We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated Hotel - Smelly Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dated Hotel - Smelly Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We rented two rooms in December just before Christmas. Our rooms were outdated, had several maintenance issues, and were moldy smelling. The light bulbs needed to be replaced, the refrigerator did not work, there were not any plug-in's by the bed for medical equipment, and the faucets dripped. The rooms both just smelled musty and old.

The common areas were well maintained a beautiful. You get a view of the bay from your room balcony and a beautiful view of the ocean from just outside your room door if you are on a top floor, as a Platinum Elite member who stays in a lot of Marriott properties, I was really disappointed in this one.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room on the south end. The view is much better of the common areas and all the...
See more room tips
Green Features: They should fix the dripping faucets to save water.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Tamara F,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would wish.

Your feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand. We have taken your comments to heart and will work on improving our product so it can serve you better.

Once again, my sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay thoroughly.


At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    617
    224
    98
    55
See reviews for
781
459
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, with an excellent staff and fantastic service. Its an older property so there are some small issues like older style bathrooms/plumbing and small balconies, however the maintenance is great and they stay on top of everything and it shows. Just a bit smaller than a newer property might offer. I would say the room cost is well proportioned to the luxury they offer, which again is not a JW, but for a beach hotel in Clearwater is well worth it.

The suite over-all is a decent size with great closet and storage for longer family stays. It is also clear that they have invested a lot where they can to update. I also want to give a shout out to Onur. He booked our trip and arranged two connecting rooms with a wonderful view. It was everything he said it would be.

The lobby, pool, restaurant, and general facilities are all very nice and have been recently renovated. The rooms, while still older in footprint have been up dated with nice amenities and great beds, linens, towels and TV's. The pool is heated and well planned out and they are watchful for those pesky chair hoarders. You know the folks that leave a towel on 6 chairs at 8am just in case they want to sit by the pool. They are by no means fanatics, but they keep an eye out for the benefit of us all. The breakfast is FANTASTIC. It is a traditional Marriott Stuffett!

We also had dinner at Watercolors. It was great. Perhaps a little pricey given the lack of steakhouse ambiance however the food is top notch and the deserts were insane all supported by good service. I think for the price they need to train their team just a bit better on how to explain/sell the dishes which will make up for some ambiance, although this is a standard issue for Hotel steakhouses. On a side note, the lighter side menu is only light in the price as the portions were larger than many regular priced menus. My wife had the Scallops and salad ($20) and my son had a burger...roughly the size of his head For $9. it was too good to believe...and balanced out my steak and salad cost.

The location is very good. we prefer a hotel near everything but not in the middle of everything and this was just that. There is a great little boardwalk connected to the hotel and the strip mall next door, which houses several good food choices and a few nice shops to buy some beach wear or other. It also has a Jetski rental which was really great as well.

It would be nice to be right on the beach, however the bay has benefits and the hotel is just across the beach so all in all it is a great location and a great hotel worthy of the Marriott moniker!

Room Tip: Every room is the same layout with roughly similar views so short of floor choice you will be happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mhunkster,

Thank you for your thorough review, we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review our hotel.

I understand there are many choices of hotels here on the beach and we appreciate you choosing our hotel. I sincerely hope we get to welcome you back again soon.


At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is our favorite place to stay in Clearwater. Note, it is not directly on the beach. We like that it is a bit away from the center of Clearwater Beach, but it is a quick couple of minutes drive into the main drag. Parking is free at the hotel. The pool is great. The rooms all have views of the intracoastal waterway. When the pool bar is busy, it is a great place to hang out. You can rent jet skis right on the resort. There's great walking and the Gulf is just across the street. The rooms are suites, meaning there is a living area with fridge, microwave, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear JenniferKevin,

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage to our hotel and thank you for returning back to us. It is always an absolute pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I've spent several nights at this property over the last few years. The staff are so friendly and able to assist with anything you need. The restaurant has the most delicious cinnamon buns in the morning and the staff made them fresh once they knew how much I enjoyed them. At breakfast, there is a variety of fruit and the restaurant has been recently renovated.
The rooms have a great set up with 2 tv's and 2 rooms. The beds are comfortable and I love having a bar fridge and microwave in the room. The shower in our room didn't seem to have much water pressure and the fixture needs replacing. The view from the balcony is beautiful.
We walked the beach across the road every day..it's perfect. The loungers by the pool are comfortable and the food from the tiki bar is tasty.
Last year there was champagne at check in and cookies and milk on the room mid afternoon. Although, I didn't see that during this trip, I will definitely return..it's a great spot and the staff are amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Cocodp,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. We sincerely hope we get to welcome you back to our Marriott Suites again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I spent five days at this hotel (attending a conference), and it was a wonderful place to spend time in December. The hotel is well designed and well maintained. It has a great restaurant. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Each room has a wonderful view and a small balcony from which to enjoy them. The beach on the Gulf side is a short walk away, but the hotel has a wonderful pool area of you'd rather spend your time in and near the water this way.

I definitely return to this facility if in the area again.

Room Tip: Always pick a room away from the elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Drfumblefinger,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we all hope we get to welcome you back again soon.


At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed three nights due to a business conference but was so impressed that I hope to return for personal visit. Friendly staff. Great location. A short walk to the beach. Beautiful view from the balcony. I'd ask for as high up as possible to minimize the noise coming up from pool bar area though.

Room Tip: Located in the mini strip mall next to hotel are several fun shops. There is a small mom and pop ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Akamum,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I am happy you enjoyed your time with us and sincerely hope that we get to welcome you back for some personal time soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Customer service at this property is outstanding. Everyone from front desk to housekeeping was helpful and fun. A special shout out to Jay and Stan at the pool bar and our housekeeper Rouena, who met us each morning with a smile and wish for a wonderful day. Our 6th floor room had views of both the sunrise and sunset.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank love2travel42581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Love2travel42581,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am happy you enjoyed your stay at our property.

I sincerely appreciate your nice comments about some of our associates. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us and we all hope to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#25 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing