We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, but not perfect”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel has spoiled me. I don't think I'll ever be happy with another place after my experience at the Hyatt in Clearwater Beach. Friendly, courteous, efficient staff; beautiful, huge rooms; superb view of the beach and gulf; attractive public areas. But perfection lies in the details and this property dropped the ball in one area. Soiled carpet and upholstery have no place in a hotel of this caliber and price point. Too bad. I'd be tempted to give you 100% otherwise, but now you'll have to be satisfied with 95. That said, would I return? You bet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hogline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at our resort. It’s great to read that you had a fantastic experience. I’ll be sure to let our staff know that you found their service to be friendly, courteous, and efficient. I will pass along your comments about the carpet and upholstery. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    635
    249
    75
    56
See reviews for
1,097
726
41
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is Heaven on earth. We travel often and tend to lean toward Hilton, but decided to try this. We stayed on floor 9 on the south side. 1 Bedroom. Everyone from check in to the concerige to coffe person , waiters, bartenders were great to me and my family. You may think this is pricey with parking and resort charge, but believe me, its all worth it. We mostly went to beach , ate in Shors once and should have gone back. The dinner was awesome and breakfast was great. Try an omlette. We ddint want to leave and will definetly go back. The only con was the noise from the air con, you need to put some baffling in , way too loud when it kicks on and off, same with plumbing. A small investment would fix this......Thank you again for a great vacation

Room Tip: High Up on South Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheFaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort and Spa. It gives me great pleasure to read your comments about our staff. We too feel our property is "Heaven on Earth." I would also like to thank you for the suggestion regarding our plumbing and HAVAC systems. Rest assured I will forward your comments to the executive management team for review and follow-up. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our stay was very good, the staff outstanding and very caring and helpful. The rooms were fully equipped, spacious, comfortable. The hotel is beautiful, great location right across from the beach. We had a lovely time in this property. Looking forwward to return again.

Room Tip: Take the top floors, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preventer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our resort. It's always great to read when our guests have a fabulous experience. I'm pleased that you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It sounds like you really enjoyed your room finding it to be spacious and well appointed. We have a great property with a superb location right across from the beach. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to your return in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We travelled in December 2012 for Xmas - 8 days with 2 small children.
The room - 1 bedroom suite on the 12th floor. The kitchen was well equipped, yes there is only 4 of each (plates, cups, ect.) but there is a dishwasher, and you wont be staying in and cooking all day anyway. 2 full bathrooms were great, very clean.
The hotel is beautiful, you are directly across from the beach, it's an amazing location. There are nightly entertainers on the Pier which is really great if you have kids, they just loved it.
Because we were there in December, we did not use the pool that much, althought it was heated. We will definately stay here again if we are back in Clearwater, but I don't think I would go back in Nov/Dec/Jan, the weather is not warm enough for swimming in the Ocean or the pool so we did not use the nice cabanas at the beach but had to pay the resort fee anyway.
We did the self parking and found it extremely easy, always lots of parking spots and easy access from the hotel to the parking level.
Service at this hotel is excellent, everyone is always so happy to see you.
We ate all the pool restaurant and at the main hotel restaurant and food and service at both was excellent, a bit pricy but not more than the sourrounding restaurants.
They did not have many activities for kids during Xmas but they did open up a meeting room and set it up with Kids movies and colouring pages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WioK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello WioK!

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your eight day getaway with your family. It's great you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy the Pier. It's a popular attraction with our guests.

Your referral and comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your family back for another vacation soon!

Safe travels!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel and was there for only one night. A beautiful property with great staff and really nice rooms. The view from the private balconies was awesome. Definitely recommend for a beach-goers vacation or work spot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Greg T!

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed getting a few moments to relax during the convention you were attending at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer getaway on your next visit to Clearwater!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a family trip to the Tampa area, during which we stayed at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater. Overall our stay was very, very good.

Pros:

Large rooms equipped with kitchen including stove, microwave, dishwasher, disposal, fridge/freezer, utensils/plates, toaster, blender, and more.

Most, if not all rooms have a couch with a pull out mattress.

Excellent location on Clearwater Beach - basically on the beach, close walk to the "strip" without being in the middle of it.

Great balconies.

Excellent staff, particularly the front desk.

Good pool

Cons:

Mattress, bedding, towels are average

Housekeeping is average

Pool area.. Deck is grimy - it is rarely, if ever washed down. Most "resorts" we've stayed at in the past with a pool area wash/powerwash down the deck on a daily basis. You can see guests trying not to touch the deck as they walk around (an impossible feat, hah, pun intended ;-)). Additionally, plates and glasses left from pool service is not frequently picked up, which leads to an increased number of birds circling hoping for that leftover french fry. The receipt system for obtaining pool towels is silly, and the lack of pool "toys" for the kids is disappointing. The poor pool area upkeep is why I graded the property a 4 vs 5.

Room Tip: request a room that has a larger than average patio. Complimentary washer dryer on 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11earl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Mass
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved the Hyatt! Staff was always helpful and friendly. Nothing beats the beach across the street. My granddaughter loved the Camp Hyatt with Cassie and Ashley. We had a room on the 14th floor and it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 98 in Clearwater
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing