We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take It or Leave It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
A TripAdvisor Member
113
Reviewed January 12, 2005

Our group of four recently returned from a short trip to Florida, where we stayed two nights at this hotel. Although check-in time is 4 pm, we had hoped that at least one room might be ready for us a bit earlier, but the management stuck to their strict check-in time (a bit rude the second time we asked). Plan ahead to change into shorts/swimwear, or change in the washrooms like we did so you can at least enjoy the pool or beach while waiting for your room. We were finally able to get our room assigned at 4.30 but found out that our internet hotels booking site did not specify a non-smoking oceanview, as we had booked. Lesson: make sure you specify under "special requests" EXACTLY what you want in a room selection. We did get an oceanview which reeked of smoke.

The only food we ate at the hotel was at the outside restaurant where the waitress came back four times to confirm our order, and where we had to send back a coffee cup (lipstick) for a clean one. The outside tables weren't cleaned as quickly as they should be and the seagulls were swooping overhead and cleaning up the leftovers.

Although we were only on the second floor, we had to take the elevators to access our floor as the two stairwells exit to the outside of the building only and our room cards wouldn't work in the exterior doors.

The pool and beach areas are small but adequate for the number of guests at the hotel when we were there. The one meal we had at the hotel restaurant was average. The hotel next door serves great mixed drinks and has entertainment during the day. The restaurant across the street has great food and service.

The hotel is clean, and the maids very thorough. The hotel fronts on an intercoastal waterway, not the Gulf. The view is fine though, with a lot of boat traffic. This is an OK stop-over, or short stay hotel, but I don't think we would have enjoyed more than a few days there.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 2,022 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Coventry, UK
422
Reviewed November 29, 2004

Stayed for 3 nights Nov 18-20, 2004. Wow. Pay the extra for the ocean view. If I go back to Clearwater, I'll stay a week here. Great room; great view; great staff; great beach and the sunset from the balcony - man, its emotional. And the pool is heated, bonus! My only reservation, would be the pool area is small and i can imagine its a popular place in high season so would get crowded easily. During our stay it was perfect as there were very few families so no screaming kids running about the place.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2004

We only stayed for one night during our 3 week stay in Orlando. We wanted to go to the beach for a day, stay overnight in a beach front hotel and then visit Busch Gardens the day after.

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm and although we had been told we could not check in until 4pm, we called at the front desk to get a parking permit for the car park, to be told that our Gulf-View room was already available.

The room was lovely, on the 4th floor, with a gorgeous view of the gulf. It was very clean with fridge, microwave and coffee maker, and most important to us, a balcony to sit out on when the kids were in bed.

The pool, although small, was heated and we made good use of it during our one day there. The beach, again small, was clean, and the sea was shallow, warm and clear with plenty of shells to be collected.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody going to Clearwater and we certainly hope to be making future visits.

5  Thank Floridanut66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London England
18
Reviewed October 25, 2004

left Sea Wake on the 23rd October having stayed a week,we should have stayed at the Hilton but couldn't due to hurricanne damage, thank you hurricane. What a great place, beautiful room although it over looked the street was great for people watching whilst drinking the cold beer from the fridge, we were on the end (room 501) so had an extra window which was nice and could see out over the resort. We were a bit early arriving on the Saturday and sat chatting to Linda the assistant manager and Ralph the chef two nice people made us feel real welcome as did all the staff especially the reception staff who were always smiling. The Hotel was always clean and tidy and the room kept spotless. Only a small beach but worth hiring the shade and loungers to sit and watch the dolphins swim by which we did on three days.
If you are going to Clearwater Beach you must stay at the Sea Wake and say hello to Linda and Ralph for me

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Massillon, OH
111
Reviewed October 25, 2004

I just got back from an extended weekend with family at the Sea Wake Resort in Clearwater Beach, and have to say we were all very pleased with our stay! Me, my sister, and our 3 boys, ages 3, 6, and 7 had a gulf-view room with 2 queen beds. Even though the hotel was fully booked, the staff was able to accomodate our request for an adjoining room with our father (Grandpa Dave). This made it great for the kids, as they were easily able to go from one room to the other. The rooms were clean with bright decor and nicely equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee-maker. We were able to stock up at the Walgreens across the street to make our own meals and snacks, and popped popcorn and reheated pizza from the shop across the street in the microwave. I would definitely book the gulf-view rooms again - the ability to sit out on your balcony and look out over the water is well worth the additional expense. Our kids loved watching for dolphins, as well as the boat traffic (the "pirate ship" and the Sea Screamer), and the adults liked being able to relax with a cup of coffee and watch the sunrise/sunset. As some other reviews have mentioned, the beach area *is* on the small side, and you do have to watch out for a few rocks (we all stubbed our toes at one point or another), but we still liked how convenient and close it was. The water is warm and shallow, with gentle waves and plenty of shells, so it's nice for kids. There's also a small playground area which is between the beach and the outdoor seating area for the bar and restaurant, so parents can relax with a drink while keeping an eye on the kids. For a much bigger beach, you would want to head up the street just a bit to the public beach near Pier 60, which is clean and beautiful and a great place for kids (especially in the evenings, with lots to do). We had our best meal there - the grilled grouper sandwich was incredible - unlike the food and service we got across the street at the heavily advertised Crabby Bill's (which we thereafter referred to as "CRAPPY Bill's," but that's a story for another review). We all loved the pool at the Sea Wake - it was heated and very warm, probably about 90 degrees. The shallow end was 4 feet, gradually dropping to 8 feet at the deep end, so if you have small children or non-swimmers, you'll want to keep that in mind. Again, you can pick up flotation devices and whatnot at the Walgreens if you need to. My 3 year old wore his "floatie" and loved jumping into the 8 foot end and bobbing right back up again! There were times when the pool got busy (they were fully booked the weekend we were there), but not to the point that you didn't want to get in and swim. You can get beach towels to use for free at the front desk, then drop them back in the hamper in the lobby when you're done. On our last day there, we had a nice lunch sitting on the deck at the onsite restaurant Lenora's. We had less than an hour to eat as we had to head to the airport, and the waitstaff was very pleasant and accomodating. One more thing to mention is that there are a couple shops across the street (the names escape me now) that were wonderful for souvenir shopping. Overall, we loved this hotel! I am already looking forward to heading back as soon as we can.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed October 14, 2004

My husband, son and I stayed there in the Spring of 2004 and were overall very impressed with the location, amenities and service given the price. The beach access was fine, there are slightly nicer beaches a little ways down the road but the hotels there are much pricier. The pool was very nice, our three year old had a blast. Definetely get a ocean view if you can as you can even see dolphins at times and the sunsets are beautiful. It's worth the extra $$. Free beach towels and fast exchange of old ones. Nice little family pizzeria across the street. Slow evelator was the only downside.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2004

We were in the area to attend our nephew's wedding reception that was being held in a hotel next door. Our king size non-smoking room, with sleeper sofa, was spacious and very clean. It had a small balcony overlooking the city, which was good for people watching. Our son's room containing two double beds was on the gulf side and was nice as well. Both rooms had a small microwave and fridge. The desk help were pleasant. The housekeeping staff appeared to work very hard at their jobs. Every time we went in or out someone was cleaning something. The lobby floors, windows, inside of elevators etc. I was impressed by that. It is true that the bar closed early, 10pm on a Saturday night. We thought that was strange? We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant on Sunday. The service was good and so was the food. We felt the prices were reasonable for the large portions.

5  Thank CSO1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort

Address: 691 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#23 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $167 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DreamView Hotel & Resort, where you are greeted upon arrival with an ambiance of relaxed luxury. Throughout your stay, enjoy a unique experience where the only thing separating DreamView Hotel & Resort from the Gulf is your own private beach! Enjoy the ever changing view of dolphins, sailboats and yachts as you relax on your complimentary private cabana lounge. Once it's time to wind down, rejuvenate in one of our 110 newly remodeled, smoke-free and fully hypoallergenic guestrooms with exclusive pillow-top and/or 14" memory foam mattresses for a great night's rest. Most rooms also have a balcony to enjoy the colorful Florida sunset, and beachside rooms offer a panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Relax and unwind in a beach cabana or kick back in a poolside plush lounger. Should your arrival occur before check-in time, enjoy the luxury and accessibility to our newly-renovated changing room, for the exclusive use of arriving guests, where you may freshen up from your journey and change into resort attire before enjoying the beach cabanas and pool upon your arrival, an amenity on Clearwater Beach uniquely offered only at DreamView. Allow our bell service to secure your luggage or ensure that it is waiting for you in your room once it becomes available. Stop by the 24-hour Fitness Center to get a great workout, or put finishing touches on a presentation in the Business Center. At the Sands Beach Bar & Grill, enjoy in or outdoor dining with our award-winning breakfast, lunch or dinner without leaving the hotel. We also offer In-room dining, with your choice from any of our delicious entrees. Taste the variety of tropical beverages of the Tiki Bar, and sip on one of our signature cocktails in your beach cabana without leaving the sand thanks to our beachside drink service, or swing by the mini-Starbucks or Grab-n-Go Cafe where there's always something tasty to pick up on the go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Best Western Sea Wake Beach Resort
Best Western Clearwater
Clearwater Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing