We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The smell of raw fish turned me off right after I entered the room. Then I noticed the room's worn-out carpet and furniture that was badly in need of replacement. The third thing I noticed was an old microwave and a hard-to-reach small refrigerator with very poor lighting in the room. Make sure you take a flashlight and a magnifier with you to this hotel in case you need to use its refrigerator or read its microwave timer.

The only clean spot in the room was its bathroom--although the constant noise from the exaust fan was very annoying. Beds were also clean but not very comfortable.

Unliker select other hotels in Clearwater, this hotel does not offer free WiFi. Nor does it have a courtesy airport shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, General Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear B L,
Thank you for taking the time and share your feedback with me.
Certainly I wish we had an opportunity to turn your negative experience around while you were here. We have high standards regarding our maintenance and cleanliness of our product and obviously we fell short during your stay.
On behalf of all of us at the hotel I truly apologize for the shortcomings you experienced.
I am very willing to make it right with you. If Tampa Bay travels are in your future once again I would be honored to have the oportunity to personally handle your reservation.

Sincerely,

Philippe Eversdijk - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    617
    224
    98
    55
See reviews for
781
459
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is ideally located on Clearwater Bay and a short walking distance to the Gulf. From our room we could see both bodies of water. The hotel has a great pool if the weather is too cool for the Gulf. The service was outstanding as we were forced to spend extra time there due to Hurricane Sandy. The hotel discounted our room for our extra days. A great location and staff.

Room Tip: The higher floors are the best to enhance the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick00729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were here for a 2-day business meeting and stayed 2 nights. The meeting facility, food and beverage were outstanding. The staff attended to all of our needs and went above and beyond.

The rooms reminded me of being on a cruise ship, front to back with balcony. All rooms have balconies and face the Intercoastal waterway. It is not on the beach but you can walk or take the complementary golf cart ride to it and they will pick you up. There is also access to the Trolley that runs up and down the coast and into Clearwater Beach. Rooms were clean, lots of room with living area/microwave/mini fridge. Bathroom was a little small. Would stay here again, decent rate for waterfront property, outstanding staff service.

Room Tip: All are good but higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is very nice with a great pool and bar beside the pool. Rooms were small for 3 people but were exceptionally clean and room service was great.
Good location and staff very helpful. Fantastic beaches

Room Tip: Rooms apparently are all the same - but are exceptionally clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraig39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotels across the road have beachfront access and interior entrances. This hotel has exterior entrances. Not a plus in my book for safety and I'd have booked elsewhere based on that alone, had I known. The rooms are all alike with water views and very small balconies. Nice pool area, but no beach. Booked spa appointments weeks in advance by phone only to have them call and reschedule. After we changed our plans to accommodate them, we ended up waiting a half hour and only getting half the time for services. A complimentary service was advertised and specifically booked, but not provided and staff said they got no information about what we'd booked and were not prepared. They called us the day before to tell us to leave early and plan for delays due to an event in town, but their own staff was late. They were set to charge us for a full hour of service when we were in for only 30 minutes. No apologies. Only a so so massage. Very unprofessional from the first impression to end. Don't bother with the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms are the same, but higher floor is quieter and away from the central elevators means less foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this Marriott while at a conference and found it to be a very nice stay. The service was very nice, almost over the top - someone walked me and my one bag to the elevator upon check in. That wasn't necessary but was the first indication that they really value the customer experience. When I asked where the fitness center was, again I was escorted to it instead of being given directions.

The building itself is nice, looks to have been updated with the exception of the room bathroom. That could have used some sprucing up. The fact that the suite's balcony overlooked the bay and you could see the ocean across the street from the front door was very nice. Turn down service in the room was appreciated. I used the fitness center twice and have to say it was one of the nicest I've been in for quite a while. More than one treadmill and it overlooked the pool area and the equipment was all in working order. Never used the pool as it was too cool but it was lovely.

I ate at the in-hotel restaurant and it was fine - it's a steakhouse and they had to accommodate a vegetarian so it was a little bit of a stretch for them. But they did a good job. The food in general throughout the conference was more than adequate.

The only downside was that the door to our room refused to open after check in and it required maintenance to fix it. The housekeeper who discovered me trying to get in the room promptly said she'd call maintenance and was good on her promise. The front desk provided extra Marriott points for the inconvenience. The issue was fixed very quickly.

Overall, a very nice stay at this Marriott and would recommend to business or pleasure travelers who want a nice, relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on a high floor so the view of the ocean was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was the first time it went to Clear water and I was pleasantly suprised how nice it was. Lots of things to do, from running. renting bikes, to fishing. I would highly recommend visiting Clear Water Beach!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#25 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing