We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rasta pasta but seafood platter was a disasta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumba Island Bar & Grill

Rumba Island Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 685 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great rasta pasta but seafood platter was a disasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We ate at Rumba on a Sunday evening being seated in the large outside patio. Inside was not busy but the patio was packed as was the "tiki" bar. Beer selection included Hop Devil which went well with the rasta pasta seafood. The pasta sauce was garlicky and creamy and included a seafood mixture of shrimp, mussels etc: absolutely delicious and served with sides of sauteed vegetables and shredded cabbage to balance the carb's. My wife's seafood platter disappointed due to bland fried shrimp and crab cake. Service was fast and the waiter was on the ball refreshing our drinks and responding quickly to a request for extra lemon wedges. The ambiance was very relaxing and we recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank solyluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    233
    56
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Different Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Food is very good, but not enough for a good size appetite. What they serve is very enjoyable though-leaves you wanting more.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vivien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful Surprise - Delicious Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

When we arrived there was no place to park but they did have valet parking so we took advantage of the complementary service. There is a large outside eating area which is where we chose. The inside eating area was nicely decorated and surprisingly empty. We were quite surprised since we could not find a parking space. Rumba's had 2-for-1 drinks all day long so we took advance and ordered margaritas which were quite tasty. We ordered the Rumba salad with blackened shrimp, Rasta seafood pasta and the Shrimp rice bowl with grilled mahi mahi. Everyone's meals were delicious!! We would definitely eat there again. The only negative thing about our experience was the service was so and when our meals finally arrived the server told us the kitchen was really backed up and some meals were taking 1.5 hours to come out. We had to wait quite a long time but it was definitely not over an hour. We were so surprised about the wait for the food since they were not that busy. Other than the slow service the food was well worth the wait!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Three words: RASTA SEAFOOD PASTA. It is excellent! Needs little or no seasoning. My sister and I went for the earlybird special, and the prices are around $10. She had the ribs which she said were good, but she wasn't too keen on the sauce. The Rasta Seafood Pasta had loads of shellfish and was sooo good. When I go back, that is what I will order. Although it's on a busy street, the patio is encircled with fencing and trees and gives you a real island feel. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachesDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Rumba is one of our favorite places to eat. Their early bird specials (something like 11:00am-5:45pm) are all under $10.00. I get the Montego Bay chicken which is less than $7.00 (includes 2 side dishes) and is super tasty. You get yummy muffins prior to your meal. Filet Mignon kabob is also tasty. I only go there when I can sit on the patio. Like other reviews have mentioned, the inside is very dark and the fun vibe is gone when you sit inside. They used to have live music on the patio and I really miss that. Lots of 2 for 1 drinks and $1.49 mugs of beer. I have never had a bad meal at Rumba.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumba Island Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rumba Island Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing