We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Marriott Sand Key!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Marriott Sand Key!”
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Spent several nights at the Marriott Sand Key in February and just loved it! Had a room on the 5th floor with a great view of the intercostal waterway and the gulf. The room itself was exceptionally clean and did not show any signs of age, looked very updated. The staff was fabulous, from checking in early as the room was available, to letting me have a late check-out because of a later flight time. Only complaint or draw-back is the pool area. It is a bit on the smaller size and the chairs seemed like they were literally on top of each other. Very little room in between each of them. Service seemed to be slow at the pool that weekend, maybe because it was President's Day Weekend, the hotel was booked full, and just not enough help. All-in-all, a great experience and would definitely go back next year. In fact, I have already made reservations!

  • Liked — The beautiful views of the intercostal waterway and the gulf.
  • Disliked — The cramped quarters around the pool area.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchlvr92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    625
    226
    98
    55
See reviews for
790
467
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while at a business conference, and I enjoyed my stay overall.
Here are the things I really liked:
*each room has a balcony with an amazing view of Tampa Bay and the gorgeous pool area
*the room service and restaurants were all excellent and provided great service. I was craving dessert one night, and even though the restaurant was pretty much closed, they made me a creme brulee and brought it out to me in the lobby!
*room had a microwave and fridge, and a TV in both the bedroom and living room area.
*Service staff was very friendly and helpful.
*Lobby area is beautiful and they have a parrot!

Here are the things I did not like as much:
*Fitness center was disappointing - 2 treadmills and a bike that looked like they were from the 1980s, and a weight machine that didn't work. I ran on the beach instead.
*No internet in rooms or wireless anywhere in the hotel. Business center had 3 computers which were always being used during the business conference.
*When I first got to my room, there was a painter's mat on top of the bed covered with paint chips, and the ceiling looked like it had just had a hole repaired.
*There are few amenities on Sand Key, which isn't a reflection of the hotel itself, just the location.

  • Liked — View from the room.
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities (internet, fitness center, etc)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angiebombshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We actually left our booked hotel early and decided to finish our trip is luxury - and I am glad we did. This place is not cheap - $300/night but it is worth it. The room was very nice - the bedding very comfortable and the staff super. Everyone is here to help you and you really feel pampered here. THis is a great hotel for families. The pool keeps the kids occupied, there is a kids camp, play area and shuttle to the beach. The evening festivities were fantastic - a pirate cruise / luau / movies outside. We really enjoyed our days here. We will definately return.
Kids loved Lisa the Macaw as well.

  • Liked — family oriented activities
  • Disliked — price -
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank canalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We spent 3 days here mid-February & wanted to write about our positive experience. The staff is great, the rooms were clean and comfortable but the best part of our stay was the pool time. Our two girls (age 5 &10) had so much fun with the activites & my husband & I really enjoyed relaxing by the pool. My only complaint would be the bathroom was small & it was hard to have more than one person getting ready at the same time. We will be back again!

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My wife and I had a fun stay for 3 nights. The outside of the hotel needs a makeover soon. The rooms are large but the bathroom is tiny. The walls are paper thin. You can hear traffic all night long. You can also hear people in other rooms. The pool area is great and the hot tub hit the spot. The views from your hotel room are great. You can see the ocean on one side of the room and the bay on the other side of the room. Each room has a private balcony over looking the bay and ocean. The staff were very helpful and were always willing to go out of their way for you. I think the hotel is a little expensive for what you get. I am not sure why they charge so much. This is not a 5 star property. Everything about the property is just average. I didn't think Sand Key beach was that great. The sand is very hard and full of shells. I suggest Caladesi Island and Fort De soto both had awesome beaches.

  • Liked — The views from your room
  • Disliked — Tiny bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blitz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2008

we have just returned from being guests with you for 6 days. Two adults, three children (ages 5 to 15) and we were thoroughly happy with the service that was provided. the rooms needed updating but the employees attitude made the rooms seem not quite as important.!
I would to personally name Ana (nightshift, weekends front desk clerk, Cory, pool side service attendent, Dereck, pool side service attendent, and all of the maids that we came into contact with!. The only person not deserving of the higher praise was, Chad. I believe he was a manager over the outdoor pool rec area. He wasn't very pleasent.
thank you so very much!
Jill Elliott

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scotti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We stayed here once before when the hotel was a Radisson and we had a lovely time then with just a few problems. This time, after the refurb and name change to Marriott Suites we had a fabulous holiday and I would go back right now!

We travelled with our two kids aged 8 and 9 and after legging it around Disney and Universal for 2 weeks the peace and laid back pace of life of Sandkey was a welcome change! We stayed on the 9th floor and had the most amazing view, stopping me from sleeping at night many a time as I wanted to gaze into the distance.

The rooms are all suites and are spacious and comfortable with the most lovely beds, and the option of a sofa bed in the front room. There are also 2 tvs, a fridge and a coffee maker. The cleaners did a lovely job and even left us weather reports and turned down the beds for us.

The pool itself can get quite busy but we were always able to get sunbeds. The staff at the poolside couldn't be more attentive, always ready to bring more drinks/food etc. A special thank you to Kim who is fantastic and we hope to see her again soon. The kids club was great for a couple of hours of amusement for our kids. Also, there were regular pool side movies on a big screen in the evenings to entertain the young ones while we had a drink at the bar.

We had breakfast mainly in our room but the buffet in the restaurant downstairs was very tempting, albeit a bit expensive. Having said that, you would not have to eat again for a very long time! You could get a much cheaper breakfast from Maggie Mae's on the boardwalk or from Dunkin Donuts. We never had our evening meal in the hotel as there were enough restaurants on the boardwalk to keep us going and we did venture into Clearwater itself one night on the Jolley Trolley. We also had Pizza Hut which you could order by the pool. Some of my best memories are eating pizza while looking out over the intercoastal strip and spotting the odd dolphin.

When we wanted to get a bit closer to the dolphins we hired a jetski which was super fun. There are also dolphin boats which go from Clearwater itself and we have done this before but not this time.

The Reception staff were also extremely helpful and our children were more than happy to chat to Lisa the hotel parrot while we sorted out excursions and so on.

Tempted? Go! I wish I could go back and stay there forever!

  • Liked — The view, friendly staff, etc, etc
  • Disliked — I had to go back to England
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#14 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing