We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Resort but no beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Resort but no beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I enjoyed staying here and I would go back. The one unfortunate thing is the fact there is no beach there although there is one a short drive away. Pool was pretty nice and the rooms are definitely big enough. I would say its more of a family place than anything. Definitely would need a rental car if you stayed in this area of Florida. oct06

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferenzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    572
    214
    89
    44
See reviews for
707
414
22
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I attend a conference every June on SandKey and usually stay at the Marriott for the entire weekend (except for last year - as I had been slightly disappointed in the past) - HOWEVER - this year I returned and I can tell that they have made big improvements and are quickly moving to the expected Marriott Resort standards. The biggest change - CUSTOMER SERVICE - there were smiles and prompt assistance from everyone I met along the way - and that does make a difference. Miel took care of us on our floor and she made sure we had everything we needed before we knew we needed it. Physically - The Lobby has been recedorated and looks modern and clean. The two-room Suites are big, clean and all have a beautiful view of Clearwater Harbor. The beds are comfortable, there is a mini-fridge and microwave and a big closet. The couch pulls out and a door can be closed to separate the 2 rooms. The pool is big and has plenty chairs. Fresh towels are available at the Tiki Hut and servers are available to quench your thirst every time your glass empties. There are rentals available for jet-ski, mini boats (great for parent and child), kayaks, and paddle boards. There is a Kids Center and I saw quite alot of children enjoying the cool comforts of crayons, tie-dying and other crafts while I was visiting. The Boardwalk behind the Hotel leads to many restaurants for every taste and budget, as well as shopping and picking up snacks! For the weekend - we park the car and don't get back in until we're ready to head home. **I had only one issue and I am sure it will be addressed after speaking to Carole, the Concierge - we rented a pool cabana on Saturday and I found it to be musty smelling and it had mildew on the tables and canvas walls. We were moved to another but it also smelled musty (but no mildew) - they need to be opened so they have time to air out and dry before use. Bottomline - I will go back and enjoy my weekend again next year (conference or not!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walking distance to the beach but also has a great shuttle service available . Perfect view from the room over the ocean. It has a nice bar and breakfast area which is right on the water.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great pool and relaxed atmosphere. The only downside was the lack of a concierge lounge. A beach buggy was available for trips to the beach at Sand Key State Park. Parasailing available with on site pickups. Nice views of the bay and gulf from our room. Appreciated the small fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2gadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The good: staff, restaurant, and common areas. Nice bed.
The bad: dated and worn room that smelled of cat pee?
The indifferent: the ocean is a bit of a hike for little kids or people who cannot walk 300 yards...or have a bunch of junk with them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pistolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Pistolfin,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am glad to see you enjoyed our restaurant, common areas, the bed, and our staff. Thank you for brining up your concerns about your room. We will take the appropriate steps to address these opportunities. For your next stay please try out our complimentary Beach Buggy service to transport your family and any items you may need to te beach and back. Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out a reveiw here. If I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Glenn McGinnis
Assistant General Manager
727-596-1100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm sure some readers are put off a bit by the exterior room entrances and the distance from the beach. But we had a very pleasant experience here and will definitely return. Staff is top notch.
We loved the separate living area & sofa bed, the waterfalls in the pool that provided good back therapy, golf cart ride to the beach, and wonderful view of the Gulf. There are a few odd things, like the door frame rod to step over when going out to the balcony, that that wasn't a big deal for us. Walks at Sand Key Park have lots of shade! There was a little issue with the sound on our television and the technician came to our room literally within 2 minutes of our call. Great service. We have stayed at the Sheraton as well but prefer the Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jshceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FLorida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel with its proximity to the beach, the delicious breakfast buffet (only $5 for kids), the pool area with games for the kids, balloon person and face painter on site--the rooms were spacious and we had a great view of the pool area and bay. Great service. We recommend this hotel if you can get a good rate on it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytraveler013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#8 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#10 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 2,168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2746
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing