We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family has stayed here on more than one occassion over several years and had a good experience each time. Our most recent stay leading up to and over the Christmas period was equally as good. It is this consistency that causes us to return, it is difficult to find hotels with this level of accomodation, fast check-in, comfortable beds, bay views, great food and value, coupled with friendly and helpful staff. This property may not be the most modern in the area, but is clean and well maintained with nice touches of "Art Deco" elements in the lobby. The one thing that is "old fashioned" is the attention to customer service which is outstanding and refreshing, the staff appearing to almost anticipate you need before you even know it yourself. No problems were encountered, there is no doubt that we will return to this hotel for future vacations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaguar08_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    586
    217
    95
    49
See reviews for
734
432
22
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here from 12/31 - 1/3 and while the rooms could definitely use some updating, what really makes this a great place to stay is the people -

The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful with regards to everything from finding us a bag to use on our way home to upgrading our breakfasts and giving us complimentary drink tickets!

Thank you for a wonderful stay -

Room Tip: higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvanryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were here in mid-December 2012 for a long weekend. We loved how it felt very isolated yet was close to so many things and places. The setting on the water was great - every suite has water views. The suite was a living room area with some kitchen amenities - refrigerator, microwave, sink, etc., and a lovely bedroom with the typically wonderful Marriott beds. The pool area is nice with what feels like separate sections so you don't feel crowded, and a great bar with very friendly staff. If you want the beach, though, you need to go across the street - the Marriott provides a little shuttle that is on call for this. I had a FANTASTIC massage, but the spa was disjointed so not as comfortable as others where you can really enjoy a quiet room, etc. The fitness facility was adequate with cardio and basic weight equipment, but nothing special. The restaurant features a wonderful buffet for breakfast and a very nice dinner menu (albeit a bit pricey) - we had teh featured steaks and they were excellent. There are a couple of additional restaurants and shops walking distance - we loved Columbia Restaurant.

It is an easy 20 minute drive from Tampa (of course this was not peak summer so don't know how the traffic is then). It is a quick 10 minute drive to Dunedin which is a great little town with good food, great little bars, lovely parks, and the place where we spent most of our non-hotel time. Clearwater Beach activities are just a hop across the bridge, including the famous dolphin, Winter, which we recommend for young and old.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet12329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The view is VERY beautiful!! The room has a strong scent of mildew but that is expected in Florida, I was there on business and the entire group had no complaints. There are quaint restaurants that are in back of the hotel that have some real good food!! There is a wonderful Columbian restaurant that has the BEST MOJITIOS!!!!! OMG!!!! I can't express that any better! It was so good. The pool and Jacuzzi is amazing. You will have a wonderful time!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here using Marriott reward points for new years eve time frame. As gold elite members you get free continental breakfast daily (upgradable to full buffet for $5). This is an all-suites hotel and essentially every room will have a water view. The site manager, Trinity was extremely helpful upon check in and super friendly. We were offered complimentary champagne upon arrival (nice touch). Free parking with ample spaces. It was quite cold in the clearwater region dec 27-jan 1st, so we didn't use the pool, but we saw many people in there. Apparently, it is kept at 85 degrees constantly.
The rooms were clean and we couldn't really complain (since we got it for free!).

If we were to return to this area, we would definitely pick this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pishihapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was impressed from the moment we walked in. The staff was very friendly and was willing to check us in earlier than normal check in time. The hotel was very clean and staff was more than happy to chat with us.

The room was very large. It was a bedroom with a separate living room TV and Bar. The balcony was a little small but that was ok. The room had beautiful views of the bay. We watched fish and dolphins every morning under the water.

The pool was a very nice large pool with a pool side bar. Again the service was great down there!

I would go back if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. you will get amazing views. But I think all floors will have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwannagoeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
280 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! Stayed New Years Eve with family. Easy, helpful check in. Room was ready early so we checked in, changed and got a cart ride to the beach. Called a few hours later to return-picked up in minutes. Cart driver knew about fireworks at the park at midnight. Back to the room and watched the full moon rise over the bay, from our balcony! Later watched boats and fireworks from back balcony over bay. At midnight many guests went to font balcony to watch fantastic, unobstructed view of fireworks from park. Great hotel and night! Beds are comfy, tv's are large, fridge, microwave, couldn't ask for more.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Kathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#8 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#11 of 94 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 94 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing