We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is real!”

Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.89*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium General Admission
Ranked #7 of 84 things to do in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it is real!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

we saw dolphins, sharks, we fed stingrays, and we saw the volunteers and specialists with all these animals.

very fun and educational! for all ages!

Helpful?
1 Thank soniafai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,622
    1,514
    929
    407
    277
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Daughters wish to meet Winter!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wasn't planning to come here but had plans only for Disney world and Miami during X-mas week!! Her school showed the movie "Winters Tale" and book of the month also about Winter and that was that change of plans. Quite expensive for a small marine and aquarium but worth it when my daughter and Winter met face to face in the basement with the glass panel view. It was good enough for her that Winter actually swim by and interact with her, One of the trainers saw this and say it was quite rare for winter to do that...So that make her day at CMA!! We also did the trolley to the movie part of the tour that was nice too. Just hope that all the money CMA is making from "Winter" that they will treat her right plus all the other animals in the shelter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travel to Clearwater every year and only became aware of Winter, the tail-less dolphin, recently when the movie came out. Our kids were so excited to go visit Winter and the aquarium. I was first shocked by the price. I understand they are helping sick and injured sea creatures but boy is it expensive. One bonus is that teachers get in free. I didn't think you could see the sealife that well in their tanks. The touching pools were too high for my kids to reach and it was really crowed around them and the person running that area was not friendly. It was very hard for the kids to touch the stingray outside and also in the indoor pool. I didn't think there was much to see or do for the price they were charging. It was neat to see Winter but not worth the price or the crowds.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashpyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We saw Winter”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We watched the movie the Dolphine Tale about Winter the dolphine and thought we would see Winter in person. The Clearwater aquarium does an amazing job with these rescue animals and we were happy to go. This was a little pricey for what it is but it goes to a good cause, we were disappointed when they told us that the story was made up for the movie and the only true part is they found Winter, i think they shouldn't tell people that and let them believe the story, at that point it was just an aquarium and the magic was gone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinekisses71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is really amazing. The staff and volunteers are so friendly and helpful! You can tell that they all love what they do and it shows. The dolphins, of course, were the stars of the show and they were wonderful. There's a great viewing area down below which gave us a nice chance for a little "face time" with the dolphins. My daughter was able to experience an animal encounter and she STILL hasn't stopped smiling. Can't say enough about this wonderful little aquarium. SO worth the trip. We'll be back for sure!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearwater Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing