We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice stay, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this Marriott while at a conference and found it to be a very nice stay. The service was very nice, almost over the top - someone walked me and my one bag to the elevator upon check in. That wasn't necessary but was the first indication that they really value the customer experience. When I asked where the fitness center was, again I was escorted to it instead of being given directions.

The building itself is nice, looks to have been updated with the exception of the room bathroom. That could have used some sprucing up. The fact that the suite's balcony overlooked the bay and you could see the ocean across the street from the front door was very nice. Turn down service in the room was appreciated. I used the fitness center twice and have to say it was one of the nicest I've been in for quite a while. More than one treadmill and it overlooked the pool area and the equipment was all in working order. Never used the pool as it was too cool but it was lovely.

I ate at the in-hotel restaurant and it was fine - it's a steakhouse and they had to accommodate a vegetarian so it was a little bit of a stretch for them. But they did a good job. The food in general throughout the conference was more than adequate.

The only downside was that the door to our room refused to open after check in and it required maintenance to fix it. The housekeeper who discovered me trying to get in the room promptly said she'd call maintenance and was good on her promise. The front desk provided extra Marriott points for the inconvenience. The issue was fixed very quickly.

Overall, a very nice stay at this Marriott and would recommend to business or pleasure travelers who want a nice, relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on a high floor so the view of the ocean was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    585
    217
    95
    49
See reviews for
734
431
22
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deephaven, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was the first time it went to Clear water and I was pleasantly suprised how nice it was. Lots of things to do, from running. renting bikes, to fishing. I would highly recommend visiting Clear Water Beach!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I traveled with friends and my husband a 1 yr old. Hotel was super accomodating to everyone, all the rooms are suites w/beautiful views of the gulf, and VERY kid friendly (there's a fun parrot named Lisa at the entrance, the manager gave the kids each a small stuffed turtle- sweet small gestures). Will help you w/anything, free ride to the beach.
The ONLY downside is that the nicer beach is clearwater, compared to sand key state park. the state park is much quieter and calmer, but you can't easily just grab food and walk back onto the beach. However, it's 2.5 miles from the pier area and free transportation, and we felt the hotel was awesome (esp for the price) and thus really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I heard higher floors are better, but we stayed on the 4th floor (422/423) and our rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEtraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our stay st this hotel was amazing. The rooms were great, clean with separate bedroom, living area with mini kitchenette, coffe maker, fridge, microwave etc. The view from our balcony was awesome. The hotel staff was friendly, Lisa - the parrot was a little mean but she won't hurt you if you come to close. They have a Kids Club - for a fee you can leave your child with the staff and let them do crafts, watch a movie or play games while us parents can enjoy the water sports or a speed boat. Nice restaurant...cost a bit much but wait till you taste their food - I had the Sea Bass and it just melted in my mouth, good wine with it, steak was amazing also with veggies and potatos..wow...I can go on and on, but you have to try it. The pool side bar is great, cabbanas are to be booked for a day rental, they have also hula dancer, activities etc. You are going to like it:)
The Spa at the hotel is to Die For - it's called Antonio's Spa offers a full service!
To get to the beach you have to leave the hotel and go across the road to the other side...5 minutes walk or you can take the hotel transportation and be there in 2 minutes:) Hope you going to have a great time...I know we did it.

Room Tip: Top florr and corner unit to avoid extra noise from your neighbors:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeHRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The headline says it all - very nice staff at every turn, but a very tired property that needs major refreshing. Marriott places this hotel in a higher tier (for rewards points) than the Tampa Marriott Waterside and the St. Petersburg Renaissance Vinoy -- and there is no way that's accurate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonet Point, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

After being at the Sheraton Sandy Key for convention we opted to go down to John's Pass where they were having their Seafood Fest, we made a prior reservation but they gave our room away to someone else (Surfs Inn). We ended up coming back to Sand Key and stopped at the Marriott as we had heard it was super nice (some others from convention had stayed there the night before). They were super nice, got us a room and gave us a great rate! We loved the suite and I mean suite...two queen beds in back room with sliders overlooking the water way, a kitchenette area with small frig, microwave and sink. Also in the front was a nice cushy couch, chair and coffee table. After settling in we made our way over to the tiki bar which is by the pool. I can't say too much about pool cause it was a bit chilly for us Floridians to get in but it looked awesome. Stan the bartender was absolutely awesome, made some great drinks, conversation and was just plain friendly as was everyone that worked there that we meet. I would recommend this hotel to everyone! We are returning to Sand Key come February for another convention at the Sheraton but we are staying across the street at this Marriott!

Room Tip: If they all looked like ours you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel could use a facelift, but perfectly fine for "sane" people. Great room, just dated. The steak joint is O.K. I can"t imagine who gives the awards. The "BEST"???/ Not even close.Tell them you don't want their house "rub"... Kills the steak. The highlight of this hotel is the bartender in the lounge. Ask for Rick. The guy is a huge personality....fabulous. Great staff overall. Just really nice people. Tells me management really cares.

Room Tip: Tell "em it's your wife- g/fs birthday. They really hook you up....awesome staff....really
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyWestWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#8 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#10 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing