We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little R&R”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed the weekend & had a grand time. The view of the bay was awsome @ sunrise.. & @ sunset too, from our balcony. The beds were so comfortable! The room had a musty smell but we were out of the room more than in it. Staff was friendly. The food we had for breakfast was overpriced for the amount of food we had from the "buffet" & "just alright tasting" selections. Starbucks located in the lobby area! Will go back again. Ride the Jolley Trolley across the bridge into town to visit shops & other restaurants.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    646
    229
    100
    55
See reviews for
826
484
24
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were overall impressed by this all-suite hotel. The rooms were well appointed and clean and each room has a great balcony with 2 chairs to relax. You will find that the pool is very nice, intimate with tiki bar. Upon arriving our room was missing toiletries so when we called a maid was sent up promptly and we were treated to free pool drink cards and later that evening to a free bottle of wine with cheese and crackers, so great job to the Marriott management on duty. The breakfast buffet was good with the option for freshly made eggs / omlets and waffles to order. If my travels take me back to Clearwater I will definitely return to this Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakebdrGRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and had a brilliant time. Checkin was smooth and staff were welcoming and polite. The rooms were much bigger than i expected with a living area on the roadside and a bedroom with balcony overlooking the fantastic pool and lake. Free coffee/tea making facilities were constantly topped up. The bed was huge and was the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever had. We ate in the restaurant, poolbar and room service and the food was excellent although room service quite expensive with 20% service charge plus tip. We went around some of the other hotels and none of them had the outside area to contend with this. Some of the added bonuses are, trolleybus to clearwater continuously from lobby, small shopping plaza next door with goid selection of shops. Columbia restaurant/bar at side of hotel-amazing. Free transport to beach on demand altough its a nice 10min stroll. Sand Key is a perfect location. Just outside Clearwater centre so peaceful in the day with miles of amazing beach to choose from but near enough at night $10 taxi if you fancy livelier nightlife. Would definitely recommend it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a room on the 8th floor, beautiufl views, the bed had beautiful sheets and comforter, bathroom door was a sliding door, and it was heavy, a little difficult to slide shut (would be hard to do for an elderly person with arthritis...the only fault I can find is the carpet in our room needs to be cleaned, or replaced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurricane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Privacyville
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is centrally located near Clearwater Beach, on the Sand Key side of the island. We've stayed at this property a few times and generally enjoy it. The rooms are "all suites", in that they have a living area and separate bedroom.

The staff here are very friendly and that's one of the best things about this property.

The ocean view and the pool area is a great perk. Beautiful!

We ate dinner at the Watercolour steakhouse and it was pretty good.

The downside is that while the location is great, this property is in dire need of renovation and upkeep. The rooms are clean but are starting to show their age. The first room we were checked in to had drywall missing and the A/C system had been taken apart. The second room, which was on the top floor, was a good room but had some maintenance issues as well. The lighting in the bathroom had cracked glass, the TV stand in the bedroom had been melted and the A/C system was covered in mold.

This could be a 5 star property but needs a heavy overhaul and more proactive ongoing maintenance. I've seen comments by the GM that they are painting the rooms, but the property needs more than just a fresh coat of paint.

We'd likely stay here again, just hoping it will look a lot better when we do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsGermy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked a week at the Marriott Suites on Sand Key with Virgin Holidays for our honeymoon.

I'll start with the bad points and finish on the good points.

1. Knowing it was our honeymoon I emailed the hotel concierge to ask if we could have a nice room having seen the reviews saying some of the rooms weren't very good. Was told as we booked with Virgin we would be automatically upgraded to a king suite on a high floor. When we arrived, front desk told us "sorry, we weren't expecting you until tomorrow".. Great - no idea whose fault that was! We checked into room 520 and it was horrid. Stank of air freshner, carpets dirty, balcony door extremely stiff to open, no soap, worn towels, paint peeling off walls, no coffee, no water. When we did open the balcony door we could smell steak cooking and bacon cooking in the morning, and lets not forget the air con unit under the balcony..

2. After complaining about this room we got told we could move to room 906 at 1pm the next day. It was 4pm when the room was finally ready.

3. Day 1 we paid $11 for two bottles of water and 1/2 pint of milk. On day 2 the same items were $15 - figure that!

4. It was our first time staying in an American hotel and the hotel front desk forgot to mention that they take a hold of money off a credit card. Received a call from my UK credit card asking if it was legit.. Be nice to be told upon checkin. It's now 5 days after checking out and the amount on hold has still not been released.

5. Feel free to eat the breakfast in the morning - it's not so bad, apart from costing $37 for two coffees, one bowl of cereal, and 'buffet breakfast' that consisted of eggs, bacon, sausages and small potatos. We had to ask for milk, bread and sauce as none of that was on show at the breakfast bar.

6. When checking out, the front desk representative had to check my signature to prove that the room service on our room did not belong to us. Fortunately she was an extermely nice lady and saved me from blowing a fuse.

7. Thanks for the sparkling wine and cheese - it helps to provide glasses to drink the wine and a knife to cut the cheese - just for next time.

Good points!

- Fantastic location
- Great pool and tiki bar area
- Wonderful service from staff
- Nice lobby
- Free parking
- Free rides to the beach and Clearwater from the awesome guys working near reception
- Great service from Dave around the pool
- Excellent facilities around the hotel
- Linda the cleaner did a grand job each day

It's almost a 4 star but the quality of rooms and outside of building let the hotel down. For what we paid, we expected better.. - It cost us a lot of money.

We wouldn't stay at the hotel again if we wanted another Florida Holiday. In my opinion, it's more of a business / conference hotel or a basic room to explore the nearby areas, certainly not for honeymooners.

Hope that helps

Room Tip: Avoid room numbers that end in 20, try to get 8th or 9th floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel many times. Rooms have great views over the intra-coastal and the suites have nice balconies.. Pool is fun though on the small side for the number of guest staying at hotel. Pool bar and its restaurant are perfect. Steak house is excellent and converts into a breakfast restaurant with buffet in the morning, which is okay but nothing special. Staff is amazing, always pleasant and helpful and asking if there is something they can do.
Suites are fairly spacious, although would not want to stay there for any length of time if I had 2 small children with me. There is a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in sitting room which is very nice. Bathroom is tired and small and all the towels need replacing. The fan was very noisy and needed replacing. Our bed was okay but Marriott needs to supply new ones. Linens were very comfortable. We could not open our balcony doors for fresh air, as in the late afternoon, the smell of steaks grilling from the steak house below was overwhelming and sickening. Unfortunately, this was a big problem, as our room smelt musty inside. The hotel kept spraying our room with air freshener which made things even worse. The suites felt like they really needed renovating and modernizing.
There is an outstanding white sandy beach across the road, a very handy little plaza next door with a very well known Cuban restaurant called Columbia, a 711 store, some clothing stores, an ice cream parlour, amongst other things. Despite all of my complaints, I would still stay here again when I am in the area again.

Room Tip: This hotel gets booked up early, so make reservations as soon as you know you will be in the area. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! I am very pleased to see that you had a good stay with us. I am sorry that you had an issue with a room. We are in the process of renovating our suites now. Please come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#15 of 98 in Clearwater
2,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing