We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by an Italian”

Cristino's Coal Oven Pizza
Ranked #2 of 697 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommended by an Italian”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We came here on a long-standing recommendation by a local Italian friend and we were not disappointed. Calamari was crisp and the accompanying marinara was tangy and perfect - but there wasn't enough for the amount of calamari. The grilled veggie appetizer was a very nice appetizer: thinly sliced squashes, eggplant, and mushrooms which were grilled and placed atop some baby greens and topped with a balsalmic glaze. The margherita pizza was extra special with *fresh* garlic - really fresh - which added a delicious touch. The only negative about the pizza was that although the top of the pizza was nicely cooked and had a great crunch, the underside of the crust was a bit soggy. I'd hate to blame this on the sauce, because the sauce is delicious. Rewarming the leftovers the next day, the crust stood out as robust and delicious, but the bottom of the pie was soggy. That said, i'm really looking forward to going back because this was a delicious experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank book_nerd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    207
    62
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The reviews are correct!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I live about 15 miles away from this place and I decided to try it based on the past reviews. Passing approximately 25 other pizza places on the way to Cristino's was no problem, since I had high hopes for the pizza at this place.

I ordered the margurita pizza and it was awesome. Perfect crust, with just the right amount of toppings. For this area, this pizza rocks. I have to agree with the other reviewers, give this place a try.

FYI, we arrived at 4:30 on a Saturday afternoon, and it was just starting to get packed when we were leaving.

Wait staff was excellent, and knowledgable as well. You won't regret driving the distance to check out the pizza at Cristino's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLgemgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall great experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We had the Cristino and caesar salads for appetizer and couple of the Margherita pizza for dinner and ended up with 3 different king of gelato.
Food, atmosphere and service were all really good.
Highly recommend the place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJClar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pizza and atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hostess and waitress were very friendly. The pizza was delicious! The atmosphere in the restaurant was great. Prices were reasonable. We would definitely return to this restaurant in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EskyPask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Choice!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Fri night and was seated immediately by manager! A server got our drink orders and provided silverware until our table's server got our order shortly! I think her name was Ashley and she was very helpful in assisting us with the menu choices! We ordered a 12in Margarita pizza with added pepperoni and a order of Carbonara pasta to share among the 2 of us and a toddler! Everything was deliciously satisfying!!! We ended up ordering a slice of flour less chocolate cake and a slice of Italian cheesecake to go---- also yummy!!!! I definitely recommend this place if you want to leave happy from a dining table!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyGIlkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cristino's Coal Oven Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Cristino's Coal Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing