool and hot tub were warm and inviting. The first night I was in the lobby using the computer to print a google map when a very drunk and aggressive woman entered the lobby and said she had a reservation. She did not and became very aggressive with Carolyn the front desk staff. Carolyn handled the situation very professionally and was able to get the woman to leave without making a scene. This could have been a very ugly scene but instead I believe I was the only person who even noticed as I was in earshot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaM333339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was the first time we had stayed in a Comfort Suites and this time a friend said we should try them. Well, if the Comfort Suites in Clearwater is typical, I think we should change our normal hotel group to them. We had a fantastic time which was made even better by Anna at the front desk, she was so helpful and pleasant - right down to recommending a good restaurant (which we went to every evening) and places to see. I think she should be made "Comfort Suites person of the year !"
The Comfort Suites is in an excellent location just over one mile away from downtown Dunedin, which was fantastic. On a week day in season it is quite easy to get to Clearwater Beach which is only a few miles away but on a weekend the traffic is a nightmare, on the Sunday of our trip traffic was backed up several miles over the causeway and there was really nowhere to park at Clearwater Beach when you got there. Go somewhere else on a weekend - Tarpen Springs is a great place for a day out and Dunedin is good, with the Blue Jays winter training ground (and games happening all the time) and stay for a while in Dunedin - lots to see.
The room at the Comfort Suites we had was very nice, lots of room, well fitted and very good maid service. There was a desk for using the computer (although the speed of the connection was quite slow), a refrigerator, our room had a settee with lots of space and a good wide body TV with all the cable stations. There is an excellent pool which was well kept and had fantastic views at sundown time. To say I will be back is an understatement - I would like to go back right now ! We would recommend it and we will be staying there again - we hope.

Room Tip: The hotel is away from the main road so we heard no road noise at all. We faced north and it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony504146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The front desk clerk, Anna was incredibly helpful. She was very friendly always greeting us with a smile and gave us great advice on places to visit, see and where to eat. She helped find us coupons and deals. She is a wonderful person and she made us feel very comfortable there. The overall condition of the hotel was very nice and clean. The breakfast was good and the lady helping with the breakfast was very nice as well. The breakfast room didn't always have enough seating to accommodate all of the guests that were down at a particular time but I did hear where more tables and chairs had been ordered and were on their way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had about 10 rooms for a family wedding. The staff was very accommodating, the hotel was clean and the setting was ideal. A walking trail along the water is right across the street. The hot tub and pool were well kept. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#33 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1941 Edgewater Dr, Clearwater, FL 33755-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites(R) hotel has just been fully renovated and is perfectly located three miles from Clearwater Beach and Downtown Dunedin. Popular attractions, including Honeymoon Island State Park, Countryside Mall and St. Petersburg College, are about five miles from this Clearwater, FL hotel. The St. Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport is eight miles away.Historic downtown Dunedin and Pinellas Trail are both just minutes from the hotel. A variety of business parks, specialty shops and historic areas are also close by.Numerous restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the area, including Island Way Grille, McDonald's, Sea Sea Riders, Shells Seafood, Bob Heilman's and Frenchy's.Guests are invited to enjoy many superior amenities, including free coffee in the lobby, free local calls, free weekday newspaper, fitness center, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.For business travelers, this Clearwater, FL hotel provides conveniences like free high-speed Internet access, voice mail and access to copy and fax services.All spacious suites feature microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and expanded cable. The hotel also provides coin-operated laundry facilities for guest convenience.The lush Florida landscape, breathtaking views and ideal location make the Comfort Suites hotel a great place for anyone visiting the Clearwater area. We will exceed your expectations with our exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Clearwater
Comfort Suites Clearwater
Clearwater Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing