We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but carpet needs cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice room but carpet needs cleaning”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I have a 9 month old that had 'black knees' and 'black feet' after crawling across the carpet.
I didn't appreciate the fact that we had to rent all of the beach stuff from another hotel.
Overall, average hotel with a crabby frontdesk lady.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzjk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, General Manager at Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Cruzjk27

I want to extend my sincere apologies regarding the service you received from the our front desk. We strive to provide all of our guest with award winning service throughout their entire stay.

I'm also sorry about the carpet in your room. We do have our carpets professionally cleaned every 3 months and as needed in between those months.

The lounge chaises and umbrellas located at our sister property is something that you do have to rent on a daily basis. However, we do offer packages on our website that includes the daily rental for the lounge chaise & umbrella as well as breakfast for two in the package total.

We do want to make sure every guest is completely satisfied with the services they receive during their stay. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding these issues, so I am able to ensure that it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    139
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
235
107
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The photographs of this property online are a tad misleading since this property is across the street from the beach and while the illumination in their pics makes the property seem quaint and intimate the truth is its an old motel that's been modified into a suite hotel, and not very well.

It's really quite expensive since you could go to virtually any motel along the beaches for much less (may we recommend the Island House in Reddington as an alternative which is also across the street but 1/3 the nightly rate).

There was no mention in the reservation process or upon the confirmation email that there's a $25 per night cleaning fee (if you're there under a package) otherwise it's referred to as a resort fee for parking and pool access (neither of which we used). If they want to call themselves a resort or a hotel they should include "cleaning" and pool access in their room-rate, it is after all the very selling point they promote to get you there in the first place! (just my humble opinion)

Room Tip: You might want to ask to be away from the laundry facilities which are loud & hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, General Manager at Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Lisa B

I want to apologize if you felt you were misled in any way. We are not located on the beach and if you were provided that information I would appreciate it you would contact me with that information so I am able to research it and correct it. We are very adamant when it comes to providing accurate information regarding the amenities we offer and any fees associated with your booking.

We do have a flat fee that is a separate charge outside of your room and tax. This is a cleaning fee (resort fee) and its a one time fee, not a daily fee as you have described in your comments.

I would have to further research your booking since you stated that you booked a package, however you are correct because any package that is booked would not include this fee in the total but there should have been some notification informing you of this.

I understand that you are comparing us to resorts or a hotel, however we are more of an extended stay property and the services we provide are similar to the services you would receive from other vacation rentals.

The cleaning fee charged is to cover the expenses of cleaning the unit upon check-out, provide towel & trash service throughout your stay, as well as stock the amenities & toiletries in your rental unit as needed. The fee is a one time fee and is based on your length of stay and ranges from $25.00 - $45.00. There are no other fees and we have worked will all booking channels to make sure that this is highlighted through the booking process so there is no confusion.

Again I do apologize if you were misled in any way, we want all of our guest to be satisfied with the services they receive. I would love the opportunity to resolve this issue with you and correct any possible misleading information about our property you may have received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

So the price that we got was great but when we checked in, the manager told is that there is additional $25 for services that we must pay even of we won't use: parking and pool. Ok.... I must mention that the amount that I booked includes taxes and fees.
Checkout time they added additional $13 county tax
Another $5 remodeling room fee ......(YES)
Another $6 for more tax.
We paid additional $50 to the price that we booked!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank chen1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, General Manager at Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Chen1977,

I want to thank you for choosing our property and apologize if you feel that any fees applied were not explained to you. I would love to have opportunity to speak with you regarding your bill to see if I am able to clarify some of the charges because I to question some of the fees you have described. I can assure you that all fees charged by our property are listed clearly on all channels regarding taxes and the cleaning fee (resort fee).

On top of the nightly rate their is a 7% sales tax & 5% county tax. For the most part regardless of the site you book your reservation through the rate you are given will explain in detail whether or not tax has been included or not included in your total. Out total tax percentage is 12%.

I have to question the "remodeling fee' you described in your review because we do not and have never charged a remodeling fee. I am confused as to what charge you may be referring to.

We do charge a one time flat fee upon arrival and it ranges from $25-$45 based on your length of stay . This fee is associated with cost of cleaning the units at check-out, providing towel service during the stay and replenishing amenities/toiletries.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you feel these fees were not explained to you. I assure you that regardless of your method of booking, these fees are highlighted and we have no intention of hiding them from you. I would love to able to review your bill with you and can be reached by contacting the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the coconut cove in March for our wedding. The only complaint we had was that they screwed up our reservation twice. They did accommodate all our guests and it ended up working out in the end. Beautiful rooms and pool area! Within walking distance to beach and area events. Would definitely come back again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTchick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Clearwater Beach. The Coconut Cove resort is very nice and is just as pictured. The rooms are big, clean, updated and have a nice kitchen efficiency. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort is located on the south end of beach but, it is not that far of a walk to restaurants, stores and beach. We did in fact head over to the Quality Inn beach one of the days.It was nice as well but, as someone stated previously it has a very small beach area. Much to my surprise however, the Coconut Cove has some hidden policies. There is the $10/per day parking fee but, based on the previous reviews I knew that going in. But, there is also a room cleaning fee based on the number of days you spend there. If it is a week, it is an additional $45 charge. That would be fine except they only service the rooms every 3 days and if you ask for additional towels it is another $20 up charge!!!! They do leave you enough to last the 3 days but, then what exactly am I paying the $45 for and why wouldn't room cleaning be everyday like every other hotel/resort. Also, they do not replenish the coffee in the room even at the time of cleaning if you want more it is $1 per additional K-cup. I did review their website and see no mention of this room service and/or service charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank leeward131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very nice a lot of room! We were very happy with our stay here. The room vas very clean and spacious. We arrived in the wee hours of the morning and they were happy to help us find where everything was. We were able to fix breakfast right in our room without having to spend extra money. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsip, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

perfect location, very clean and updated suites, nice staff
pool was WARM and clean
the only problems were the lugging the suitcases up 3 flights of stairs, and the cranky senior citizens around us.
Also, we must have went during a spring break because the crazy 25 year olds were loud.
To me and my family, we didn't really mind, but that's where the crazy seniors came into play.
The beach could be a little closer, but it was not that long of a walk.
Great location - will definitely stay here again
I did notice some tenants were not as lucky as us, for example, we had bldg C. We lucked out because we had an ocean view. Some other bldgs had views of nothing pretty.

Room Tip: nice pool close to ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetovacation2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
0.6 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
620 reviews
17.1 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel

Property: Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Address: 678 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2642 (Formerly Clearwater Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#13 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Coconut Cove All-Suite Hotel is a charming Florida Gulf Coast getaway located just across the street from breathtaking Clearwater Beach. Created with both vacation and business travelers in mind, the resort combines a classic beach aesthetic with thoughtful traveler comforts.As an all-suite hotel, Coconut Cove All-Suite Hotel offers the ultimate value when it comes to living space, privacy, and in-room amenities. In addition to separate bedrooms, all accommodations offer a living room with pull-out sofa, kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances, plus a private balcony.A tropical, heated pool awaits outdoors, complete with poolside tiki huts for your relaxation. As an added bonus, our guests enjoy direct beach and bar privileges at the Quality Beach Hotel (located directly across the street). Committed to comfort and convenience for our guests, Coconut Cove All-Suite Resort offers complimentary Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour concierge, business center, and guest laundry.A wide variety of dining, shopping, and recreation choices are nearby, making Coconut Cove Suites a perfect home base for all kinds of Florida Gulf Coast adventures.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Hotel Clearwater
Beach Clearwater
Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing