We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Screwed”

Backwater's on Sand Key
Ranked #28 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Armenian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Backwaters on Sand Key serves exceptional steaks, fresh local seafood and sandwiches on the waterfront. Beautiful views and friendly service. Full bar and lounge. Lunch or Dinner. Happy Hour 2 to 7 PM
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Screwed”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Asked about happy hour specials. Just asked for oysters to be steamed. He said sure no problem but never told us they were 2x more because they were "steamed". Even when we ordered 2 nd dozen Good but BEWARE They are not above board!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sjohn50258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    232
    76
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Had great food and wonderful service. Nice place to eat. Ask for a table outside if possible. Watch for dolphins and other sea life.

Helpful?
Thank MaryAndRichandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious, great service, reasonable price. Go here!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

While looking for quiet places to eat, I came across a suggestion for Backwaters on Sand Key. Brilliant recommendation! I called ahead for an 8:30 reservation and when we arrived the table was waiting for us along the water. The waitress was super nice and kept our glasses full and made sure we were doing ok. My partner had the Parmesan crusted chicken and I had the scallops wrapped in bacon and the lobster bisque. Everything was tasty and fresh. This was probably my favorite meal of my week long trip! I would highly recommend that people come here. The seating out back is nice and since it is tucked away at the very end of the shopping center, it is not too breezy. Prices were spot on as well. For our two dishes (off of the 'small plate' menu, which were by any means small) and a glass of wine, the total was $41. They had dessert as well but I skipped and decided to leave our wonderful waitress the money I would spend on dessert.

I will certainly be back here.

Helpful?
Thank OhmZoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top 5 Steaks I've ever had (and I eat a lot of steak)”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited this restaurant on our recent trip - it was close by to our hotel and the ratings on Tripadvisor solid. My husband and I love a great steak so every holiday we have, regardless of location must have a steak dinner built into our trips out. I had their famous steak (done in a hot pan), kids had fillet and hubby had the ribeye. Everyone loved their steak but I really can't say enough about mine. It was melt in your mouth good, cooked to perfection. Our waitress was lovely - even though my daughter knocked over her full tray of drinks. Service was quick - all around a great experience and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On the Bay”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Small home style restaurant with attentive and personal service surprising complete menu and great sea food

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwater's on Sand Key also viewed

 

Been to Backwater's on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing