We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.89*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium General Admission
Ranked #7 of 80 things to do in Clearwater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. The grandkids wanted to meet Winter. We weren't sure what to expect. Highly recommend visiting this aquarium. It isn't an all day thing, but truly informative and the employees were so nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,545
    1,475
    900
    398
    271
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
367 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A working rehab and rescue facility for marine life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although they call it a Marine Aquarium, it's really a working rescue and research facility. That said, they provide enough educational exhibits and "shows" for the public to make it worth a visit. Of course, the star attraction is Winter-- the dolphin with the prosthetic tale. She is really amazing, and her story is very inspirational. That alone, was worth the admission price for me. I didn't realize that the material they developed for her tail would later be used for human prosthetics and helped and changed the lives of many without limbs. There is a separate exhibit worth seeing featuring props and film clips from the movie "A Dolphin's Tale" (you get there via a free trolley). All in all, a nice way to spend a few hours. Consider the admission fee a donation to the facility.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley Park,, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely Clearwater Marine Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The kids just love this aquarium! From the moment we entered and stroked a sting-ray ( lovely! ) to watching the dolphins performing their tricks, they were hooked. There was no way you should miss the aquarium, especially with kids in tow. We've been visiting it for many years and have come to appreciate the reason for it's popularity, this is not just an entertainment venue, this great institution was established to help and rescue damaged marine creatures, such as dolphins, turtles and sting-rays and over the years we have been fortunate enough to see baby turtles hatching and sea otters racing around, showing off their great talents. If you visit this aquarium, you'll not only have fun, you'll expand your knowledge of mother nature and contribute to the vital work this establishment unertakes.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank deltahero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was very excited to be going to the aquarium, as I am a huge lover of dolphins and couldn't wait to see Winter (Dolphins Tale) We made the 2hr drive from Orlando and arrived at 11am. We saw Winter at 11.30am and after that apart from the gift shop, there wasn't a great deal left to see unless you wanted to spend more money and go for a boat ride - which we didn't. Very disappointing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SueF2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aquarium is so-so - Boat tour is destructive.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

As a native of Clearwater I ended up at the Aquarium with out of town guests. If you have a child that saw the movie Winter, it will be interesting for the child. For an adult, not so neat.
What was absolutely amazing is the 'Sea Life Safari' boat trip. The water was clean in the bay and they proceeded to idle up onto a grass bed and drop this large net with wooden doors into the water. What happened next was unbelievable. With the engines in reverse, they dragged the net with the doors backwards, gouging out parts of the grass bed. The grass beds are the lifeblood of the bay - it is where all things large and small live. They destroyed a portion of that bed so thirty people onboard could see a few small fish that were caught in the net. An organization that rehabs animals is out destroying the habitat for money - absolutely unbelievable. PLEASE do not take this "Sea Death Safari".

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearwater Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing