We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of the trip”
Review of Clear Sky Cafe

Clear Sky Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Clear Sky Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Breakfast at Clear Sky Beachside Cafe is served with an upscale twist (by the way, you can get great Mimosas and Bloody Marys with your breakfast). Lunch and Dinner menus offer an extensive mix of Tapas Appetizers, Gourmet Pizzas, Signature Paninis, Burgers and Salads. Enjoy the Freshest Seafood on the beach, including "en papillote." Our award winning menu offers a culinary tour of the world's best flavors all in one friendly cafe conveniently located in Clearwater Beach, Florida!
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Stopped in for breakfast after a walk on the beach. The lobster Bennie was fantastic. Portions are huge and filling. Very decent prices. Will definitely return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,746
    797
    207
    61
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed a late dinner/appetizers and dessert here, while staying at the Sandpearl. It was delicious and great service too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lattebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another visit to Clear Sky”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

While in Clearwater with a group of eight people, we decided to have dinner at a less-expensive Restaurant, and Clear Sky was the decision. We had a bit of a wait for a table, as it was raining and a lot of people decided to eat dinner I guess to get out of the rain. My party wanted to eat inside, which is really not the best choice, as it is noisy and more crowded, whereas outside under cover seemed like a better idea to me.

The manager worked to seat our fairly large group, which included several impatient children, and it took us about 20 minutes due to the crowd to get seated. The menu was extensive for a mid-priced restaurant, though, and the food, while certainly not gourmet level, was fine. Service was a bit hectic, as I don't think they were prepared for the sudden crowd, but our waitress did a great job, apologizing for the delays (there really weren't any compared to what service we would anticipate at a restaurant of this type), and our party was well pleased with their meals.

Clear Sky remains as a staple on the north side of the traffic circle - and one of the better, less expensive places for a quick meal or a larger dinner. I noticed that several reviewers recommended the steaks and pricier choices. I would hesitate myself to order something upscale here, as it just is not the type of restaurant that specializes in upscale foods. The Beachcomber, which is a block or two north has great sit-down (but expensive) meals in a more formal setting, and the trendy Frenchy's on the beach is nice too, but also a bit more money.

Clear Sky is just a simple, unassuming, mid-priced restaurant that the locals have liked for years, and which has attracted more and more tourists after they changed ownership, enlarged the sidewalk service area, and even added live bands some nights.

I like the place, but don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. A good meal at a reasonable price - and that suits my budget just fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good tasting food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just very tasty food. Had breakfast & Lunch. Good entertainment both live and background music. Nice patio.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a late lunch after spending the morning on the beach. The staff could not have been friendlier. The food was amazing. Everything tasted so fresh. We had a large group and everyone had something different, so I got to try a few bites of several different dishes. My favorite was (surprisingly) the pizza! Everyone left feeling full and happy. Next time we are in the area, we will go there for brunch! Can't wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poodydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Sky Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clear Sky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing