We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and more relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Wave Motel Suites
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have three teens and every time my husband and I want to take a break of everything we just go to Clearwater. Blue Wave Motel is a great place to stay with amazing and friendly staff. Gail and Rodney always welcomes us and the nice part of it is, that every time we go they always remember who we are. They see the changes of my children growing! They make you feel at home. Rooms are nice, clean and they have everything you need to have a wonderful time at the beach!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 144 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Must agree. The Blue Wave has been a favorite of ours as well. The friendly and caring staff makes us feel like we are visiting family members. We needed a little more room on our past two visits to Clearwater as family came along with us, but we always love to stop by and chat with Gail and Rodney.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I found this hidden gem while looking for a place close to Heilman's Beachcomber restaurant which was the venue for my daughter's wedding reception. We booked the Tommy Bahama suite to dress in before the beach wedding and for the couple to stay in that night. It was absolutely fantastic. The huge walk-in shower, the furnishings, the decor...top notch! I am a Clearwater native and always try to stay away from the big chain hotels...couldn't have picked a better one than the Blue Wave. Out of town friends were staying at the Hilton on Clearwater Beach and they were so blown away by what I'd found for 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KnoxvilleTNVolfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My teenage daughter & I stayed here on 08/12-8/14/11 & I am so glad we did. Excellent location. Not on the beach but a couple of blocks from the beach. Everything was within walking distance right in the hub of all the activities. And completely safe for my daughter & I to walk at night. We meet both Managers, Gail & Rodney & they are the friendliest people. They do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Also while we were there out of all their rooms but ours & one other were occupied by returning customers. Once you find this gem, you won't go anywhere else. The rooms were very clean & updated. They go beyond the call of customer service. I will never look for another place to stay while in Clearwater Beach area...this is like a little home away from home. The Motel also has an assortment of beach chairs, umbrellas, toys for building sand castles & the body board we left because we were flying home....Enjoy! Suggestions for your trip, hit the Publix Grocery store for food, they close at 9pm, before you get to beach area, I think they are on Island Way just about 1 mile before you get to the beach. Make a right. There is really only a CVS in the actual beach area.
If you eating out good places are Clear Sky restaurant & Crabby Bills, were they will take your photo & make a key chain memory for $6.00.
We didn't go on Pier 60, but opted for sitting on sand watching the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen. We will be back! Wish I was there now!
Valerie & Jennifer

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Valeriebarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My family just returned from a two night stay at the Blue Wave Motel in Clearwater. We had wanted to stay in a place close to Pier 60 since our daughter was playing in a volleyball tournament near that location. After spending a couple of hours checking out (very high) prices at places like the Hyatt and Hilton, we happened upon the site for the Blue Wave. My family had never stayed at a "Mom and Pop" type of establishment before so we were putting our trust in the pictures and description shown online.
Upon our arrival at the Blue Wave, we met a gentleman named Rodney. He was a very friendly guy who immediately made us feel welcomed. He showed us a couple of different "family rooms" that included a small kitchen with full size appliances and a small table with 4 chairs, and a granite countertop. The living area had a pull-out sofa, chair with ottoman and a decent sized t.v. The bathroom was nicely decorated and the bedroom had a queen size bed. The entire room seemed to have been nicely renovated. The bottom line...we were very please with the room and its terrific location (we could walk to Pier 60 easily). The only small issue was the AC unit was located in the bedroom (which made sleeping great), since it didn't cool the remainder of the unit as much as it cooled the bedroom. This was NOT a big deal since the other rooms seemed to get enough air to stay at a comfortable temperature and the living area had a ceiling fan.
I would high recommend a "family room" at the Blue Wave to any small family looking for a clean, comfortable place, at a very reasonable price, that is close to Pier 60 and beautiful Clearwater Beach. They even have beach chairs, toys, etc. for guests to use at the beach free of charge.The fact that Rodney was there to make sure we had everything we needed and even asked how the volleyball tournament was going made our stay even more enjoyable.....thanks Rodney! We will definitely be back the next time we plan a trip to Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oviedo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Met kleine kinderen op de begane grond vragen. Wij zaten in nummer 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NurseGayle, General Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: es hat keinen Pool. Aber wer braucht diesen schon wenn man an diesem tollen Strand sein kann.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg North / Clearwater
0.5 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.7 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 98 in Clearwater
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wave Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel Suites

Address: 440 E Shore Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $129 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Wave Motel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 room cute boutique motel, nestled between the Gulf of Mexico and Intracoastal waterway. Newly remodeled with full kitchens , granite counter tops , Queen in private master bedroom. All glass shower enclosures. Has one of the best locations . Best restuarants and tiki bars are right out your front door. Fabulous Roof top deck has limited view of Gulf of Mexico and favorite gathering spot to socialize with loung chairs and several sitting areas. East side decks and balconies look directly at the Intracoastal waterways and new Papaya St. fishing pier and park ( to be completed shortly ),. Beach and Pier 60 just 1.5 blocks walk. Great customer service from one of Clearwater Beach's last Mom and Pop motels. Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence year after year. Get today's accommodations at yesturdays's prices. Some larger suites can sleep a large family up to 7 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Wave Motel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing