We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish fry!”

Jimmy's Fish House & Iguana Bar
Ranked #31 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is located at the Holiday Inn Clearwater Beach
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fish fry!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were looking for an all you can eat fish fry. We found a great one. The Friday grouper special was excellent, you could have it fried, grilled, cajun or jerked. We tried the grilled and fried and both were great. Fries were good, but could've been a little warmer.

We were in town for a week and this fried grouper was just as good as what we had at Frenchy's and Cooters.

Added bonus: several dolphins were out in the water while we were there watching the sunset.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iKneadavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    332
    149
    61
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breath taking views with good food and service”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant is located inside the Holiday Inn. the water view is priceless. Our server was great. fish tacos were fabulous, grilled chicken and fries were great. shrimp appetizer with peanut sauce was delicious. Stir clear of their Calamari (which was very chewey) and large chocolate cake which has a strong chocolate liquor taste. The prices were very reasonable. Most tables have view of TV so we watched the football game. But if weather permits, skip TV and sit outside. I would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great view and food !”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stopped in here while out riding one day for lunch. I have the borsin cheese stuffed chicken and it was really good. The Crab bisque was tasty but there could have been a little more crab in it. Eating out on the patio in the sunshine was so relaxing. My wife had the ribs and the BBQ was sauce was good but the ribs a little dry. The service was fast and friendly. I would highly recommend going here and staying for the sunset over the gulf.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“View!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We decided to try Jimmy's because we had a restaurant.com gift certificate, it got good reviews on TA and it had a scenic view. That being said we somehow couldn't get our smart phone to pull up the gift certificate so we ended up paying full price. The view was great. We were practically in the water. When my husband's bread was brought out in a covered basket about 3 gulls dive bombed and really startled us! But I love being by the water so this was fine. I had a burger and it was just a regular burger - perfectly fine but nothing to get excited about. My husband ordered a pasta dish with a cream sauce and sausage and chicken. He said it was extremely good. We were there early evening and it wasn't crowded. It looks like it could be a fun bar atmosphere later in the evening. We were staying in quiet Indian Shores which we like but it was nice to have one dinner in Clearwater which feels more like a resort.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not Sure About This”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Pretty difficult to write a review about Clearwater Beach restaurants as there is no doubt of this being a much varied crowd and tastes run the whole gammut amongst locals and tourists. Seems like 2 or 3 local restauranteurs bought out the competition and many of the menus and taste are similar between them all.
As for Jimmy's, possibly this was an off night, but we are not sure what some like about this place other than the view(s) - It's a bar with a restaurant serving typical food, not different cuisine and not that inexpensive. The staff just weren't with it at all - not that they were not polite just a little dis-organized even some man who looked and acted like the manager was really having a bad day attitude wise.
The food taste to price ratio, for us, was a 3 and we are being kind, the service the same eve the Spanish speaking tourist next to us returned one meal and it was as if nothing happened.
Go for the scenery

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Fish House & Iguana Bar also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Fish House & Iguana Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing