We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home of Winter the Dolphin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Marine Aquarium

Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.89*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium General Admission
Ranked #7 of 77 things to do in Clearwater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home of Winter the Dolphin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Aquarium has seen increased visitors since the making of the movie, The staff does a great job showing the various sea creatures.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank snodgress_betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,484
    1,447
    880
    391
    268
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockway PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was a cooler afternoon and we decided to go to the Clearwater Marine Aquarium. What a good choice. It was a good value using the coupons we found. It was pretty exciting to actually see Winter. It was an afternoon to leasurely walk through the Aquarium and read all the information they have for you. Then they took us downtown to another place that explained about the making of the movie. They had many exhibits that were very well done. I had been picking up shells all week and the one on Clearwater shells was expecially helpful to me.
The staff certainly do love and care for the rescued animals. I only saw positive staff. That is quite amazing - usually someone isn't.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This aquarium is a great place to visit. We had a 2 for 1 coupon and only paid $18.00 for two people. All the animals here are rescued and can't live in the wild. If you want to see animals doing tricks this is not the place. They do however do demos with the dolphins and are more than happy to talk to you about any of the animals here. Winter is here and we were lucky that she did the demo that day. There are lots of tanks to touch sea life but the best is the ray tank, if your luck a ray will kiss you. Rufus was on the roof squaking as people went by. Great value for the money, lots of interesting things to see and touch, and had a great gift shop. If you go to Clearwater make sure you go to this aquarium. Winter alone is worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyndy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Toss aside all the hype about the movie "Dolphin Tale" and enjoy the Clearwater Marine Aquarium experience. There is plenty to do and reasonably priced. I recommend the backstage tour as it's entertaining and informative. There are interactive exhibits and the shows with the animals are a hit with young and old alike.

I went because my 4 year old daughter wanted to see "Winter" the in-house celebrity. For those that do not know, Winter lost her tail due to an unfortunate accident and is a permanent resident of the aquarium. Winter's story was the inspiration for the movie, "Dolphin Tale". I was pleasantly surprised they were not a one attraction place with sting rays, turtles, other dolphins, and many other marine animals.

My family thought we would make a short trip, however, it ended up being the day.

Thanks to the movie the aquarium is financially stable so the staff and numerous volunteers can concentrate on providing the care for the animals and educating the public about the marine ecosystem.

I cannot say enough for the staff and volunteers about their cheerfulness and dedication to the aquarium. Definitely a must see if in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank curtchafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I LOVE WINTER AND HER FRIENDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

WOW ! Winter, what a treat to see, she swims like she is on top of the world. Such a great care giving staff and volunteers, JUST WOW!! go see this amazing group of animals and staff that LOVE THEM, from the turtles to the sharks to the otters who can not walk on land but can swim like their feet work...AMAZINGLY AWESOME,we do love the whole Aquarium, go slow and touch and see everything....A MUST SEE ADVENTURE FOR KIDS OF ALL AGES...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaSeminoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearwater Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing