We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shells”
Review of Sand Key Park

Sand Key Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Sea Screamer Boat Ride
Ranked #5 of 84 things to do in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belize City, Belize, Belize
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shells”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We enjoyed Sand Key Park. It is easy to park ($5) and the beach is very nice. You can rent umbrellas and lounge chairs ($20). The beach has a lot more shells than Clearwater Beach. Fun for kids of all ages to pick up shells. The sand is courser (more shell parts) than Clearwater Beach. But, still worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    365
    92
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

After a horrible time trying to find any kind of enjoyment at Honeymoon Island(see my review) my wife and I decided to head to Clearwater, just a few miles to the south. We decided to go across the pass and came upon Sand Key Park. Free to the public(there is a fee for parking) this park was a stunning surprise. Long, super wide Florida beaches, this is one of the jewels of the west coast of the state. Gorgeous water, scenic views and kites being flown all up and down the beach made this a wonderful time to enjoy the beach. There is a concession stand, restrooms and ample parking.A small picnic area that faces the pass under the shade of large trees. This is what a Florida beach is suppose to look like! Great job, Pinellas County!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank wannabevirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good beach”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Spent a day here at the beach last weekend and we had a good time.

Sand Key park is a nice alternative to the much busier local beaches, particularly Clearwater Beach up the street.

Cabanas/umbrellas and chairs are available for a fee but the facilities are pretty sparse. This beach has a nice unspoiled feel to it and the park is quite pleasant with a little wetland area with some cool birds and plenty of greenery.

The sand is more shell filled than Clearwater beach but the water was great to swim in and there was plenty of room on the beach. It would take a lot for this beach to feel crowded. If you are looking for something more low key and quieter for a beach focused day of vacation then I'd say Sand Key fits the bill.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sands Key”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We always stop in this park when we are in the area. Surprised to see that you now need to pay $5 to park for the day. The weather was awful (as it was all week) and we didnt want to spend $5 to just walk the beach for a bit. We were concerned about getting towed. There should be an option to have 1/2 hr parking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Mellow Beach”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great beach for morning walks with the family to hunt for shells. Also, a more quiet and relaxed beach than other beaches near by, like Clearwater Beach. Nice to have some trees nearby too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Key Park also viewed

 

Been to Sand Key Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing