We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely end to our Florida holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely end to our Florida holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

After spending 10 nights in Orlando, my boyfriend and I had 4 nights to relax and recover at the Marriott Suites in Clearwater. It was a little tricky to find after coming of the bridge, but after driving in a couple of circles we found it! Even though we didnt check in til 7pm, we still had the kingsize bed and high floor we had requested which although slightly basic, the views were lovely, and you can even watch dolphins swimming in the waters if you're lucky. It was also nice to have a suite with the extra space . We didn't eat at Watercolours, the hotel restaurant, as it seemed rather pricey, but if you take a short walk next door to the Columbia Restaurant you'll find far more choice, a lovely table by the water, and excellent prices. Being English we like having a bit of a wander, so don't be put off by the hotels location. It's only a 35/40 minute walk across the bridge and up to pier 60! I think if we would return we would prefer to be a little closer to the action and be the other side of the bridge, however, it was still a lovely sized hotel, with a great swimming pool and not forgetting the extremely helpful staff. A great little getaway place!

  • Liked — The size of the rooms and the views
  • Disliked — The location for us was a little far away from Pier 60 and the restaurants etc at that end.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneXF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    609
    224
    96
    54
See reviews for
766
456
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

We had three days at this hotel, and I wish it had been a week at least. The staff is just wonderful. Every single person gave not only good customer service, but outstanding customer service. We had a similar issue with our door lock malfunctioning that a previous reviewer mentioned - it was a very minor hassle. The hotel lobby is very nice, the restaurants are pricey but good. Jasmine in Watercolours was incredibly nice to our daughter, who was not feeling well. One of the maintenance men fished the seashells we picked up out of the laundry room for us - wish I could remember his name so I could compliment the manager on him as well. The front desk was terrific - everyone was just great. The rooms are on the average side, but the view is wonderful and the beds are very good. The concierge recommended a restaurant called Guppy's down the beach a bit - we tried it and the food was terrific with very attentive service.

The hotel does not have a beach, but there is a transport to the beach nearby every few minutes which took all of five minutes. There is a phone to call the hotel for pickup. The beach was not crowded - very white sand, but LOTS of shells - wear shoes! We liked this beach, but we liked Clearwater Beach even better. The Pier 60 area was great for the entire family - the sand is white and soft, water is clear and green, play areas for the children, bathrooms, nearby restaurants, artists, etc. The sand is much less shelly at this beach and everything was very clean. In addition, the locals are very friendly and laid-back. Quite a contrast with, say Fort Lauderdale, where everyone behaves as if they'd rather not have your business because you are an inconvenience to them.

The hotel pool is nice. It does get crowded in the afternoon, but that's par for the course. The staff plays uncensored music, parents - so be aware: they played a couple of songs with some vulgar lyricss and curse words at the pool. Most of the children were to little to notice, but that is something that parents would want to be aware of.

There is a beautiful macaw named Lisa in the lobby. My daughter was completely thrilled by Lisa and visited her at every opportunity. All the children are given a souvenir stuffed animal of Lisa when they check in. We heard great things about Lisa's Klubhouse, the kid's activity club, but our daughter was too young to attend (ages 5+ only).

I loved this hotel. If you like excellent service, beautiful views, and good food, then you will enjoy it, too.

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — Rooms could be a little nicer
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AquamarineWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

My wife and I have just (today) returned from a 5 day stay at the Marriott Suites - our holiday was a flawless experience and was highlighted by the professionalism, cheefulness and overall helpfulness of the hotel staff - this was true Marriott quality. Our 10th floor suite was in superb condition and was cleaned/maintained to a very high standard. The pool area became very busy over the week-end period but there were always loungers available - even more so on Monday and Tuesday. The pool-side bar offers good quality and reasonably priced drinks and snacks. Breakfasts are varied and plentiful and the main restaurant offers a wide choice of evening meals - some giving smaller portions (at reduced cost) to cater for the smaller apetites of UK visitors. We would not hesitate to return to the hotel in the future and we warm;y recommend it to visitors from the UK.
Adrian and Helen

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms/public areas + friendliness of staff.
  • Disliked — Public areas (especially restaurant) too cold - uncomfortably so on occasions but staff responded quickly to our request to alter the air conditioning.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Edenfieldskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Arrived at hotel on 4th July very tired after ten days in orlando at parks so looking forward to a beach holiday.First impressions great,the staff were lovely and gave us a guided tour of hotel.Then they brought us to our room.I was nervous about the damp rooms issue cos I had read reviews before we went and we were'nt disappointed, our room smelled so damp and musty the minute the door was opened.After one day in hotel our clothes were so damp that I had to put them out on balcony to dryAlso the pool is not big enough for the amount of guests at hotel and there arent enough sunbeds(sardines in a tin spring to mind).We found the restaurant v good though but portions are massive.Colombia Restaurant excellent on the boardwalk also Maggie Mays for breakfast
We would def go back to clearwater ,the beach and sea fab, but would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — rooms and pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishlasswex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

I just got back from getting married on Sand Key Beach and staying at the Marriott on Sand Key. The only complaint I had, my key had to be reset just about every time we left our room. This was an annoyance but this was rectified every time. I have to say Lisa at the front desk was amazing.

I would go back and will be going back to stay with them again. The pool was great, the food was good and the service was awesome.

  • Liked — Way too much to tell about
  • Disliked — The internet in the business center
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmshelton1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Just back (07/26) from the Marriott on Clearwater we stayed for 7 nights from Saturday 19 to Saturday 26 - 2 Adults, 2 Kids (11 & 8)

The hotel decided to use that week as a maintenance week so each morning from Monday to Friday we were woken between 7am and 8am with the noise from tree trimming, power washing and carpenters drills. Despite being told on the Monday that it would only happen that morning. We talked to the management including the General Manager and got absolutely no comfort, they did apologise but told us there was nothing they could do as it was maintenance. Didn't help at all - given it was supposed to be a relaxing week. SO BEFORE YOU GO CHECK THAT THERE IS NO MAINTENANCE SCHEDULED. We were offered a meal at their restaurant but having already eaten there we declined (doesn't make up for lack of sleep) and they didn't knock the price of the meal off the bill anyway.

The rooms are good sized with a sofa bed in the living area and 2 double beds in the bedroom - watch out for roaches had to evict one from our bathroom. We got a free upgrade which basically gives you a higher floor and free water. If you dont get the free water watch out as it's $6 a bottle. Given that the water can be purchased in the local supermarket for less than 50c a bottle it's not great a perk.

The pool is a good size but again because of the tree trimming had plenty of bits of bark floating in it. You can rent cabannas they were $95 aty the weekend and $75 weekdays while we stayed. You get the towels for the pool at the Tiki hut which saves having to bring your own.

The pool bar has a good selection of food but there are cheaper options just up the boardwalk at Maggie Mae's sunrise cafe (great for Breakfat or BLUNCH) or Little Ittalian pizza.
There is a free shuttle to the Sands Park beach and the driver is very nice offering free water and carries kiddies toys such as buckets and spades which is good for the traveller. The beach is quite "shelly" and there are better beaches with soft white sand up at clearwater.

Plenty of places to eat within 30 minute drive, if you go south towards Indian Rocks or Bellair Beach we would recommend TJs Italian Cafe or Villa Galace for Italian (2 price brackets). PJS Bar and Grill was a tasty inexpensive place with lovely seafood. Back up at Clearwater Frenchy's Rockaway Grille has beautiful views of the sunset and is quite lively with reasonable food prices (There are 3 Frenchy's in the area so if you want the sunset make surre it's at Rockaway).

This could have been a good place to stay but was ruined by the noise during the week and the managements attitude to our concerns.

  • Liked — Pool was good.
  • Disliked — Very noisy for the week and poor response from hotel management.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aocireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

Before I stay in any hotel I try to read as much as I possibly can about the property, price, hotel staff, location, and view pictures taken by Guest. Although this particular property had a few unpleasant reviews, the majority was good, so my husband and I decided we would try it.
The Hotel was wonderful and so was all of the Staff. We did not encounter one unpleasant staff, and in today's employment climate that is definitely a PLUS.
Check in was expeditious and because I am a Marriott Rewards Member and requested a room with a view, I was upgraded to the 10th. floor with a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean. As soon as we entered our room we found the ice chest full of ice and "FREE" bottled water, which was most welcomed.
The pool area was quite busy, but very nice.
We dined at the Watercolour Lounge and the meal was PERFECT.
If we ever return to Clearwater, we will definitely stay at this hotel, because we were 100% satisfied, especially with every room being a roomy Suite.

  • Liked — ALL ROOMS WERE SUITES
  • Disliked — BATHROOM WAS QUITE SMALL
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lans98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing