We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It IS Nice, But..."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach IS a nice hotel. In fact, it's even a really nice hotel. BUT... there are some things that keep it from being completely amazing. The staff is great - from the desk staff, the concierge, to the valets and housekeeping. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating. The hotel itself is decorated and appointed nicely. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The kitchenette was great, the bathroom was beautiful. The beds were even shockingly sleep-able. The location is fantastic... it's in the middle of everything, and perhaps 10 steps from the actual sand.

BUT... most the things pointed out in the other reviews are really true
... the resort fee. I still have no idea what I paid that $20/day for.
.... the internet service is a joke. If you need any kind of reliable internet... you're in trouble. You COULD go to the business center and pay $5/15 min for internet (and then a per-page charge for any printing)... but... really?!
.... it's annoying to pay $16 (self park) or $20 (valet) a day... when there's an empty parking garage next to the hotel that's FREE.
.... the layout really is totally bizarre. The views from the pool (8th floor) and hot tub (16th or 18th, I can't remember, floor) are fantastic, but getting to them is a really odd experience.
.... the main entrance is at the back of the hotel. The actual back of the hotel is what faces the beach. Weird.
....every room in theory has a view of the ocean, but it might just be a tiny little sliver of sand/water.

Overall, the hotel is really nice. I might even stay here again.... provided I wanted to leave all my technological devices at home. I visit Clearwater a few times a year and I've stayed at every chain hotel (and Shephard's) along the beach. I enjoyed the Hyatt experience, but for all the "BUTS..." involved, I'm not sure it's really a good value. There are other hotels that offer free internet that's reliable (or a business center that's free), don't have the resort fees, and have a more logical lay-out. BUT... if you're looking for an upscale hotel experience and don't mind a few odd caveats, this would be a good place to stay a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chel-belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,494)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,102 - 2,108 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

Our family of five visited Hyatt Clearwater for 3 nights in November 2011. The rooms we just as nice as the pics showed but even more the personnel were very service minded and the resturant had the best of foods. It was excellent cousine.

(we read some comments on web reviews prior and hesitated a bit due to there being a road between the hotel and the beach. That was nothing and we have small children. A few cars passing very )

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleipn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

I am delighted that your stay with our property went above and beyond your expectations. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and the service they provided. I am glad you found the food to be excellent. We look forward to having you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights in early October in their slightly deluxe room with 2 queen beds, a full-size kitchen (d/w, stove, oven, fridge, micro), sitting area and balcony. Huge and lovely! Our room had 2 large closets, a huge bathroom, a small separate nook for the desk (nice if you have to work with the family along), and the kitchen area could seat 5 easily (small table and breakfast bar). We were on the 8th floor (or the pool floor if I have that wrong). At first, I was concerned about potential noise because we were in a south facing room that was just a few doors down from the pool entrance doors and right across from the hallway doors to the poolside cabanas. Well, there was none in the room, even though the pool does play loud music as others have mentioned. And the 8th floor gets you a very large balcony (you can see that from looking up at the building). The north view was not terribly glamorous up close (asphalt parking lot/new building construction), but you have a nice ocean view, and view of the pier, etc., beyond that. I've lived Chicago my whole adult life and have had many apartments in my younger years that were smaller and less furnished than this hotel room!! We got an excellent bargain on travelocity, so our room rate was well under $250 per night - a steal for the size and furnishings of the room. We had a late flight on our last day and the front desk was happy to allow us late check out.

The pool was very nice. Even though we were there on a windy, pre-hurricane weekend when we couldn't get go the beach one day because it was so windy, the way the pool is tucked up into the building allowed everyone to spend the day at the pool barely noticing the crazy weather. The cabanas were well used by various wedding-related groups/families and seemed a nice idea for a treat. The front desk has plenty of beach and pool toys (and even regular room toys) for lending. There is a longer walk to the parking garage, but we really didn't notice it as we are from Chicago and the walk was typical for a large scale city hotel. And even with a 4 y.o., the walk to the beach across the "street", really a low traffic access road, was no problem. We used coffee shop/bar near beach entrance daily. We did not dine in the hotel except for deserts, which were lovely. For families, there is a McDonald's, a surf/convenience shop and one of the popular family-friendly seafood restaurants within steps of the beach side entrance. We didn't need the kids club, but it was right on the 8th floor near the pool and looked fun.

Loved it and would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I am pleased you found the room to be very spacious and well appointed. All of our rooms are suites which offer full kitchenettes and balconies. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the pool and all of the other amenities we have to offer. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to have you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

There was nothing about this hotel we didn't like. It wasn't crowded in late October, so that was a plus for the elevators, beach and restaurants. Great two-room suite (we paid a nominal fee to stay on higher floor, and they upgraded us to a deluxe suite) with every amenity you could think of. Nice kitchen area, large balcony for eating (with entrances from either room). Large beach is beautiful, with soft white sand. For those who posted that you have to cross a road to get there, note that the beach is immediately across from the hotel, and it's a small road with a pedestrian right-of-way...not an issue whatsoever. Everyone there was helpful and nice, so kudos to the check-in staff and the valet/bellmen if you need them. Oh, and the $20 one-time fee to check in 3-4 hours early gave us a long afternoon on the sand.

The only CON that I could think of is the $20 resort fee (we did get free towels daily), and if you want shade, you rent a cabana or an umbrella with two chairs on a daily basis at $20 per day. It was certainly worth the fee.

Room Tip: Pay the $9 extra for a higher floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

I am so happy that you had such a wonderful experience at our resort. I am thrilled that you found your two bedroom suite to be very spacious and well appointed. With all of our rooms having fully equipped kitchens it makes you feel right at home. I am pleased to hear you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to have you back to our resort in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

All round excellent experience, which is what was expected as it wasn't cheap. We asked for and got an upgrade to a larger room with a view straight down the centre of the hotel over the pool to the sea. The weather was wet and windy while we were there, so didn't get to use the pool or beach properly while there, but I can imagine its very good when the sun is shining. Don't be put off by the strange industrial check in area, they main area is up one level with a good bar and restaurant.
Only one slight negative point that maybe the management could consider. On our first day there was constant loud music blaring all around the pool area....considering the age profile of most of the guests this was unnecessary..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased your overall experience at our property was excellent. We have fantastic rooms with spectacular views. I will be sure to forward your comments to the appropriate personnel regarding the loud music around the pool area. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great experience! I was told that check out was at 4pm, so I did have a problem on the last day when I visited family believing that and came back to all my stuff throw in plastic bags (including my wedding dress). That was the only hitch. Besides that, the pool was lovely, I always have loved Clearwater beach, the rooms were magnificent! :)

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms - they have HUGE balconies that view the ocean and the area. It's beautiful...
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lythacore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We apologize for the confusion with check out. Our standard check out time is at 11 am however our check in time is at 4pm. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I traveled to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort with four couples and we all had a wonderful weekend! We were there in late September. The weather was perfect (mid 80's) and the hotel was absolutely perfect (clean, well furnished, updated decorations and fixtures, etc). Because we did not book at the same time, the four rooms were spread out but that gave us an opportunity to see a variety of rooms. All of the rooms were suites but my room was a bit larger than some. We had a larger living room area which was perfect for entertaining. Our room became the "hang out" spot for the group. The room overlooked the pool but we could easily see the ocean from our balcony. On a previous trip, one of the couples had a corner room with an ocean view. From what we've seen, that seems to be the best option and is in the same price range.

The hotel staff is warm and friendly from the moment you step out of the car. They were fast, efficient, and about business but not at all formal or stuffy. Anytime we needed anything, everyone always seemed very willing to extend hospitility.

The location is right on the beach and within walking distance to the pier and restaurants. It was a short ride to shopping, drug stores, etc.

I look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and have the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernGirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're delighted everyone in your group had a wonderful time. We're glad you enjoyed our suite style hotel. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff. Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your next stay.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.4 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#20 of 98 in Clearwater
4,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $251 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing