We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good food!”
Review of Bait House

Bait House
Ranked #11 of 697 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and good food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

If I would have found out about this place sooner I would have eaten there everyday for five days during my family vacation in Clearwater, Florida. I love seafood and and I've eaten seafood all over the east coast and this is one of the best places to have fresh seafood at an awesome location. If you like it Jimmy Buffett style this is your place. Good beers and great food right on the water. Plus this place supports the locals as much as possible from local hot sauce, beer and local seafood.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sullivandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    165
    50
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best place on earth!”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We live here and this is our all time favourite place. The food is consistently good and the service and staff has a personal touch. Very friendly, the freshest food and a great location on the water. Relaxed, chilled and just perfect for a drink and food on a Friday night after work. Five well deserved stars all round from us. Love it!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmbhwsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and great food”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We went to the Bait House based on the reviews, and we were not disappointed. We went with our kids (teenagers) and sat outside. However it began to rain and the staff moved the locals (boat captains, deck hands) off the bar so we could sit there together. The whole experience was fun, and even our kids enjoyed it immensely. We spoke to the cook, the owner, and the bartender while we were there, and the food was excellent. Thanks to all that recommended this restaurant, we appreciate it!! IF you like local, colorful places, this is it!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Muskego7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very disappointed:(”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I hate writing this review, because this has been one of my favorites since they opened. I have always felt the service was hit or miss. The servers were always friendly, but not always on top of things. Today was the nail in the coffin. We arrived at 11:45 for lunch. A woman was blocking the entrance, smoking a cigarette. I had to work my way around her to get in. I later noticed she was the bartender. The owner, Christian, who was the most friendliest guy when they first opened, long ago stopped greeting the customers or going by any of the tables. We walked right past him and he said not one word. It has been like that for a while. There was only one table other then us. We sat down and waited 15 minutes!! They acted like we were not even there. After getting tired of the attitude and inhaling fumes from the lunch cruise boat, we left. I work at a local tourist attraction and have been referring everyone there, but that will stop. This place has fantastic potential, but they need to get it together!!! Come on Christian, get back in the groove!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Islandgirl11163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great "beach" atmosphere, but food was just OK.”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The place is kind of hard to find, but a great place to relax, watch the water, boats, etc. It is NOT on the Ocean, but on the other side of the island. It has the Jimmy Buffet feel to it. Had a grilled Wahoo fish sandwich, it was good, not amazing. The pasta salad was not good. WIfe had Wahoo fish tacos, they were just OK, nothing spectactular. Beers were good, but not very cold, priced reasonable at $3 each. Service was good until after we got our check and she never came back....we paid up front so we can get out of there after waiting 15 minutes for her to return (she was busy stocking beers into the cooler). Would not go again, there are lots of other places around that are in a better location and with much better food.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bait House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing