We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Meal”

Carmel Kitchen Wine & Bar
Ranked #130 of 693 Restaurants in Clearwater
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here on New Year's Eve and were not disappointed. We were greeted immediately by one of our two servers and brought waters while we decided on wine. We started with the prosciutto wrapped scallops (which were a special), and they were phenomenal. Crispy, salty, tender on the inside. Next, we had the roasted beet salad which was delicious. The pistachios and goat cheese made the dish. For our entrees, we split the crab cakes and the steak frites. The crab cakes had so little filler, they were almost falling apart (in a good way). The steak was a perfect medium rare. One small quibble, was that the fries were frozen. That said, they were wonderfully seasoned. We finished with the chocolate lava cake. My husband loved it, but I wish it had been a tad bit sweeter. Service the entire meal was great, they have good team work there. People stopped by on a regular basis to pre-bus our table, and the manager also stopped by to make sure we were enjoying everything. This was our third visit over the past couple years, and we will continue to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
430 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good Food, Replaced Service w Poor Technology, Inexperienced Staff, Why Bother?”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife has dined at Carmel Cafe on a number of occasions with a better outcome. I heard how much she enjoyed the restaurant, so we decided to dine with good friends on New Years Eve.

We arrived at 6PM and were promptly seated by a friendly hostess. They showed us the menu which is on an iPad and gave us a printed menu.

The restaurant is warm and the decor is nice. However the restaurant to the right, their neighbor) actually looks more inviting. I would try that one next time.

A server came and took our drink order and explained the iPad ordering. We looked at the menu and ordered appetizers. We were engaged in good conversation and did not think about the long wait for food. After about 40 minutes the staff asked if we wanted to order. We replied that we had ordered. They explained that our order was most likely not completed on the iPad and still in the shopping cart. That was the case. We completed the transaction and the food came quickly. I would prefer to order in person. I get the best recommendations from the wait staff.

We ate a series of appetizers. Edamame hummus (good), Braised Short Rib & Portabella Flatbread X 2 (very good), Tomoto Margherita Flatbread (very good), Scallops wrapped in Bacon X3 (very good - how could they not be good…wrapped in bacon) Vegetable Cous Cous, Dessert Trio, Chocolate Lava Cake with Ice Cream. The food was tasty. We did not order anything too complicated.

However, each time we ordered, our food was hung up in the shopping cart. Unfortunately, we all ordered something and went thru the same experience. When i ordered the second time it happened to me again. The software needs some work in my opinion, or just take orders the old fashioned way.

My recommendation, Staff your restaurant and work to provide a better customer experience not a "fad" ordering experience. Remember Max & Erma's tried telephone ordering from the tables 20 years ago and i think they are out of business.

The food came quickly when properly ordered.

The worst part of the evening came at 8:45 PM when a young blond lady in a blue dress came to our table and asked if we planned to leave prior to 9 PM because they needed our table for another party. Her tact was inexcusable. Frankly, I should give the restaurant a Poor rating for her lack of customer concern and their technology issues. However, since my wife has successfully dined and had a good experience on a number of occasions, I am going to give them a 3.

Had they served us properly, without their technology, we would have been finished in less than two hours. Fortunately we were with good friends whom we had not seen in a while and the visit was perfect.

So, OK food, in my opinion they are trying to replace service with technology, and the blond in the blue dress, she should find another career.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Decent for tapas and a few drinks”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place is a decent local place for a couple of drinks and tapas.
They have a plate with nuts, cheese and meats that is very good.
They don't have bottles water though. They say they have their own "specially filtered"
water that's better than Perrier or Pelligrino...not....yuk.
Anyway, as I said not a bad local place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMasterGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a different dining experience. The menus are iPads and you can order directly from them. The items are the menu are mostly tapas which are small plates that you can share with each other. Good wine selection. Very well decorated with nice oil painting from a local artist.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I love it when you want to try almost everything on a menu. Great twists on standard items. A hummus sampler plate came with a red pepper hummus, edemame hummus, and quinoa, all of which were delicious. The eggs Benedict with crab was also a hit. They have half price bottles of wine on Wednesday nite, with a good selection to choose from.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chessie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Kitchen Wine & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carmel Kitchen Wine & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing