We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For World Travlers, this is worth the trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Milano Italian Restaurant and Pizzaria

Cafe Milano Italian Restaurant and Pizzaria
Ranked #315 of 686 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Italian Pizza & Cuisine! Cafe Milano invites you and your family to experience the best pizza in the Clearwater and Tampa Bay area! Cafe Milano Pizzeria follows the tried and true tradition of using only a brick oven to bake its pizza. Brick ovens intensify the flavor of properly cooked quality ingredients that are imported directly from Italy and combined for an authentic a€œOld Worlda€ dining experience. Cafe Milano has a charming European style ambiance complimented with an arrangement of authentic Italian cuisine. It provides a casual, warm, relaxed family atmosphere whose friendly and efficient staff will certainly add to your dining pleasure. The establishment boasts classic appetizers, magnificent salad creations, hearty homemade soups, delicious pasta selections, panini made with bread baked for your order, gnocchi, calzone and an array of 27 pizzas guaranteed to delight any palate. Beer or imported house wine is available to enhance your meal. Cafe Milano also proudly offers a wonderful selection of imported Italian desserts and pastries as well as their irresistible 100% artisan made gelato. Coffee, espresso or cappuccino, will further add to your Mediterranean getaway!
Paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For World Travlers, this is worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Look, I live in Clearwater. I do not like it that the Scientologists (how do you spell whack job) have taken over what could have been the most beautiful city on the Gulf of Mexico. That said, I've lived abroad and want to say that its worth the trip to eat at Café Milano. We've been twice now. For the enlightened, the owner is European and you will be treated as if you are in a restaurant in Europe, where being a waiter is as respected as any other profession. The waiter will not sit down with you and act like family. He will take your order, expect you to try two words of Italian- grazie and prego will do! You will be rewarded with extremely good food. Try the olives! The wine here is way better than the prices indicate. Take it from a wandering ex-pat, this place is good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank parismom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    12
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Since we moved near downtown Clearwater a few months ago, we have driven past Café Milano's several times and we were hoping to find a nice little Italian restaurant where we would dine frequently. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. Our server (could have been the owner) was rude and unprofessional. The food was mediocre. I had penne pasta Donato and my wife had ravioli gorgonzola. Neither was very good. The garlic olive appetizer was quite tasty however. We were surprised to find that this little restaurant is quite pricey. We won't be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Florida_Travlr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Pasta, Romantic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our experience with Cafe Milano was overall a very good experience. I ordered their penne bobo pasta and my wife got a salad with flank steak on top. The pasta was tender and hot, the food arrived quickly and their was soft italian music playing over the stereo system. You can see the chef from behind glass as he whipped up pizza pies and was nice entertainment. Staff was friendly, the owner came and talked and joked with us as we were waiting for our meal. Very good food and felt welcomed. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very small restaurant in an odd location that's walkable from the Public Library. Seems like pizza is the go to choice at this place. We had already ordered our meals but seeing the pizza afterwards feel like that may have been a better choice. We ordered a pasta dish.. for $12.95, the serving was small-ish and had a minimal amount of the fixings but it was pretty tasty. No salad, bread or any extras.. just a small bowl of pasta. Service was just okay-- our waiter seemed harried/sort of rude, even though there were only two other patrons in the restaurant.
I also think they do not like taking groupons or other coupons as noted in other Trip Advisor reviews. When we called about the hours, we were asked if we were using any coupons and the guy on the phone sounded very irritated when we said yes. Think this was the same guy who waited on us. If establishments do not want customers to patronize using coupons, they should not sign up for them. Not going back or recommending to friends/family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angelajoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant experience ever! !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I went there with my boyfriend after work, we waited there for 5 minutes without anyone even asking what we want so we just seat ourselves. We sat there another 10 minutes before we have to ask the owner that we need a menu, she just pointed to the waiter. It took another 15 minutes for them to come by to take our order. We waited another 20 minutes to get our food. When we finished our food we sat there some more and finally got tired of worrying and went to pay. We order one pizza, a water and a coke and our total was $42. We asked if that is right and the owner said yes and toss the paper to us. They were so rude and to mention over price. We waited so long and they weren't even busy. DO NOT GO HERE! !!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Trini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Milano Italian Restaurant and Pizzaria also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Milano Italian Restaurant and Pizzaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing