We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Yes, the rooms are dated but the entire hotel is very clean and the staff is excellent. For us, the dated room was far offset by the views and the fact that we had a mini suite with a refrig and two flat screen TVs. The Steakhouse restaurant was excellent albeit a bit pricey. ($34 for a 14oz sirloin). This was expected. Poolside service was great with good food. The pool area itself was very nice with comfortable chairs and plenty of umbrellas.

The location was perfect for us. Away from the noise of Clearwater beach but still a few things within walking distance. If you do not want to get a car, there is a trolley that will bring you over the one mile bridge to CW beach. This trolley runs twice an hour until 10.

We would stay again!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank pjc1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
There are newer reviews for Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I stated here for two nights while spending time with several family members for a mini reunion. The staff was very friendly and sent us freshly baked cookies during the first night of our stay. The room offered a picturesque view of the beach from the bedroom window. Unfortunately, it was risibly and cold so it wasn't as appealing to enjoy the beach on the outside. My father and I did not have any issues with the room that we shared, however, other family members that stayed in two other rooms had complaints of ants in one and mildew in the other. The location is right on the beach and close to many restaurants. Ihop is about 5 minutes away. We ventured out to a local mall that was about 20 minutes drive. The hotel is decent but it definitely would be pricey if it were not for our family sharing the expenses. I would find a hotel with a lower rate if I were traveling alone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RollTide95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed over a long weekend, with 3 rooms for family. While somewhat pricey, the amenities surely made up for it. Rooms were comfortable and clean, and the staff was outstanding. They went out of their way repeatedly to make our stay enjoyable in spite of a full house during the weekend. Watercolours restaurant is the top rated steak house in tampa/clearwater area and lived up to its billing. Nostalgia with the boardwalk outside along the gulf connected to various shops and other eating establishments that I reviewed other places. The pool area with the waterfall and bar was outstanding, as was the pool food that you could readily order..

Room Tip: upper floors seem to be better..
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgold40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here in February with our two kids. Last minute booking. The location was not as ideal as I was expecting. The plus to that is there is a trolly and we rented a car. The lobby is beautiful, and Bob bellman brought us to our room was GREAT, LOVE HIM. The hotel was not located directly on the beach, because of its location we never went to the beach. The pool and surroundings are very nice. Water was very warm and clean. The staff and the service provided near the pool was excellent. The pool food was average. Although the previous reviewed indicated this, we decided to take the chance and stay anyway, and were really dissappointed with the condition of the rooms. The bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom updated, but the rest of the place was not soo good. I kept yelling at the kids to get off the floor because the rug was soo gross. Rooms need new rugs and updated furniture. The hotel restaurant was average for quality of food. DONT order the King Crab, its not King crab, its Snow Crab and incorrectly priced for Snow Crab. Stick to the Steak, which they recommend anyway. Go to Columbia next door and order the Grouper Jimmy and Sangria. Have Breakfast at Maggie Mays and Dunkin Donuts. The kids get a little bored and the Kids Club was being renovated so we did not have full access to this, so they stayed in the pool the entire time. Overall the stay was fine, we will probably head back to our regular vacation spot, Marriott Marco Island, this place needs some overall on the rooms, mildew smell in the morning, but clean.

Room Tip: All Rooms are exposed outside.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mulrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, General Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Mulrain,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.
I appreciate you highlighting Bob, our bellman for his services and the rest of our fantastic staff!
And yes, a couple of months a year during the Winter we keep the pool heated at 86 degrees to provide extra comfort for our guests. In regards to your comments about the carpet; we have a rather detailed monthly carpet plan in place that addresses the condition of each piece of carpet in our hotel. Our apologies for not experiencing that during your stay. We have made some improvements to our Kid's Clubhouse during the off season to be ready for our season. As a five time recipient of "Tampa Bay's Best Steakhouse" we are proud of our steaks that we serve and please know that I checked with our Chef to ensure that we serve King crab. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely,

P. Eversdijk GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night in January 2013 and I wish it had been more. We have stayed there before and could not wait to go back. Yes it is a little dated but wonderful. The staff could not have been nicer, very well informed on the area and helpful. It is an outside entry to the rooms but the view is great (ask for a higher floor). The pool area is beautiful and the pool is warm in the winter! The bartenders are friendly and attentive. The restaurant and outside pool restaurant food is good and the atmospher in the restaurant is warm and romantic. It is not located on a beach but it is on the water. It is close to area beaches and attractions. The beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean and spacious and remember you go to sleep and wake up to an amazing view. This is a great place to stay and we can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a corner suite on a higher floor. The view is amazing and suites are a nice siz...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 136lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

First and foremost, you need to know that certain aspects of this hotel are dated. Yes, it's an older property. Yes, it has outside entry to its rooms. Yes, the rooms themselves are older (with upgraded amenities). No, it may not be exactly what you expect from other Marriott properties in its class. No, its not right on the beach. HOWEVER, I think everyone that works at the hotel knows this. I think it motivates them. Its like the old Avis commercials ("We Try Harder"). Their service far outperforms other Marriott properties in its class. Their service is the same service as you find at the Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons down to the fact that the employees stop, smile, and say hello when you walk by. I can't say enough about the service from top to bottom. I did not choose this hotel (conference). I am not sure that I would choose this hotel again. But if I do, it's because of the service. I really think this staff can be used in a case study of how to make your hotel a success when you don't have certain built-in capital advantages. Even with the lack of certain things one might expect, this hotel shines because of its customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bizmarkky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times on business. The views are nice, access easy, and the staff are always fantastic and cordial. Looking out over tiny island is the stuff of dreams. Sleeping rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pensacola18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#20 of 98 in Clearwater
4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $237 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing