We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great option for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wave Motel Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Wave Motel Suites
Save
You added Blue Wave Motel Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great option for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Clearwater and first stay at the Blue Wave Motel. I was looking for a place that was near the beach, did not cost a fortune, could accommodate our family of 6, had a kitchen, and provided beach supplies (since we were flying to FL). Blue Wave met our needs perfectly. You cannot beat the location...a very easy walk to the beach, Pier 60, and restaurants. Also the section of beach was ideal, not in front of one of the big hotels...we often had the beach to ourselves in the morning. As far as our room, we had the corner suite, which was nice, clean, and tastefully decorated. Rodney and Gayle had set us up with a futon bunk bed, in addition to the pull-out couch, and the kids (ages 2-10) were excited to take turns sleeping in the top bunk. (I will say, the kids all crashed every night...they slept great!) Rodney and Gayle really went above and beyond making sure we had everything we needed (extra towels, chairs, etc). The kitchen was well equipped, and there was a Publix just 1/2 mile away, which saved us a good deal on meal expenses. If there was anything we needed, all we had to do was ask. Which brings me to the beach supplies...I wasn't really expecting much, but it far exceeded my expectations. The beach towels were very nice, there were tons of beach chairs to choose from, several umbrellas and tents, a float that my boys played on for hours, some sand toys...they even gave us sunscreen. (I'll try to upload a photo of us on the beach that shows some of the nice 'stuff'.)

A few other details...the shower is a large stand-up, not a tub combo, which was fine for us, but might be an issue for some families. My only complaint is that the water pressure was not great. There is an outdoor shower for rinsing sand off, and laundry facilities available. The AC in the unit is in the bedroom, with an opening in the shared bedroom/living room wall for the cool air to blow thru. The ceiling fan blades in the LR had had to be removed due to the bunkbed, so the LR was a bit warmer than the bedroom...again, not a big deal to us. The TVs in the bedroom and living rooms were very nice/big/modern. There is no pool, but if you did want a pool, there was a big, nice, city pool with slides a short walk away...visitor admission was $3/adults and $2/kids.

We had a great time and I've already recommended Blue Wave to friends considering a beach vacation to Florida.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof4blessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our suite was very clean and spacious, with a nice kitchen and a comfortable sleeping room. The motel has no pool and is located in a quiet street 3 minutes walk from the beach und 5 minutes walk from the pier. Nice restaurants within walking distance.
Beach towels and chairs are provided. I did like a lot the beach towels which (to me) seemed to be from the '70s! Something different from all the other hotels in Florida!
The pullout sofa in the kitchen is not that comfortable, I would say it is ok for children to sleep but adults could have problems. Only the bed sheets were a little bit too used, I would suggest to buy new ones! Towels in the bathroom were good.
Very nice owner and staff.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the second year we stayed at the Blue Wave and I am already missing it and can't wait to go back again. This is a great place to stay not only for location but the rooms are perfect. Rodney and Gayle are the best! It is like visiting family! I would highly recommend staying here..you can't get such great customer service along with a great place to stay for this price and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalliekat081170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am not one to EVER write reviews but I had to say something about my stay at the Blue Wave Motel. I have never experienced such great service and friendly people anywhere else! Gayle was so accommodating and made sure all our needs were met and we had everything we needed and our stay was pleasant. This was the first time we traveled with my youngest son Sebastian (who turned 1 year old the day we arrived) and I was very impressed that the motel had a pack and play we could use for him during our stay. I can not tell you enough how great these people are and we plan on returning every year as a family tradition. I would definitely recommend them to anyone wanting a stress free vacation at the beach. We can't wait to go back and enjoy another family vacation with the Blue Wave Motel staff!

Room Tip: All their rooms are great so you can choose any of them! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noe813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had such a great time staying at the Blue Wave motel. Gayle is wonderful and so friendly! Rodney is there to hlep with anything you need, including suggestions of great things to do in Clearwater Beach! The Tommy Bahama room is beautiful! I want to decorate my bathroom at home just like the one there! Prices are great for being a block from the beach! You can't beat the value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlioopWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place. Very clean... looks like everything has been revamped. Very convenient and close to great restaurants. A three minute walk to the ocean... doesn't get any better unless you want to pay top dollar at the beachfront hotels. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the corner suite. It was nice to be on the end and have extra window. As the other reviews Gayle and Rodney are very friendly and helpful. It was a short walk to the beautiful beach, shops and dining. The suite was clean except for the floors...after walking around in socks for an hour...the bottoms were black (yuck). The bathroom did not have an outlet so you are not able to plug dryers etc in in the bathroom. Not the worst but nice to be able to get ready in the bathroom. Overall, its a nice place to stay if you don't want to be on the beach and have a kitchen to save some money on meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Most guest feel like you, a nice place and nice price. Hope to see you soon.
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#9 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.1 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 3,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wave Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel Suites

Property: Blue Wave Motel Suites
Address: 440 E Shore Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Wave Motel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms were newly remodeled in 2015 with King Koil Mattresses and Sofabeds. All units are one bedroom suites with very high quality appointments like Granite counter tops in complete kitchen, wood cabinets, full size refrigerator with ice maker, 4 burner gas stove. Tile floor to ceiling in bathroom. Some suites have Intercoastal Waterway view. Tommy Bahama Suite features all Tommy Bahama Furniture, Murphy Bed and can sleep 6 guests. The Jungle Room features bunk beds, and Jungle Theme, great for famiies with kids and sleeps 6. Guests gather at our Roof Top Terrace for drinks and watch the sunset on the Gulf of Mexico with music. Our favorite gathering spot has view of the Gulf and Intercoastal waterway. Only 10 rooms at this cute Mom and Pop friendly resort all suite motel. Get twice the room, for half the price of the Hilton and Sandpearl Hotels across the street. Friendly service and help with all your vacation needs is why our Guests return, and never a charge for parking, playpens, beach chairs and maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing