We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights for a weekend family get-a-way. First the positives:
Excellent service oriented staff.
Clean, well kept facilities and pool.
Excellent breakfast buffet (balloon and face paint artist made it a fun experience).
Great bay & ocean view from room.
Convenient access to beach via shuttle - would not want to walk with kids and gear.

Cons:
Room is on the small side.
Sleeper sofa was in bad shape (Matt and frame problems) - fortunately the kids didn't seem to mind.

Overall very nice (as expected) Marriott experience.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank BusDriverJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
There are newer reviews for Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

After hellish air travel problems, we drove into a gorgeous sunset over the water and arrived at the hotel. The hotel was beautiful, people were incredibly helpful and pleasant. Dinner at the Watercolour was delicious. The pool was open until 10 and the kids had it all to themselves at 8pm with a waterfall! The rooms were quiet, spacious, clean, gorgeous views and pullout couches in the sitting room. We were given a complimentary breakfast buffet after hearing about our awful travel experience which was so so kind. We booked as a package with Busch Gardens and it still was able to count for Marriott points. Only request would be to fix the sliding doors to the bathrooms as they sometimes stick in their track and you get sort of stuck in the bathroom. We parked in the self park lot for free. Great experience! Great value! Very happy with our experience. The service and people made it all the more special.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Alastar C,

Thank you for such great feedback, it is sincerely appreciated.

All your comments are sincrely appreciated and we will be installing new sliding doors in all rooms this year as they sometimes are a little heavy. I am very pleased that we were able to make you forget your travel problems and you were able to relax at our hotel.

I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after our flight was canceled (thank you, flight insurance!), and it was fantastic. The building is a little older, but I would say well maintained and updated. The views anywhere on this coastline will wow you, and this one does too, even if it is on the bay side.
While the hotel feels 'fancy' it also was very welcoming to young children. My kids played in the pool and had a great time. On the down side,the wait staff at the poolside bar is very slack, it took forever to get a menu, let alone served.
As my title says, the breakfast buffet is super good: it included smoked salmon and croissants, as well as a great berry and yogurt selection, in addition to more traditional hot breakfast items. Great staff at the restaurant too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Judy A,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

We appreciate all your comments, positive and constructive alike. We strive to make every guest's stay an enjoyable one and it seems that with small exception at the pool we have done our job.

We appreciate you staying with us and hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spent 5nights at the hotel at beginning of Feb. unfortunately we had poor weather, mist came in and stayed all day. Hotel is great.restaurant is very good but on the pricy side. 2 other restaurants within walking distance and a great cafe for breakfasts.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotrod919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Hotrod919,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you choosing our Marriott for your stay here on Clearwater Beach and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time.

We sincerely hope we get to welcome you back again soon and hopefully with a little nicer weather.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My first visit to Clearwater Beach and sort of a mini vaca for the wife. To bad weather didn't cooperate, we really didn't have a chance to investigate the surroundings and beach, looked like it could be loads of fun in sunny warm conditions. The interior public areas seemed to have had a recent upgrade and were fresh and had a very modern look to them.
The exterior and rooms definitely are in need. This appears to be an older building and there are definite signs of wear while some mold was beginning to show inside the two rooms we had. The first had a wet carpet from a clogged toilet. We weren't advised of this and they actually gave us this room for the 1st nite. After the toilet almost overflowed the next morning we realized why the carpet was wet, called the front desk and a handyman came to investigate and asked if we would mind moving as the carpet would need drying. Not very happy about being given this room in the first place but there was also mold on the curtains and in the bathroom. We moved to the other end of the 8th floor and although a splendid view, as I would imagine from all rooms, it was of similar condition.
The front desk was for the most part cordial and our welcome warm. If you needed anything once in your room though you had to wait until the desk person was able to get to the phone as there didn't appear to be an operator and they were on occasion a bit curt in our view.
The dining was superb. We had two breakfasts and two dinners in the Watercolor restaurant. Mike, Diana and Rick were all friendly, efficient and professional. Rick busted his tail from the bar and could have used an extra set or two of arms. There was a wide variety to choose from both at breakfast as well as on the dinner menu and all was very good. We dined with a lady one evening who came there once a week for a steak, said to be the best on the island.
I really would like to go back to this particular location but I'll wait for the facelift on the rooms and next time definitely when it's warmer or at the very least....sunny!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have not only a bay view but a Gulf view beings as they are suites but the highe...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Crkt,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I apologize about the condition of the rooms and I would appreciate if you could let me know directly which rooms you were assigned, so I can investigate further on my end. Thank you for the positive comments about our staff in the restaurant.

Once again thank you for the review and we hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our first trip to the Clearwater area. The general vicinity does seem a little "older" both in the hotels and the average age of the residents there, but it is Florida. I could see why folks love to retire to the area as it really is quite pretty.

This Marriott is not on the gulf side nor does it have a beach. However, it is on a bay and you do get some nice bay views. The rooms are a little older and my bed squeeked every single time I turned over so that got annoying. I also don't understand why hotels still aren't providing good pillows. Those little flat pillows do nothing for support and you spend the night trying to get some level of support & comfort. We didn't pay full price as we were on a group discount and honestly, I'm not sure how they would get full price based on the rooms being dated. I will say that having the suite style room was nice if you have a family sharing the room.

Anyway, aside from those items, the hotel seemed to be better maintained in the common areas and it was clean. They have a really nice pool area with a pool side bar. It was a little chilly for me to go in the pool but it was warm and kids were in there without being bothered. I will also note that the woman who was on waitress duty severely lacked customer service skills. She was sort of rude, looked miserable and wasn't very attentive. I actually had to go up to the bar and get my own drink after we asked for drink menu's after she never returned. She was at the bar eating her lunch. I will say that the rest of the staff were more than accommodating, friendly and welcoming!

There is a small strip mall directly next to the hotel which offered a few shops (mostly touristy type) and a few restaurants which gives enough selection if you're only there for a few days. Other than that, there's not much around and you'd have to drive or take the trolley up to the main area.

We were only there for 4 days but it was just enough for a nice getaway but again, not at full price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staishnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Staishnjoe,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

We appreciate all your observations and comments. I would really like to get some more information regarding your encounter with one of our associates at the pool. We take great pride in the service we provide and it seems there is additional training needed for some. I would appreciate if you could contact me at the below email address at your convenience.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights during Thanksgiving holidays. The weather was terrible. Cold and extremely windy. Too cold to walk on the beach. We did however have a wonderful time. We huddled by the tiki bar where it was fun to watch the daredevil kids jumping and swimming in the fabulous pool and waterfall. The drinks were terrific. We actually loved our room on the 7th floor. It was very clean and comfortable with extremely comfy king bed and of course wonderful view over the bay although we did not see any dolphins or sea lions. I think it was too cold! The small kitchen and sitting area was wonderful since my husband is an early riser and could have coffee and watch tv while I slept in. The best part of the trip was our visit every night to the bar where Rick knew our drinks, where exactly we lived, told funny jokes and kept us interested and entertained. Savannah, the restaurant manager was also terrific. I mentioned one night at the bar that I was craving a pizza. The next thing I knew she returned with a small, delicious pizza for me. It was above and beyond for service. We will definitely return and hope all the wonderful staff will be there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Springem,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

We appreciate all the positive comments and thank you for mentioning some of our associates. We take great pride in the service we provide and I am glad that our staff made your stay a memorable one even though the weather was poor.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#20 of 98 in Clearwater
4,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $237 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing