We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Post holiday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Post holiday stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Customer service at this property is outstanding. Everyone from front desk to housekeeping was helpful and fun. A special shout out to Jay and Stan at the pool bar and our housekeeper Rouena, who met us each morning with a smile and wish for a wonderful day. Our 6th floor room had views of both the sunrise and sunset.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank love2travel42581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Love2travel42581,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am happy you enjoyed your stay at our property.

I sincerely appreciate your nice comments about some of our associates. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us and we all hope to welcome you back again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    618
    224
    98
    55
See reviews for
782
460
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had our 6th very enjoyable stay at the Marriott Suites in November. Our suite was on the 10th floor away from the pool, so very quiet. We ate a number of times at Kokomos Tiki Bar, where the food was very good, the service excellent and staff recognised us from previous visits.

The only thing that we were not that happy about (and prevented us giving an excellent rating) was a huge convention that completely overtook the pool area one day/evening. All the sun loungers were crammed into one end of the pool deck, while staff spent the day setting up for the evening event. Hotel guests were not even allowed to use the back entrance of the hotel that night!

We would happily stay here again when we are next in Florida and would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one not overlooking the hotel pool and away from the air con unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller from UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Traveller from UK,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay and for your continued loyalty to our property.

We appreciate all the positive comments and I am sorry about the inconvenience of the evening when the convention took over the pool area. We will work on improving this process to ensure we do not inconvenience our other guests.

Once again thank you for the review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again hopefully soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location; It is away from the busiest traffic areas, but boasts both pool and shoreline. The main Clearwater Beach is a 5 minute drive and if you prefer not to drive, there is a convenient trolley stop at the hotel. Rooms are suites, so there is a separate living room area with TV and wet bar, minibar, etc. We had a slight issue with the A/C which was repaired within 15 minutes. The rooms are a bit dated, but comfortable and very clean. Good water pressure in the shower.
The front desk and management staff were great. Jan and Jessica were always on hand when we returned to the hotel after a day of sightseeing, taking a few minutes to interact. A nice touch.
Despite a major renovation in the restaurant area, the waitstaff was wonderful. Mike, in particular, was knowledgeable, professional and personable. He took the time to guide us through the menu and make suggestions according to our likes/dislikes. The food was delicious.
The service at poolside was not up to the level of the rest of the hotel, but adequate for a leisurely holiday. With this as only a minor annoyance, we would definitely stay at the Marriott again on a future trip.

Room Tip: A higher floor gives a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdskolars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Rdskolars,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I am pleased that you were satisfied with your experience and thank you for your constructive comments as well. We welcome the opportunity to improve every day.

I hope we get to welcome you back again soon at Marriott Suites on Sand Key.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Well, we said we'd be back again, and we just got back AGAIN !!! This place is hard to get tired of. As usual our room was clean and comfortable and overlooking a beautiful pool. Lots of nice facelifts have gone on since the last time we were there. I wish they had wifi in the rooms, but not a biggie. We thoroughly enjoyed Rick in the hotel main bar. He is a master at what he does and first timers were amazed at how he worked that bar. We said we'd be back for him and we were. We were delighted to meet Tara, who is also great !! She learned how to make the "Rick signature Sangria" YOU GO GIRL !!! Her smile, friendliness and professionalism proves Marriott is on top of how to "welcome their customers". Paul gave us some suggestions on how to get places, and also very kind and professional. The staff at the front desk welcomed us back and the poolside bar area, as usual hopping and great wait staff out there. Well, we'll be back again sooner than one year. Keep up the great work, Rick and Tara, you guys ROCK, keep coming up with those magnificent drinks !! See you next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool....BEAUTIFUL !!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Vicki K,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I am pleased that you were satisfied with your experience and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon at Marriott Suites on Sand Key.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was the second time coming here to the hotel. My girlfriend and I came last year and had such a fantastic time here. The thing that brought us back was the bartender Rick. This year Tara was helping behind the bar. From check in, to housekeeping, to service at the pool and check out, everyone was fantastic. They were so helpful.
The hotel is getting a bit of a facelift right now and it looks great. I do have to say the rooms do need a tiny bit of sprucing up but they are very comfortable. With 2 nice size TVs everyone is happy. Our room was over the pool area. What a view, between the pool and the bay it was just beautiful. This is a hotel that I will continue to come back to more than once a year.
Out the back of the hotel there is a boardwalk that takes you to shops and restaurants. A truly wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: You can't beat a room over the pool for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peabodymomof3gurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Peabodymomof3gurls,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I am pleased that you were satisfied with your experience and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon at Marriott Suites on Sand Key.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

If you prefer a quiet chill out location instead of the buzz it's your hotel. It's about 5 mins drive from Clearwater public beach but has an own peacful shore as well. All the rooms have ocean view and the whole resort is beautiful. Staff is kind and helpful the only weekness is that they only have free wifi in the lobby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Orsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Orsi M,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I am pleased that you were satisfied with your experience and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon at Marriott Suites on Sand Key.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Marriotts around the world, and this is clearly a beach resort, rather than one of the more elaborate big city hotels. That means that whilst the rooms are large, with a separate lounge area, the decor is much simpler and less plush.
The location is next to the sound, with the beach a few minutes walk (or transfer) across the road. The beach is quieter than Clearwater Beach, but the sand is coarser. You are surrounded by other hotels or housing developments, so aside from a short strip of shops there isn't a great deal to do nearby.
Some earlier review comments to agree with. Yes, the walls are very thin and noise does travel. Yes, avoid any room that ends in 20 (eg 420, 520 etc) as the balconies are directly above the kitchen extractor fans and the smell of bacon, or their legendary steaks, is very strong.
A couple of gripes of our own. There was extensive repair work going on which meant the gym was out of action for a couple of days, and also impacted the main bar, restaurant and lobby for several days of the stay. We also had one morning when the pool bar music was on very loud from 8am (or possibly earlier!) which wasn't appreciated.
However, having said that the hotel does what it does well. A hotel, in the sun, nice pool, surrounded by great water views and some of the best staff that we have seen in a while. Top of the list by a long way was Tara the bartender, who was effortlessly friendly to everyone whilst multi-tasking managing a bar that was heaving with wedding guests - Marriott are very lucky to have her !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lordlucan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Lordlucan1,

Thank you for time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your thorough review and I apologize for some of the shortcomings that you have mentioned. Your comments have been passed on to our staff to ensure we improve our performance. Thank you for mentioning one of our associates who stood out during your stay, we are proud of the service we provide and Tara is a great ambassador of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we get to welcome you back at Marriott Suite on Sand Key again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing