We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to close this place down and hire new kitchen staff”

Shor American Seafood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Shor American Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 693 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Coronado
Description: Come to SHOR and enjoy exceptional service and the freshest catch on the beach. SHOR restaurant an American seafood restaurant that is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The dining room is highlighted by a beautiful show kitchen and breath taking views of Clearwater Beach. For lunch we have all of your favorites including our grouper sandwich, lobster sandwich, cobb salad, and grilled flank steak. For Dinner we have a variety of small plates from calamari to American blue crab cakes. We also feature our shellfish bar where you can pick individual items or have us create a platter for you. Our seafood and meat selections are the freshest available. We have all your favorites such as grouper, snapper, filet mignon, NY strip loin, lobster ravioli, and scallops.
Privacyville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Time to close this place down and hire new kitchen staff”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency on Clearwater Beach for a long weekend as part of a large group. We ate quite a few times at the Shor restaurant and were completely appalled by the lack of standards or prep in the kitchen.

Some examples...

- Breakfast buffet - eggs were dried up and over cooked. Bacon was so overcooked when you picked it up it just crumbled. When I asked for better bacon, the Chef spent some time looking and finally admitted, it's all burned like that. The next morning, same burned up bacon, though he was nice enough to save me a few pieces that weren't too bad. Hash browns were burnt on both sides but uncooked in the middle. Ordered an omelet on two occasions, both times it had to be sent back because it was prepared with the wrong ingredients. Had folks in my party complain that the buffet food was cold (ironic, given how overcooked everything was) and that they were slow to replenish the line with fresh food. Numerous people did report that the Oatmeal was very good.

- Dinner - ordered grouper bites (fried grouper), came out raw and cold in the center (this is dangerous!!). Steak ordered medium rare, came out well done. Sent the steak back, got a new one that was literally just seared (raw and cold). Mashed potatoes came out cold (not slightly cool, as in not heated up!). Numerous people in our party had to send their food back because it was either raw in the middle or so overcooked it was not edible.

On our last night, had a group dinner with 12 people. It took them 2 hours and 10 minutes to get our first course out. When entrees came out, a few of them had to be sent back because they were raw or overcooked. Server kept apologizing over and over, finally told us that the kitchen isn't big enough to handle the size of the restaurant and this has been an ongoing issue.

Food that was delivered to order was good food, but the kitchen staff here is going to end up killing someone serving raw food to their patrons. Who is expediting and checking quality of food leaving the kitchen? Apparently no one. We'll never eat here again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsGermy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    117
    36
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
250 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I'm usually leery of "fine dining" in hotels, but the food, service, and view on the patio at Shor were all great.

Helpful?
Thank JACoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Five Star Experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We ate lunch there one afternoon and it was perfect. All of the food was very tasty, the view of the beach was incredible and our waiter Michael was top-notch. I hesitate to rave too much about this place, as it seems to be one of the hidden gems of Clearwater. But we will be going back there on a regular basis as it is a real pleasure as it was reasonable in price and they even validate parking when you dine there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stylefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great beach view, very good food but you will be paying for all that.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I decided to go check out Shor for "date night", we live off the beach and don't want to fight the traffic very often to get over there, but Shor was worth the drive.

You can park in the hotel garage and the restaurant will validate your ticket for you, so that is a big plus also. The restaurant itself is very nice looking, lots of polished stone flooring and floaty sheer drapes along with an open kitchen and a direct water view of Clearwater Beach. We were a little early, but if you time it right this would be a great place to watch the sun go down into the gulf. There were plenty of people coming in with their kids dressed in "beach wear" so I would think if you are going early don't feel you have to dress too much but it is a gorgeous space so you feel right at home if you do want to have a "dressy" dinner.

They offer several "specialty cocktails" which are made with good quality liquor and fresh ingredients I tried a strawberry basil refresher - strawberry rum, fresh muddled strawberries and basil with agave syrup, along with either ginger ale or club soda. Needless to say it was very refreshing and tasty! However they don't put the pricing on the cocktails card and even though I was expecting it, you need to keep in mind each one is going to be $10.00, there is another drink I tried called a Rainforest Caipirinha which was sort of high test fruit punch it came in at $13.00.

The service was very good, maybe even a little too attentive, but very friendly and helpful. We weren't in a hurry to go anywhere, but if you are you may want to mention it, so you get in and out a little quicker.

We got a small loaf of pretzel bread to start with little dots of spicy mustard around the plate that had the butter. I would not have thought pretzel bread would be something I would care for but it was very good.

We tried the soup of the day which was white asparagus in a creamy broth with fried leeks, it was very good but very rich, our server had asked if we each wanted a bowl each or if we wanted to split a bowl, I was glad that we split it.

We then moved on to the try the "premium" oysters, I love cold water oysters and always try them when we have the opportunity. They do charge $3.50 an oyster for what they call "super premium", so a dozen oysters ended up at $42.00. They had blue points, raspberry points and another one from Washington State. We tried the raspberry points and the Washington State oysters, the raspberry points were our favorite out of the two.

We then moved onto trying a couple of the starters in place of having an entree. The crab cakes were very good, lots of flavor and beautiful presentation but be aware they are only about the size of a half dollar piece and around an inch tall, you get 2 of these for 14.00 so this is small food as far as starters go, but really good quality and taste. We also tried the shortribs which were braised in Ybor Gold (a local beer) which came with celery root slaw and fried shallots. These were also very tasty sort of reminded me of a really good piece of pot roast rather than what I think of as short ribs though.

We decided to skip desert although I am sure it would have been great also. In summary 2 people, 6 drinks, a dozen super premium oysters, soup and two starters - $136 plus tip, wonderful evening with a great beach view... priceless!

The added bonus is an absolutely incredible view, if you are in the upper levels of the parking garage! Go over to the openings looking north to see all of Clearwater beach stretching out before you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WelRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

All the food was delicious and the server was couteous and friendly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScotK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shor American Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shor American Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing