We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Motel I have ever seen.”
Review of Traveler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traveler Motel
Ranked #86 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We traveled with friends and family to Clearwater to stay a few days prior to a cruise. We booked four rooms because of the good reviews on trip adviser. Do not believe these reviews. This was the worst hotel I have ever been in. When we booked the owner Kerry assured that this was a very clean and nice hotel - nothing fancy but clean.
We told him that CLEAN was all that mattered it did not have to be fancy. When we arrived we were greated by him with no shirt on and smoking carring a cheap air mattress on his back for one of our kids to sleep on in the filthy rooms. My room was standing in water from what he said was a leak in the air conditioner. It smelled bad and when you walked near the air conditioner water sloshed beneath your feet. This room was not habitable but he still refused to refund our deposit.

The air condintoning units are surrounded by some kind of tape (masking or Duct) on the inside and out.

The swimming pool that he shows on trip adviser is not his swimming pool. It looked as if someone poured milk in it.

It also appeared that some people stay here long term as they were grilling out by the nasty pool.

The only good thing that can be said about this place is its location. It needs to be bulldozed and a new building built.

Needless to say the "Paradise" that Kerry speaks of is more like Hell.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte_NCBeachMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

This Motel is bad! Don't believe the "Good" reviews on this Motel. Story starts as the following - Had a group of 14 going on a cruise and wanted to stay in Clearwater as a precruise vacation! Called the Traveler Motel and was assured the Motel was neat and clean. In speaking with the owner, we told him that if the rooms were not clean, we would not stay! He assured me the rooms were neat and clean. After driving 10 plus hours, we arrived in Clearwater. Looks can be deceiving - NOT!!!!! The pictures that were sent to me via email were taken a long time ago!!!!

The pool was so dirty, you couldn't see the bottom. My Inlaws have a pool and I know what it takes to keep it clean. I believe the reviews were written by the owners friends or somebody else!

The owner greets us with swimming trunks and no shirt, and smoking. The rooms were clearly marked - NO SMOKING!!!! Out of the 4 rooms we booked, only 1 was fit to stay in. The other 3 were bad. 1 room was really bad. The owner said they had an AC leak in the room and smelled. I walked over to the AC unit and the floor was soaked. I stepped in the same spot and suds were coming out of the carpet! We complained about the smell, and he sprayed some kind of spray in the room. Did not help, made it worse. Needless to say, we didn't stay there. The owner refused to give us any of our deposits back. We told the owner we were not staying. He told us to talk about it and he was going to take his housekeeper home or to the bus stop. We started to make calls to try to find another hotel. The Comfort Suites and The Hampton Inn of Clearwater are nice, clean and the rates are reasonable. Would not stay at the TRAVELER MOTEL on a BET!!!!!!!

The only thng I can say good about the motel - Location!!!!!!!! If you can sleep with 1 eye open to watch you back, then this is the place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachbum4life24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Will not stay here again, not very clean, bad smell, and very dirty carpet. PS the shower does not work, well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The whole atmosphere of the Traveler Motel is laid back and friendly. It's within spitting distance of restaurants and shops, and it's such a short walk to the beach. While the setting and views aren't the fanciest and the rooms aren't the most up-to-date, what you do get is a great value and a fun experience, especially if you like visiting with other travelers during your vacations. The kitchenette was such a great asset, and we saved lots of money by stocking it with our own food and drink. Kerry, the owner/manager, and Regina, the housekeeper, were both delightful and hospitable, though a stay at this place means you'll be taking care of many things yourself (getting ice, taking out trash, exchanging towels, etc.). I would recommend the place for laid back travelers looking for a good deal but not willing to sacrifice location and service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathicoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We had such a great time staying at the Travelor Motel! I have stayed at many hotels and motels, but have never stayed at one with such a friendly atmosphere. We met such wonderful people while we were there and Kerry, the owner, couldn't be more accommodating and friendly....we will be sure to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAKIDESMOINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Everything was super. Kerry is a very special person, always kind and eager to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The location is fantastic, close to restaurants and services. Two blocks from Pier 60.
Good accomodations, very good if your travelling with family and friends.
Nothing but good comments about the place. Thanks again Kerry.

Will be back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cccDavidson_QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We were there on a Golf/Beach vacation for 5 days. We really enjoyed our stay and especially getting to know Kerry (older gent in the picture).
We are already planning our trip back next year and will definately book at this hotel. Its not as fancy as some of the others in the area, but it is a great value and a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MundoMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,485 reviews
0.9 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler Motel

Address: 408 E Shore Dr, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767-2027
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are English owned offering spacious good clean accommodation catering to families, couples, and business people alike, who just want to chill out in our tranquil surroundings, swim in our large pool or conduct business in a relaxing atmosphere. We are a two-minute walk to the beach and the Hilton Hotel. No need for a car here, everything is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Traveler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveler Hotel Clearwater
Traveler Motel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing