We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location - Property needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Property needs updating”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel location is fantastic considering it is not on Clearwater Beach. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us. However the Hotel itself is in need of a serious update. Our room was damp and we asked to be moved. The staff arranged this however the next room wasn't much better. The hotel restaurant is nice but expensive for what it is. The bar staff aren't very polite unless you tip them straight away rather than at the end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazinho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly value our customers' feedback. I am happy to let you know that we are currently in the process of updating all of our rooms. This renovation project does not cause any noise, yet, the rooms are getting a great facelift! Please come back and see us soon.

Best Regards,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    651
    229
    100
    55
See reviews for
837
488
24
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I was travelling in a party of 8 adults and 1 toddler and every single one of us agreed that this hotel felt like paradise. The pool is amazing, lots of beds, an excellent pool bar with lovely staff and the pool itself never felt cramped or over busy. The suites are huge, nice living area and bathroom but the best part was the bedroom, huge comfy beds and a balcony overlooking the gulf. Wow. Every member of staff from the bell hop to the desk staff and bar staff were falling over themselves to help us and they even let us check in early and check out late. We went to the beach which is easy to do however after a couple of hours we ended up back poolside. We will absolutely be back. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julsy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to see that you had a great stay with us! Thank you very much for your review! Our views are spectacular indeed! Please come back and see us soon!

Best Regards,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights last week, nice hotel but we we a little disappointed due to what we had payed to stay there. Rooms a little outdated. One of the days our room was not cleaned at all, despite being out all day! Air conditioning very noisy in room. Hotel food way overpriced. Loved Maggie Mae's for breakfast and backwaters for dinner just a short walk away, or Caesars a short drive over the bridge. Pool lovely, but many of the sunbeds covered in bird droppings and towels a little old. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Great views, great location, beach across the road lovely. Free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

From start to finish the Virgin Atlantic Staff were brilliant. 2 weeks in a S/C villa, 25 minutes from Disney with 3 grandchildren resulted in my wife & I being parked out. The 2 hour drive to the Marriott Hotel on Sand Quay was very pleasant however, I was somewhat anxious about our hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by Julia & from that moment onwards our holiday was superb. We found all of the staff to be really friendly & they seemed to enjoy helping holidaymakers. We eat at the Columbia (twice) & the Backwaters once & would recommend both. Looking forward to returning in two to three years with the next lot of grand-kids.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view from the bedroom & balcony, directly over the bay & through the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShelbourneFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your warm review on TripAdvisor! I am very glad to see that you had a good stay with us! Please come back and see us again shortly!

Best Regards,

Julia Brensel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

For Marriott, we expected more. It was very outdated, the room smelled, the air vents where thick with dust, the pool area needs more employees, the towels were dingy and had holes! When we asked for towels the guy handed us towels from a pile lying on a chair that were not even folded. Half the time there werent any towels so we brought our own. The pool chairs were gross with bird droppings. Someone left a tray of food from room service between our rooms and the tray was there all day and all night! I had to call the lobby to have someone pick it up! Who does that? We overpaid to stay at this place and very dissappointed and will not be back. It is not even on the beach! The balcony is sort of a joke as well. The only thing nice thing about the hotel was the lobby!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nereida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that your stay at our property was disappointing! We try very hard to accommodate each and every guest, and I apologize that we were not able to provide a relaxing experience for you. I want to assure you that we have a new supply of beautiful towels. We are also remodeling and painting our rooms. Our prices are very attractive this fall season. I hope you will give us another opportunity, and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Marriott never disappoints, yes it is expensive but for the attention to details it never lets me or my family down, the room itself was great with a balcony overlooking the pool and intercostal. The beach is across the street and walking distance, you really don't need to take the supplied golf cart guy to drop you off but it is a great option. Sand key is very intimate not crowded like pier 60 and the dolphins playing in the ocean was great to see firsthand. The food and entertainment options are endless, Clearwater is my new family destination.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbalero2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are excited to hear that Marriott Sand Key is your new family holiday destination! We love seeing our guests return year after year! See you soon, and thank you very much for your review!

Best Regards,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just love this hotel, we have been twice now, each time with children. Every room faces the inland water way and we could sit on the balcony and watch the dolphins playing in the water -
just magic.

Each room has two large double beds, a seating area with TV, fridge, kettle etc and a balcony.

The staff are really helpful and friendly, they will give you a lift to the beach, provides towels and water to take with you and then come and pick you up when you ring them from the courtesy phone on the beach.

Pool area is lovely, with a walkway that runs along the water way to the shops and bars near by.
Catch the 'Jolley Trolley' from out side the hotel which takes you into Clearwater. Only cost a couple of dollars each and is an experience in its self.

Walk around the pier watching the entertainers, then along the beach to the Palm Pavillion, just the best place in the world to have a drink, eat good food and watch the sun set.

One of my favourite places in the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.7 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key

Property: Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast and enjoy a perfect trip in Clearwater Beach when you stay at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key . Our Clearwater Beach hotel's accommodations are all suites, in fact we are Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. We offer a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, and we provide a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing