We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    136
    29
    8
    12
See reviews for
156
155
16
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We attended a family wedding nearby so this was affordable and conveniently located for us. Otherwise I am sure there are better locations nearer to the beaches if that is your desire. That being said our stay was great. The 2 bedroom suite was very quiet and worked out great for us. Breakfast was nothing special but it was free! Although the hotel is on a main street it was easy to access. The front desk personnel were awesome at all times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was searching for an affordable hotel in the clearwater area and while looking at the horrendous prices the front beach hotels at clearwater beach were charging I got really frustrated, by accident I came across this hotel. Let me tell you this hotel was the perfect choice!
We arrived by car and they have lots of parking space for no extra charge, which is always a plus.
Our room was fairly big (bigger as the standard hotel/motel rooms) with a kitchenette including a microwave, fridge and dishwasher plus a little kitchen table with chairs (so could really cook some simple dinner). There was also a little living room area with a couch and a table and a flat screen. Our big king size bed was very comfortable, we also enjoyed the separated sink/shower area, and that there were lots of storage space for our clothes. Wifi (for free) and air conditioning worked well, too. Room service was excellent, everything was clean, towels were changed daily (if you wanted them to)
Here is what impressed me most about that hotel: The friendly people working there, always greeting you with a smile, chatting with you about your day/giving you tips for the beaches, and answering your questions! The elderly man working at the reception (sadly forgot his name) was so nice, attentive and helpful, that I can´t say enough good words about him!
Breakfast is included … a REAL breakfast, they offer coffee, juice, milk, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bread, jam, honey, bacon, waffles etc. Sadly the breakfast room is not that big, so sometimes people were waiting for a free table or taking their breakfast up to their room.
About the beach: First of all they even offer umbrellas, beach chairs and coolers at the hotel for free, so you don´t have to bring your own stuff or buy those things! Just ask at the reception! On weekdays the clearwater/ sand key beaches are just a 5 minute drive, and we always got a parking space directly at the beach (parking costs $1.0 or $1.25 per hour). At weekends there is more traffic, which means that it might take you a little bit longer to drive to the beaches (like 15-20minutes) but that´s not a big deal. Even during labor day weekend it took us only 15 minutes to get to the beach. Clearwater beach, sand key park, indian rocks beach … they are so stunning.
Grocery stores, restaurants (both fast food like domino´s, taco bell, dunlin donuts and real restaurants) are just a short 5 minute drive.
If you are looking for a decent hotel near to the beaches, but you don´t want to pay the high beachfront hotels prices … the Residence Inn should be your choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Halie_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I came to Clearwater Beach this time with a budget in mind. I chose the Residence Inn because of the cost difference from beachfront hotels, which was NOT my priority. I found the 3 mile drive no problem. I was able to get to restaurants in minutes. The hotel location was great. We were treated like treasured guests from the moment we arrived (early too). Our 2-bedroom suite was clean with great pillows and a good firm bed. I could tell Marriott is trying to upgrade the hotel but it appeared to bit by bit. The problem I had and reported was the condition of our sofa and a wet floor caused by a leaking pipe. I had the best treatment in years from Nancy who runs the breakfast. This woman works harder part time than most people would with a full time career. Belinda at the front desk is another that I wish I could clone. thank you to all the staff. But Marriott management if you are listening? You have a gem here. Jump it up on your investment list and finish the upgrades tomorrow.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We chose to stay 5 nights at the Clearwater Residence Inn based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews.We usually find the reviews accurate but in this case we were disappointed to find that this property is just your standard Residence Inn. If you want an above average, special Residence Inn, try the one on Pompano beach that is right on the beach and has 2 pools and a lovely dining area. We were hoping for something more like that. Just wanted people to be in reality about this property. It's not bad, it's just not amazing. It's a typical, average Residence Inn.

Pros:
large, pretty clean rooms
full kitchens
Very nice front desk staff
quiet rooms in back-front is on a busy road
excellent nearby independent supermarket/cafe called "nature's food patch"

Cons:
Super uncomfortable couches, not a big deal for one night but staying 5 nights it became very uncomfortable to watch TV in the living room.
Cable options were almost nonexistent- no pay per view or on demand movies
no safes in the room
small pool with no views, nothing pretty about this property

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhodeIslandPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We just spent three days at this Inn this week. The location is nice with just a few miles drive to the expressways. The breakfast and evening social snacks are great. The staff is extremely friendly. I will recommend this hotel.

Just one minor complaint - the utensils at the breakfast were not as clean as I would have liked. There were wrapped plastic sets as well, but we try not to fill the landfills with unnecessary plastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The room we had was a studio with a king bed; it was very spacious and comfortable, and most importantly… it was very clean. We had a full kitchen, a nice sized television, comfortable furniture, and a nice sized bathroom. The bathroom was great because the shower and toilet were in a separate area from the sink and mirror. So one of us could shower, etc. while the other used the mirror and sink without stepping on top of each other....which can save a lot of time. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeepers did a great job cleaning our room.

The front desk staff was very nice and courteous. They were very professional throughout our entire stay. Also, it was raining one of the nights we were there and the gentleman behind the desk gave us an umbrella to use :-). He could have easily said no when we asked and not even bothered to look and see if they had one available, but he did, and I thought this was a nice gesture.

This hotel is not on the beach so you do have to drive, but it didn't take long at all. We went in June so there were many beachgoers around and still the traffic wasn't bad.

There was a free continental breakfast which wasn't bad at all. They never ran out of food and the eating area was clean and comfortable and had a TV.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mellowstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.3 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
1.9 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Address: 940 Court St, Clearwater, FL 33756-5745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing