We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like Winter”

Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.89*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium General Admission
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium Day Trip from Orlando
More Info
$77.98*
and up
Winter the Dolphin Tour at Clearwater Beach from Orlando
Ranked #7 of 85 things to do in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great if you like Winter”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I visited the Clearwater Marine Aquarium with my family a couple of years ago and we had a really fun visit! I had recently watched the movie Dolphin Tale (and really liked it), so I was stoked to see Winter the Dolphin up close and personal! Seeing her was my favorite part of the trip! Her trainers showed everyone how they care for her, and then she performed all of the amazing tricks and stunts she can do!

There are also parts of the aquarium that are sectioned off from where Dolphin Tale was filmed! It was so cool! (I got to walk on a path that Morgan Freeman walked on, eeep!) This honestly made me feel like I was in Hollywood!

There were other sea creatures to observe here too, but none of them were as exciting as seeing Winter and seeing the movie set(s). Additionally, there is a great gift shop here that sells cheap souvenirs!!

Overall, I enjoyed my trip to this aquarium! However, it is not the type of place I would visit again and again- once or twice is enough! And if you have young kids, I highly suggest bringing them here!

Once again, the Clearwater Marine Aquarium is great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,707
    1,571
    968
    425
    291
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Glad we went - probably wouldn't do it again.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

It was neat getting to see Winter and Hope, but the aquarium was small and VERY crowded. We had to park in a vacant lot around the corner. There were the dolphins, turtles, stingrays and that was about it. Not a whole lot for the price of admission. it was fun getting to ride the boat back to Clearwater to see the other exhibits, but everywhere you turn there is something else trying to get money out of you. At least the kids enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MAMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMAquarium, Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Clearwater Marine Aquarium is a non-profit organization. The proceeds from every purchase support our mission. Although we recognize the limitations of our facility, we strive to exceed industry standards for animal habitats, life support systems, and care while maximizing the experience and education of our guests. Additionally, we are looking to expand our capabilities by building a new home for our resident animals and for future rescue and rehabilitation efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad if you have a few hours to kill”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Traveling with the family from lower SW Florida up to JAX, we decided to detour to clearwater and check out this aquarium. My Wife bought a membership online which reduced the admission cost $13 each. The aquarium is smallish and older. It is a rehab hospital for injured marine animals and thus not really a showplace. It appears to be popular due to the movie, dolphin tales, which was filmed there and features their dolphin that lost its tail as a youngster caught in a trap.
If you are close by, it is worth the stop but not worth going out of your way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Educational and Great Place to take a moment to see!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Each area has a description of the mammal in the area plus how they got there. Shows were consistent with the description of how each mammal ending up at the aquarium and tips to help prevent having other mammals end of there. Staff were very nice and you can tell they enjoy their jobs and a compassionate about saving and helping the otters, turtles, sting rays, sharks, fish, crabs, and of course, dolphins. A great educational place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, usa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cute”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Cute place. We got to meet Winter and Hope from the movie Dolphin Tale. Not many activities to see and do unless you purchase extra options.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenevieve24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearwater Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing