We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek Restaurant in Clearwater”
Review of GreekTown Grille

GreekTown Grille
Ranked #220 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Greek Restaurant in Clearwater”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First, the food quality is excellent. I had the shrimp kabob and he had the chicken. Both were very tasty. The Greek salad that comes with it is also very good.

The length of service reminds me of eating in French restaurants. It is a slow, leisurely meal. We did not mind as we were there to enjoy the evening. But, if you wanted to also catch a movie afterwards, it would not be the place to go.

It is a bit pricey, but I feel it is justified by the quality. We had leftover chicken we brought home and it was still very good re-heated the next day.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stylefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Going downhill fast!”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was once our favorite Clearwater restuarant, but our last visit was a real bummer. We both ordered lamb chops, which were listed on the menu as $24; the waitress even remarked how that is her favorite menu item. When they arrived, we found far fewer than used to be included in an order and they were not as tasty. They also were cut badly, some of them quite thin and puny. When the bill arrived, we were charged $29 for each order, not $24. I complained to the waitress apologized for failing to have told us thaat the price had gone up, but they hadn't had a chance to change the price on the menu. She did not offer to give us the lower price, which she should have since that was the price on the menu and she never told us otherwise. She also did not offer a free dessert, which is customary in most GOOD restaurants when they screw something up. The owner was not there, although it was a Saturday night, when the owner has always been there in the past, making sure to stop at each table to greet customers personally. This place, once a favorite, is now off our list for good. There are just to many GOOD restaurants in the area now to bother with Greek Town Grille.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Greek in the bay”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Had an amazing meal, but something was off. My meal from corse to corse was terrific, from the spread to the main dish. The atmosphere was relaxing and quite elegant for the location. So the only problem I had was the service. Daniel our server was flustered right from the start, wasn't very busy he had only one other table. He took our order and that was it. The sa's brought our food and another server walked by (Alicia) and saw our drinks had been empty and promptly refilled our drinks. Working in the industry I still tipped more then enough and also tipped Alicia for providing more service then our server daniel. Otherwise a great atmosphere and great food defiantly will return but will ask for a diff server.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wccd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Good Greek Food without having to go all the way to Tarpon Springs. OPA!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Good Greek food without having to go all the way up to Tarpon Springs. Appetizer spreads were good but not plentiful. The Broiled octopus was superb. The appetizer Saganaki is a cheese that is flambayed at the table. It is salty, greasy and expensive. The best part of ordering it is the "show" you get when the waitstaff person lights it on fire and yells out "Opa!". I'm Greek and I don't like it. For the month of August (2nd aniversary of their existence) entrees were advertised on the radio as being half price. When we went to the restaurant we were disappointed to see that only a select number of entrees were half price. Greek salads were good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GreekTown Grille also viewed

 

Been to GreekTown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing