We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A missed gem.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiku Japanese Fine Dining

Kiku Japanese Fine Dining
Ranked #173 of 685 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A missed gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Tucked away up the spiral staircase is a great missed gem Kiku... Sushi was fantastic and mains were superb.
My daughter who is a sushi nut got her dream and we nearly ended up rolling her out as she ordered so much.
The starters of Softshell Crab Tempura the Gyoza and Jumbo Prawn we very well done and to be honest all the we should have ordered.... but alas no!
Mains we had Chicken fried rice, Chicken Katsu ( ohhh Yummy but maybe cooked a little to long ) and my son had the Salmon Teriyaki which was very well done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Screamers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

If you like sushi, you'll like this place. Go for the lunch special which is 2 sushi entrees and soup for $9.99. Great value and it will satisfy your palate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lutherandleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Took take out as they were about to close. The sushi was good but not the greatest. Good if you need something 'healthy' and you're hungry. At a prime location in that strip mall.
*Note: on the second floor

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mera Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You can get better sushi at a grocery store”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

While staying at a nearby resort, we decided to try this place for lunch. We each ordered the two roll lunch special to go. We only ordered rolls that were cooked, nothing raw. The sushi was very bland. You can get better tasting sushi from a grocery store. The only positive things I can say are, it was cheap ($9.95 for the lunch special) and we didn't get sick.

You can definitely do better than this place. Keep looking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Awful Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I went here with my husband and a few friends this past weekend and was absolutely appalled at how horrific the service was. I have an egg allergy so prior to ordering I asked the waitress if there was egg in my meal. She told me there wasn't so I ended up eating most of my meal. AFTER I was finished, she came back to our table and told me that there actually was egg in my food. Eggs will make me quite sick about an hour after eating them so I was very upset when I heard this. My husband and I asked the manager for our entire check to be comped but instead, the manager offered to take only my meal off and told me to bring in any medical bills because their insurance would cover it. Instead of a fun night out with friends on vacation, we had to go back to the hotel because I was sick from the eggs. Not to mention, my husband waited about 20 minutes for his second sushi roll to come out and by the time he received it everyone else had already finished their meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiku Japanese Fine Dining also viewed

 

Been to Kiku Japanese Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing