We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Ice Cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serious Cookie

Serious Cookie
Ranked #9 of 23 Dessert in Clearwater
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The ice cream is homemade and out of this world. The owner makes his own cookies and brownies and uses them as the base for a sundae. We had half of a HUGE chocolate chip cookie that he heated for a few seconds, he adds the ice cream, hot fudge, and whatever else you enjoy on a sundae. We went 2 nights in a row, wish we had discovered it on night 1. There are so many ice cream shops on the one block, but after this we couldn't go anywhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy2921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good homemade ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

PLACE HAS A NEW NAME NOW. WORKING COW. Upon entering, the place smelled fantastic. Brownies were in the air! The setup of the place is a bit weird. It almost looks like they are about to go out of business. They have candy along one wall and the ice cream is in the back. Many of the candy containers were almost gone. They looked like they haven't been refilled in a long time. The front display cases were almost empty and disheveled. The cleanliness was average at best. They were understaffed when we were there. Only one guy for a long line of people. He was pleasant, but certainly not a people-person. The ice cream was very good. I would go for the ice cream again, but the great treats here deserved a cleaner, nicer home. Someone please organize and spruce this place up a bit!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tampa_Dude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Here's the place to get dessert on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is WOW. The name of this place has changed-they are now Working Cow, and in addition to ice cream and candy (selection and freshness of the candy is infinitely better than the candy store four monkeys, right up the street), they have incredible cookies and brownies. The cookies are the size of small pies and come in chocolate chip, pecan chocolate chip, macadamia and others.The brownies are gooey. Everything is made there and it's a locally owned business. Hands down the best cookies I've had on the beach. The owner is always on premises and often runs the counter. I definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cookie Monster's Dream Store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

After a late night of fun and festivities at Brown Boxer, my group stumbled upon Serious Cookie. We were surprised at how big, hot and delicious the cookies were. THEY ARE LIKE MINI PIES! The taste they had could run with the best cookie your grandma had ever made. I'll be sure to try the ice cream with my cookie next time I visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cookie lacked sugar; employee was grumpy; overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This place has a variety of ice creams, and they also sell huge cookies that they bake in store. The bite of ice cream that I had was good, but the macadamia nut cookie needed more sugar and wasn't worth eating. I was really disappointed. The prices for everything were ridiculously high. It's ten dollars for a cookie with a scoop of ice cream. The man who waited on us seemed grumpy and irritated with the business. There are tons of places to get dessert, so why go here???

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regional_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Cookie also viewed

 

Been to Serious Cookie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing