We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Forney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is located right next to Columbia Restaurant which I also recommend trying. The pool can be a bit crowded as there is no direct beach access. The staff were very helpful and even brought out extra umbrellas to lounge chairs where there were none upon request. The hotel does have a free shuttle that will take you to a public beach just up the road. There are watersports activities available for a fee directly at the hotel. Our room overlooked the pool from the balcony, I would request a room on the north side and you would have more of a view of teh bay. Overall, this is a nice hotel with plenty to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfwild83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    646
    229
    100
    55
See reviews for
826
484
24
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The real difference maker for me at this hotel is the staff. We've stayed here twice and both times we've had great experiences with everyone we've met. It began at the front desk check-in and carried through the restaurant, the poolside bar, the housekeeping staff -- everyone was fantastic.

The hotel itself is nice. It's not quite South Beach but it's a lot better than Panama Beach. It's a good dependable location with a great team of people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacorulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is the first time we stayed at this hotel and it certainly won't he the last. All staff we encountered were excellent. They also hold weekly receptions for Marriott rewards customers which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHR939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, IN
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel is not on the gulf side, however, you should know this already when booking the hotel. All rooms have an amazing view of the harbor side from your private balcony. The entrance to the rooms is an exterior entrance, which you can in fact see the gulf! The staff was amazing, everyone so friendly and eager to help w/ any request. We had one issue, our mini fridge wouldn't cool. They had someone up to our room w/in 5minutes w/ a new fridge AND comp'd us FREE internet in our room for our "trouble". They offer FREE wifi in all public areas but charge from the room. The rooms are nicely appointed, mini fridge, microwave, coffee makers, hair dryers and this is an all suite property. The updates were nice and no complaints. They offer a free shuttle to the Sand Key Beach, which FYI- you can access fairly quickly across the street through a small path between the Sheraton and condos. We found this easier and faster. There is a restaurant on site, which is pricey. They offer a Starbucks on site also. The bar/grill at the pool we found to be VERY pricey and you are not allowed to carry in food or drinks. However, the pool area is nice w/ cabanas available for rent & a hot tub available. Plenty of seating and umbrellas. The boardwalk behind the pool does take you to a nice area w/ a few places to eat and shops. The Valet parking is inexpensive but we just used the free parking. There is a business center on the second floor. The fitness center appeared nice but we did not utilize the facility. They have daily events for children and offer staff babysitting for a fee (we didn't utilize this service either). The spa services available are directly onsite and the fees seemed reasonable. We enjoyed our stay here so much we will be back in September. This is a clean hotel and quieter. If you are wanting a bunch of "Clearwater Beach" action, this isn't the place to stay. We were wanting a quiet area and this was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msditty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Even though this 5-Star Hotel is not on the Gulf (but on the ICW) don't let that bother you. The Intracoastal Waterway view is fantastic. The Gulf is a short walk across Gulf Blvd so the distance is quite short.

The Hotel has all the amenities one could hope for. The staff from top to bottom are excellent and very customer focused.

Book your room early because this is a VERY popular hotel. If you are traveling with little ones there is a Baby Rental place that will deliver your equipment for FREE. I believe they also do Beach Rentals as well. Anyway, the Hotel has just about everything you need to make your stay comfy.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get rooms above the 3rd floor for best views of the water
See more room tips
Green Features: The entire staff makes sure you have the best available items to make your stay comfortable.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I read other reviews before booking this hotel and now am surprised by the higher ones. I travel quite often and stay almost exclusively with Marriott, last year I stayed 347 nights and have been a Platinum for years. I'm just pointing that out because maybe some might think I am being overly critical but if you look at my other reviews I am hardly what I would call a tough customer. Other reviews were right about the staff at this hotel, they are EXCELLENT and that is about where it stops and problems begin. I'll start with a few positives, the valet parking is inexpensive, 10 dollars and the guys are efficient and helpful, no complaints there and regular parking is FREE. The front desk staff was great and check-in was easy and I was using Marriott Points. I went to the room and we dropped our stuff and I began to look around. This is a CATEGORY 8 property meaning you pay 40K points a night to stay here and was one of the determining factors for me. I figured that if it was a Category 8 it had to be very nice. It takes a lot of nights to get 40K points so I don't like to feel gypped when I use them. This property should be a 5 or 6 and I know Marriott upped all their properties for no reason I can see other than wanting to save money at the expense of their business travelers. We were in room 826, the room was small, the entrance is more like a MOTEL than a hotel, you enter the room from outside. The bathroom was so small you could barely be comfortable in there by yourself, the shower curtain was about a foot too short, the water pressure was terrible once you threw the diverter to the shower. Paint on doors looked bad, granite countertops were added to old worn out tables in an attempt to "upgrade" them. Carpet was old and worn, the cheap closet door was falling apart. I'm not trying to be rude but it had the feel of a Holiday Inn with bathrobes in the closet. If Marriott wants to call this a Category 8 it needs a FULL remodel.
The electric wiring looked dangerous behind the desk, a very old electrical console sat on the desk to plug into, I hadn't seen one of those in years. No open electrical outlets near the beds made it inconvenient. The TV in the bedroom suddenly stopped working on check-out day, no folio was left under the door making check-out longer. There was construction going on in the lobby the entire stay which didn't help the situation and this room was going for $300.00 a night. If I had been paying cash I would have left at that point, this hotel is not worth close to that rate.
The pool area is nice but the pool is undersized for the size of the property. The pool was packed.
We sat down by the water at the bar to get some food and after being seated and not getting so much as a glass of water in 15 minutes we left and went down the board walk to a restaurant where we got good food and good service. We did return to the bar later and had a good time, the bartender Stan was very good and friendly. The room service food was marginal at best, my friend took one bite of his sandwich and left it, for two fish sandwiches and two slices of pie was over 60 dollars. View from the room was nice but there is really no beach but an area for jet skiing and other water sports.
I have been to other Marriott Suites and Resorts and this place is neither. I can't even really compare it to an Embassy Suites because those are far nicer. When I was checking out an older couple was complaining about their bathroom, specifically the tub needing re-finishing or replacing and commented about the carpet being dirty and the "age" of the property. Lastly, they give you coupons for a free continental breakfast in lieu of a Marriott Honors Lounge. This seems cheap to me and then they offer to let you pay $5.00 for a breakfast buffet upgrade. The assistant manager, Jessica tried to make things as right as they could be and she did help a lot, the problem is that this property is old and worn and nowhere near what Marriott should demand from their owners. Needless to say, I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Go to another chain. There were many better looking properties when I went looking, Sheraton across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Larry W,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay.

I would like to follow on Jessica's apologies as we are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped for. We appreciate all the comments and we are planning a full room renovation starting in 2015.

Once again please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was here on business and really enjoyed the location and hotel. It's not on the beach but on the bay. Staff were very friendly and professional. I didn't eat in the restaurant but the banquet food was very good. Pool lounge is where everyone ends up as it is relaxed and poolside.

Rooms were very clean. Note - the hotel is older so sinks and tubs are a bit worn, but clean.

It is a bit of a ways from Clearwater Beach itself, but to me that's a positive. Not so noisy. Beautiful views too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athassrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#15 of 98 in Clearwater
2,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing