We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great staff, disappointing hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Wyndham Garden for 4 nights and 5 days during the week. We arrived a few hours before the designated check-in time, but Ashley at the front desk was wonderful and let us check-in anyway. The lobby is nice, but the hallways upstairs are overall kind of dirty and have an odd smell. We went for the King Beachfront room, which was clean and well taken care of.

Most of the staff was wonderful. As previously mentioned, Ashley at the front desk was always quick with a smile and so great when we needed to check in early. She also offered to hold our bags on our last day because we had a late flight.

Venetia was working in the restaurant the one time we were able to eat there, and she was excellent. Great service, really friendly, and never made us feel rushed (even though we were cutting it close to the 2pm cutoff point.)

Will, behind the bar, was absolutely fantastic. Great to talk to, excellent (and STRONG) margaritas, and really wonderful with customer service overall.

A few issues:
The first afternoon, we went down to the restaurant in the hotel and were informed that they would be closing at 2pm Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday for "inventory." As that covered the majority of our trip, it was a little off-putting that we wouldn't have restaurant or room service access. Also, those 3 days the hotel was relatively empty, so we strongly, strongly suspect that the real reason had more to do with the cost of keeping the restaurant for those hours. They also don't offer any kind of continental breakfast.

Another thing they don't advertise on the website is the industrial barges in the inlet, swimming distance from the beach. Eventually you get used to it, and I can't blame them for not drawing attention to it on the website, but I definitely felt cheated out of the beautiful views that I was expecting by having an beach front room. Really unpleasant to have to look at all the time, on the beach and from our balcony.

I'm not sure if this is true of all the rooms, but our balcony didn't have a screen on it. The whole reason we chose the beach front room was so we could sleep with the door open and listen to the ocean, but the lack of screen made it difficult. Every morning my boyfriend had to jump out of bed and race against the birds hanging out on our balcony to make sure they didn't fly into our room.

They charge you a $15/day resort fee, which is advertised on their website. I fail to understand what it covers, though. There were bandaids and cigarette butts on the beach that didn't move all week. We spent most of our days lying on the beach in the cabanas, but only one day did the woman working the bar area make an effort to come down and provide the advertised "beach service."

They may not seem like major problems, but it's the little things that make a hotel worth visiting. Overall - Meh. I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: beachfront does not equal oceanfront. "bay view" faces street and view seems to be most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    663
    311
    144
    93
See reviews for
679
675
66
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wash,DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel, currently being renovated. The room was spacious and well appointed with a patio overlooking the gulf making for glorious sunsets. We didn't use the restaurant, so no comment there. The pool and beach facilities were great. We were disappointed in the exercise room, although we were assured it was in the midst of renovation. Dimitra at the front desk was delightful and very helpful with questions about the area. It is a great valu.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, the gulf bay rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galap40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMPSONVILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My best friend and I took the trip down to Florida to stay at Clearwater beach for vacation, and our trip was nothing short of amazing because of this hotel. The private beach was breathtaking, and the heated pool was fantastic on the cooler nights. Our room was always clean and the staff was very nice. Its everything as was advertised and we will surely choose Wyndham hotels again on our next vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank AUSTIN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and very accommodating. Especially Ashley who was very helpful and welcoming. The beds were very comfy. The rooms were nice...I appreciated having non carpeted floors, especially in a hotel on the beach. The pool was warm and was salt water... So that was very nice, especially when the gulf is a little too chilly to swim. As I came for relaxation, this hotel was quiet and very relaxing. The only issue was that the ice maker on my floor did not work and the hallways smelled very musty, but the smell did not follow into the rooms. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Of course a beachfront room would be best, but I ended up in a corner king on the city side and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice, clean hotel with a beachfront view. Check in was pleasant - Ashley at the front desk had customer service down to a T. She was always ready with a quick smile and hello throughout our stay. I was a bit disappointed with the beach - I go to the beach to hear the waves, but this property is on an inlet, which almost makes one feel they are at a lake, not the ocean. The only time you would hear the waves is when a boat cruised by. 2 large barges were parked across the inlet which were not pleasing to see every day. This beach would be great for families with young children - safe and not large enough to lose sight of them. The restaraunt and bar area are very nice, prices not bad and the food was excellent. Will and James, two of the bartenders/servers were always attentive and a delight to banter with! The air conditioning is not up to par - it's very noisy and as the sun starts its decline right into your room, it does not keep up with the heat, even with the curtains closed. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. Amenities were nice. Overall, a very nice stay, but one needs to remember that beachfront does not equal oceanfront.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, based on other traveler's recomendations. Go higher if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#9 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#10 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 2,214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort

Property: DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Address: 691 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#23 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DreamView Hotel & Resort, where you are greeted upon arrival with an ambiance of relaxed luxury. Throughout your stay, enjoy a unique experience where the only thing separating DreamView Hotel & Resort from the Gulf is your own private beach! Enjoy the ever changing view of dolphins, sailboats and yachts as you relax on your complimentary private cabana lounge. Once it's time to wind down, rejuvenate in one of our 110 newly remodeled, smoke-free and fully hypoallergenic guestrooms with exclusive pillow-top and/or 14" memory foam mattresses for a great night's rest. Most rooms also have a balcony to enjoy the colorful Florida sunset, and beachside rooms offer a panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Relax and unwind in a beach cabana or kick back in a poolside plush lounger. Should your arrival occur before check-in time, enjoy the luxury and accessibility to our newly-renovated changing room, for the exclusive use of arriving guests, where you may freshen up from your journey and change into resort attire before enjoying the beach cabanas and pool upon your arrival, an amenity on Clearwater Beach uniquely offered only at DreamView. Allow our bell service to secure your luggage or ensure that it is waiting for you in your room once it becomes available. Stop by the 24-hour Fitness Center to get a great workout, or put finishing touches on a presentation in the Business Center. At the Sands Beach Bar & Grill, enjoy in or outdoor dining with our award-winning breakfast, lunch or dinner without leaving the hotel. We also offer In-room dining, with your choice from any of our delicious entrees. Taste the variety of tropical beverages of the Tiki Bar, and sip on one of our signature cocktails in your beach cabana without leaving the sand thanks to our beachside drink service, or swing by the mini-Starbucks or Grab-n-Go Cafe where there's always something tasty to pick up on the go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Best Western Sea Wake Beach Resort
Best Western Clearwater
Clearwater Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing