We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Viera, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Great Location!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked this room last minute while visiting Clearwater Beach. All the hotels on the beach that were even somewhat nice were charging over $200 a night. Got this room for $99 and it was less than a 10 minute drive to the beach. The rooms were extremely clean and updated. The full kitchen was beautiful and the bathroom was large and spacious. Next time I'm in Clearwater I will stay here again. The value can't be beat! The front desk staff was also very friendly!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrzjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and thank you very much for your comments you posted about our property. We find that our location to be a plus with just a short drive to the Clearwater beach area. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms. Marriott takes great pride in designing their rooms. Thank you again and hope if you are ever in the area again you select our property for your choice of lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    141
    30
    8
    13
See reviews for
163
162
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here Christmas night 2012. It was clean, cheerful and the staff was more than accommodating and friendly. We thought our room was spacious and the bed wasn't bad. (We're spoiled..we love our bed at home.) The only thing I'd recommend is a more comfortable couch and chair. But not many people spend hours in their room like we did. All in all it was a great stay and the price was right. We'll probably go back again.

Room Tip: They actually serve finger food on some nights but we didn't know that. It's for their socia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Clean room & bathroom, good shower pressure & hot water, free parking, free wired & WiFi internet. Bed comfort was OK. Too far to walk to beach but a short drive (fyi Pinellas County is charging $5/day now for all beach parking). Minor issues included a broken bathroom door, shower caulk, and we didn't like the feather pillows. Fridge ice-maker is normally shut off and empty, but ice is available from the kitchen if you bring a cooler.

Breakfast could be improved: Bread/muffins/bagels were stale & uncovered (several guests were coughing on them). Serving utensils were often missing so guests were digging out the eggs with their forks. Waffles were good but weren't available every day, and they melted onto the styrofoam plates. Also the styrofoam plates were easily shredded by the plastic knives & forks, so found myself eating waffles by hand instead of trying to cut it up. Front desk manager was sometimes the only staff member, doubling as the kitchen staff between check-outs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in a corner room for 3 nights on the 5th floor facing the backside of the hotel and had a quiet, peaceful stay. The room was clean and spacious, and the location is convenient for exploring the surrounding areas. Note that this hotel is not in Clearwater Beach, which is about a 10 min drive away. Also be aware that there aren't many restaurants in close proximity, so we picked up a few items at the grocery store during our stay and made use of the room's kitchen. All the staff we encountered were super friendly. One note on the breakfast: Be sure to arrive early to get a good selection since other guests like to load up on more than their share of the free food and take it with them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozleesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room as well at the surrounding area. Clearwater is a great area to relax and enjoy with the beach being so close alone with many other attractions. Our breakfast area does get rather busy at times I hope everyone in your party was able to enjoy themselves and get plenty to eat. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel-Excellent Rooms- Nice Pool,nice breakfast but sometimes Pricey. Ideal for someone who has business in Downtown Clearwater. I've stayed there at least five times. walking distance to new Disney museum

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. Certain times of the year Clearwater gets rather busy with a great amount of demand. Thank you again for speaking highly of the hotel I was pleased to read you are one of our repeat guest. Thank you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our families first time to the Clearwater area, so I was a little hesitant to book a 'downtown' hotel just because I wanted to be by the beach. But after looking a around, the best deal for us was booking here. To start off, we flew right into Clearwater airport and it was easy to find, about 15 mins away. Beautiful hotel and kept up well. Even though we couldn't see the beach- this hotel is super! Even single one of the staff went out of their way to say hello and was super helpful. We stayed here two nights, we booked a suite with a king bed/bathroom and the other bedroom with it's own bathroom is seperated by a full kitchen and living room. We headed to Publix and stocked up the fridge (maybe 5 mins away)The outside pool is medium size, great workout room and they have a good continental, complimentary breakfast every morning! Which if you have kids- you know this saves you a ton of time, money and patience ;) They even had nice laundry, which was right across our room, so we washed all our clothes before we headed to Orlando area. The beach is about 5-7 mins away, you get to cross the bay bridge which the kids loved. We parked in the public area ( remember to bring quarters as most spots are meters). Clearwater Beach is awesome. They clean it daily. It might be the best sand we have been on. We will hopefully be back soon. We truely appreciate good hotels, especially when your on vacation and this was perfect! Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtomakeyousmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are doing business downtown, have a relative at Morton Plant hospital, or need to be in the downtown area, this is a convenient hotel to stay at. But it is not the best choice if you are wanting to stay ON clearwater beach.

That being said, I was doing business downtown and for me it was the perfect location. It's close to businesses and surrounded by lots of eateries. It's a bit tricky to get to because Court Street is only one way so keep that in mind when you are navigating, but it's not a big deal.

The staff here is really friendly - April and others at the front desk go out of there way to help you and I felt at home.

The rooms are wonderful! Ample space to relax. Full size fridge, range cooktop, microwave, utensils, dish washer, etc. For the price, you cannot beat this value.

I would definitely stay here again.

The only reason I didnt give 5 stars is because I reserve that rating for flagship hotels in resort locations and/or for hotels which have unique features. While this hotel is not a flagship property, it is a solid 4 star hotel and you will enjoy your stay here if you want to be in downtown clearwater.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehelpfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Address: 940 Court St, Clearwater, FL 33756-5745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing