We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife's quesadilla was huge and delicious and my hogfish sandwich was outstanding”

Rumba Island Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 696 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My wife's quesadilla was huge and delicious and my hogfish sandwich was outstanding”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife couldn't couldn't eat allof her huge quesadilla. I tried the blackened hogfish sandwich based on my server's recommendation and it did not disappoint. Our server was prompt and friendly. The only negative was that the sandwich was alittle pricey at $13.99 with a side of cole slaw that i didn't eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank brianmac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    250
    59
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbot
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had eaten there years ago when it was Hogfish Grill. Stopped in for lunch after a day at beach. Nice atmosphere (clean, cool, and nice waitstaff). Ordered the seafood platter that included a salad, warm muffins with cinnamon butter, fish skewers, coconut shrimp, fried shrimp, crab cakes, Jamaican greens, cranberry stuffing ( go figure). Wow, a lot of food for less than $20. Everything was good. My wife had the grouper quesadillas and she said they were great. Can't wait to go back to try their other items on the menu. It all looked good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fig2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Execellent Food.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The place was really crowded but our wait was only 15 mins. We got seated in 10 mins. The service was excellent. The food was island fare. We got the smoked fish with crab meat on top and asparagus. AMAZING! My children ad the ribs and loved them. The restaurant atmosphere was nice. It had a bunch of palm trees, outdoor bar and island music. We loved it here and would definitely eat here again when we visit Clearwater, FL.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I LOVED IT!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I sat outside in a cool breeze (fans were provided in addition to mother nature) and relaxed in the shade after spending a few hours at the beach. The wait staff is polite, although busy running around (cute too which is a nice perk). I fell in love with ahi tuna nachos. They are so flipping good that I am making my date this week take me to Rumba for dinner. My friends ordered the rum punch and it was a hit at two-for-one prices. My friend had a pulled chicken salad that we shared and I highly recommend; ask for them to go light on the balsamic vinaigrette though. The other friend ordered a burger and it looked amazing especially with the well done curly fries. Yum! I can't express nothing but joy for this restaurant. I live over an hour away and have every intention of returning. I hope when you find yourself in Clearwater you will stop for lunch or an early dinner to enjoy the relaxing Rumba Island outdoor seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLY SLOW SERVICE”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Way too slow to get appetizer and entre. Not that busy. Won't return. Recommended by hotel staff, uggh.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumba Island Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rumba Island Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing