We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see on your trip to Clearwater Beach”
Review of Bait House

Bait House
Ranked #11 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
newnan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must-see on your trip to Clearwater Beach”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is just about as fun a little restaurant as you will ever find. It is literally part of a bait shop at the public marina and the dining area is an open-air deck (NO inside seating) on the intracoastal next to the bridge and you can see the water between the cracks of the wooden floor. That being said, the food isn't anything special. But with a location like that, who cares? Our grandson's cheeseburger and homemade potato chips were delish--hubby's FRESH blackened snapper was good--too spicy for me though-- and my Bait House salad with greens, strawberries, pecans, and blue cheese was fine--I ordered it topped with a broiled grouper filet. The fish was yummy, but the salad was basic and just okay. I couldn't eat the "special" fresh raspberry salad dressing---it was just smashed berries (the seeds were whole) and wasn't pourable and didn't taste good with the salad at all! The only other dressing they had was blue cheese and that was just okay too. The salad was screaming for a nice bright vinaigrette! I think that burgers and fish and homemade chips, with cold beers and frosty drinks are the way to go here. Freshly prepared basic bar food and a fantastic location! The kitchen/tiny bar area that you walk through to get to the deck has a ceiling and walls plastered with dollar bills that people write or draw on and then staple on the walls or ceiling. Our 6 year old grandson wanted to do it so we let him and took a picture of him next to his customized dollar bill. We had fun imagining him returning to eat, drink, and take pictures next to his dollar over the years as he grows into adulthood. We loved watching the brightly lit, big 3-decker dinner cruise ship dock as we ate. After we finished, we walked around the marina as the sun set and it was a magical evening. Magical because of the marina, water, boats, and sunset---certainly not magical because of the food. We desperately wanted to buy some t-shirts in the bait shop section but they were low on a size selection and they were very busy getting bait for some noisy fishermen about ready to go out on their boat. Like I said---it is fun in a funky way and everyone should go there at least once. And don't forget to staple your customized dollar bill to the ceiling!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggirlNewnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    168
    50
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Falls
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in looking for a place to have a drink and relax by the water. This was the perfect spot! It's nothing fancy but had a perfect feel. We were disappointed that the kitchen wasn't open due to a recent kitchen fire, but they were working on fixing it. We heard great things about the food so we can't wait to stop in when we go back to this area in July! This is the perfect place to sit back, have a beer, and watch the boats go by!

Helpful?
Thank Stacy_S13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice Location and Unique”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went here with a few people after playing volleyball on Clearwater Beach. The restaurant is at the end of the parking lot and you enter it through the bait house in front. The bar and restaurant are at the back of the shop and over the water. There is a limited amount of seating and it is all outdoors, so if there is bad weather this is NOT the place to go. Also, since it is "outdoors", smoking is allowed. Luckily there was only one smoker there the day we went.

Our server was good, after she caught on to the fact that we were going to need frequent drink refills after playing volleyball all day on the beach. The menu was large enough that we all found something that we wanted on it. I was disappointed that the fish could not be fried. My blackened grouper was a little too spicy for my tastes. Also would have liked a choice of mashed or baked potato that they did not have.

Note that there is no free parking and the parking meters have a 30 minute limit. I believe you can get a parking pass (for a fee) in the bait shop, but you must feed the meter before going to get the pass.

Overall, this restaurant was just OK. I would not go back there on my own, but if friends wanted to go there, I wouldn't refuse to join them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Illinois_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos from boat to tortilla!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's a very small place with tables on the dock but the owner, Christian, knows how to keep things simple and provide fantastic fresh fish right off the boat that pulls up next to the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Real bait shop with small restaurant on the water.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Awesome little place on the water! Great tap beer lineup.
Clams we delicious.
Clam chowder was on the watery side.
Fish tacos w/ red snapper & slaw were good but a bit dry. Too much slaw as well.
Red Snapper platter was delicious but yet again a bit dry.
Peel n eat shrimp were the best thing on the menu.
Great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Partyof5ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bait House also viewed

 

Been to Bait House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing