We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time”

Encounters With Dolphins
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come join us on a fun filled, narrated sightseeing tour of Clearwater's harbor. Enjoy a relaxing ride while you learn about our abundant wildlife, and view the area's dolphins in their natural environment. Every trip stops at Compass Island where you can collect shells, swim, snorkel and the kids can even hunt for treasure! Dolphin sightings are guaranteed*. Excursions depart from the Clearwater Beach Marina multiple times every day. Spend an hour and a half to an hour and forty five minutes with our highly trained crew in the Clearwater Harbor on board our 40 foot Coast Guard inspected excursion boat. For twenty to thirty minutes during your trip, the boat will stop at Compass Island where you will have the opportunity to shell hunt through thousands of shells, swim, snorkel (gear is provided) and enjoy the island. Our boats are available for charter as well. If you're looking for something more intimate with friends and family on the water we can accommodate. We have done weddings, rehearsal dinner socials, proposals, birthday parties, bachelor parties, anniversaries, school and church groups and family reunions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Didn't see dolphins on our trip, a bit disappointing but I understand that is really out of everyone's control. It is nice they offer a free trip in the future if you don't see dolphins, but I'm not sure anyone ever takes them up on that offer. The woman selling the tickets was great, very personable and fun. The captain, however, was very annoying and you could tell he didn't want to do his job. Most of the boat ride was spent in silence, not talking about the area or even what other wildlife to watch out for. The little island stop was neat, but the stop was way too long.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jko1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    41
    25
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Annoying, worthless, no dolphins.”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I took this tour expecting to see dolphins or at least a fun boat ride. Neither happened. The captain was really annoying, we went to some cheesy island, and it was really boring. I would not recommend this tour. I would never use them again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltona fl
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had agret tine on this cruise. There were not a lot of late afternoon reservatons and we ended up with a private boat tour. We saw a lot of dolphins, they were even jumping out of the water. The stop at the island was great, the kids could run around the tiny island on their own and you could always see them. We found many shells. the captain and guide were great and were really informative. Go see them on your trip to clearwater.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank daltonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Toot Boat Tours”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We went on the suset tour we had dolphins at the side of our boat going out of the harbour which was great we had a tour around the bay.Great sunset out of this world to see it.Everyone vey helpful and fun. Had a great time thankyou.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank UkShony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views from the bay and time well spent”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This attraction was billed as a one and a half hour boat tour of the sights around Clearwater Beach area and the bay in search of dolphins, homes of local noted personalities and a stop on the small "Compass Island" for shelling, swimming and snorkeling.
Our trip was all that was promised and then some. Passing a bird sanctuary island and under several bridges we saw close up local species of birds. We circled in the bay first, passing the homes of several celebrities, noted business people and the onetime landmark Fort Harrison Hotel, now owned by the Church of Scientology.
We turned toward Sand Key, circling in waters known to contain dolphins but our captain decided to continue southward when nothing turned up. Working our way parallel to the island running south, we finally began catching brief glimpses of dorsal fins, The captain described how dolphins typically move and maneuvered the boat slowly into position to observe. We gradually began seeing more dolphins, both adults and the three babies he said were known to currently live in the waters. Eventually we were able to see the mammals break through the waves, providing close views of about 1/3 their bodies. My camera skills were never quick enough to capture more than a fin.
Our dolphin watching ran long but the dozen or so people on our trip were happy to leave a little less time for shelling and swimming on the island.
Not to give a false impression, this is a very small island, roughly 500 feet long and 250 feet wide, with one living tree. It is strewn with shells but finding those in good condition takes some wading out or swimming.
Snorkeling equipment is included for use, at no additional charge, but the water has been too cloudy the two times I've been on this trip--the staff had warned that would likely be the case that day. When we finished our island time and returned to the marina, it had been a full two hours--a real value--with the extra time for our dolphin encounters.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank beckylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Encounters With Dolphins also viewed

 

Been to Encounters With Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing